We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort for Family with Young Kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Ybel Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Ybel Resort to your Saves list
Casa Ybel Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2255 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort for Family with Young Kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We just returned from a week-long vacation at Casa Ybel Resort. We had a Wonderful time and I highly recommend it for young families. This is coming from someone that can be a tough critic! We have 2 children - 3 and 4. All the 2 BR suites are very nice - right on the beach, great views, updated, clean, wonderful for a young family. There is a large pool, kiddie pool and a fabulous pool bar- food and drinks are great - love the bartenders. Thistle Lodge is excellent for dinner and drinks at night. The only downside is there is no breakfast at the resort and the pool bar stops serving food at 5 (you can still eat in or get take-out from Thistle Lodge but you may be better served going to the local grocery store and stocking your kitchen). So if you want luxury, high-service, this probably is not the place for you. But if you have younger kids and want a nice relaxing vacation, I Highly recommend it. It's the perfect cross between a private condo and a resort. The hotel recommended a babysitter that we used multiple nights and she was fabulous. While in Sanibel, we went to many of the restaurants, went on an amazing boat ride with Captain Jack (Sanibel Island Cruise Line)---I would do it all again in a second and I am sure we will be back next year.

Room Tip: If you have younger kids, I would recommend a first floor suite closer to the pool. The first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    124
    49
    21
    19
See reviews for
165
158
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Our unit #113 was disappointing. The front door handle didn't work right. The refridgerator had rust all over one side and the front of it looked like rust had been removed, repaired and repainted. The freezer fan ran constantly despite being at the right setting. (we had to set it to a lower setting to get it to shut off) The oven had rust on it also. The bath tub was very odd, the floor flexed when you stood on it and it was very stained. We stayed in another unit (105) in 2013 and were so happy we returned in June of 2014 only to be disappointed. Not sure if we'll go back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

First time to Sanibel with family of five, Booked Casa Ybel based on reviews and on line pictures. Resort and rooms were actually nicer than expected with great view of Gulf and easy beach access. Family genuinely fell in love with resort. After driving around island we knew we had made the right decision. Forget South Seas, Casa Ybel has better beaches, better staff, live music, no stress atmosphere, and great visiting families. Only complaint is that casual dining by pool ends at five PM and high priced restaurant is only food service available after that. Beautiful grounds, sand volleyball, shuffle board and tennis are available. Children's activities abound. On site gas grills with full kitchens made cooking for the family an enjoyable task.

Room Tip: Ask for cottage close to pool if you have young family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Our first stay here was our honeymoon 29 years ago and have returned many times. We have vacationed here in February, June, July, and August. We have family that come here every year. Casa Ybel is beautifully maintained with helpful staff. The grounds and rooms are exceptional. We love to be on the beach, so we rent the lounge chairs and umbrellas. The pool is great for children and land lovers. Volleyball, tennis, and run/walking the beach are some activities. We love to look for shells and build sand castles. Overall, a consistently excellent resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were married here in July of last year and have to say it was very, very nice! We had a very small wedding and only a few guests. We had a little issue trying to get everyone in rooms that were close enough together, yet the resort is very easy to meet and be with family/friends. The rooms are very clean, spacious and the screened porches are the best! We enjoyed the 4 days were spent here and will be back for one of our anniversaries!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is our second visit to Casa Ybel and I highly recommend it. The resort is beautiful. It has all the comforts of home and a beautiful view of the gulf. Everyone from check in, to pool assistants, to recreation was cheerful and helpful. The housekeeping staff was magnificent. Our room was always cleaned and refreshed with a helpful staff. Three weddings took place while we were there. If you are looking for a relaxing, romantic vacation go to Casa Ybel.

Room Tip: We only stayed in the one suite, but to our knowledge all suites have a balcony and view of the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Casa Ybel Resort is a good spot for younger family vacations. Lots of outdoor games and great pool for kids, also the beach is just beyond the pool which makes the back and forth game very easy. Young families will love it here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Casa Ybel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ybel Resort

Address: 2255 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sanibel Island
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Ybel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural, secluded and exclusive, historic Casa Ybel Resort epitomizes the sanctuary, old-island spirit of Sanibel. Occupying 23 acres of beach front property isolated from commercial enterprise, the resort forms a sheltered getaway where romantic surroundings and outdoor recreation attract couples and families alike. Travelers have found respite and hospitality here since the 1890's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Ybel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ybel Hotel Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Resort Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Casa Ybel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Ybel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.