We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanibel Fl” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Ybel Resort

Save Saved
You added Casa Ybel Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Ybel Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2255 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 27 hotels in Sanibel Island
wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sanibel Fl”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent a week here. When we first arrived our reservation was lost! OMG!! Their computer system had the wrong dates like a year out! Luckily I had their email of confirmation in my iPhone and it was Jan their quiet season so we did get a suite. It was ocean front which was wonderful. We saw dolphins swim by from our screened in Linae. The staff while friendly were the slowest cleaning staff ever and we did have some food disappear from our frig nothing major just a yogurt but still...
The beds were wonderful! Very comfortable.
The beach was loaded with seashells!
The restaurants at this resort were very good, the staff great... both poolside and in the lodge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review! We appreciate your feedback and are glad to read you found your suite to be wonderful and you enjoyed your visit from the view, to the dolphins and the food served at our restaurant. Thanks again! We hope to see you again soon. Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    113
    40
    18
    17
See reviews for
144
139
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed a week in a 2-bedroom unit at Casa Ybel. It was my 5th trip to the island, and my first stay at Casa Ybel. The property's location is on the Gulf in a lovely, natural setting. However, for the price we paid I was expecting much higher-end accommodations. Instead, the unit we stayed in was in need of some upgrading and TLC. For example, the laminate was peeling off nearly all the pressed-board cupboards and drawers in the kitchen. The tile floor in the kitchen was badly marred with dirty grout. All of the utensils in the kitchen were cheap and poor quality; there wasn't a single decent knife that I could chop with. As a result, we made no meals at the condo.

As for the resort amenities, beware: They charge for beach chair and umbrella rental. And, the drink prices at the pool bar, Coconuts, are confiscatory! We were also disappointed with the pool. Being lap swimmers, my husband and I and were attracted by Casa Ybel's advertised Olympic-sized pool. However, we were disappointed to find that they rope off the pool in the center, making it difficult to swim laps across the pool's length. And they refused to remove the rope while we swam, citing some local ordinance requiring it. But, I must give credit for their free wifi that worked great even on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback. We apologize for the shortcomings referenced in your review. Please contact us at your convenience so that we may determine the suite number you are referencing and address the specific items. Our one bedroom suites are newly furnished and this year the two bedrooms will undergo a two phase renovation process as part of their continious 3-5 enhancement schedule (a portion redone this year, the other next year). Resort guests can enjoy early morning lap-swimming in our Olympic size heated pool. We recently installed a state of the art WiFi system that you can enjoy in your suite, by the pool, in the restaurant as well as the beach... yes, the beach! Thanks again, regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural SC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is the place to stay on Sanibel. We have vacationed there three times-
each time in the one bedroom condos. Twice in the upper units and once in
the lower- even though we requested an upper unit. It turned out that the lower
unit was perfectly okay... lower ceilings, but less steps up to the unit, and direct
access to the lawn and beach side. The condo has a mini kitchen and a very
nice screened porch which you can open to the living room. Well designed and
fairly well maintained units, comfortable bed and daily housekeeping (they even do
your dishes). Great location and nice pool and poolside restaurant. We have not
tried the more formal dining room, preferring to eat out at various restaurants on the
island and up on Captiva.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit away from the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We'll see you on the beach again soon! Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very comfortable resort, directly on the beach, which seems endless. We've been there 1 week in august 2012. After a day I wanted to stay at least for a month! Apartments are spacious and very clean. Beautiful sea view. Very relaxing was to sit on the veranda and watch the changing scene of waves, sky and listen to the sea at night. There is a pool, which we did not use. It looked small and crowded. Better take a bath in the sea and snorkel for even more beautiful shells. One time we had dinner at the restaurant. The food was good. We loved Casa Ybel and want to return asap!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We look forward to your next visit to Sanibel and Casa Ybel Resort! Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have been vacationing on Sanibel for most of my life but never stayed at Casa Ybel. I'm very happy we decided to try it out. The grounds are beautiful, the pool with poolside bar spectacular and staff very friendly. We are heading back again next year!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We're looking forward to your return visit next year! Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We've been coming to Casa Ybel for several years and, though lovely, it's needing some attention. They've upgraded the towels and bed sheets since our last visit, which was very nice. But - the upstairs bathroom light fixture was askew, there were no shelves in the linen closet, the kitchen sink faucet kept falling down, a cupboard door was unhinged, grout was mildewed, light bulbs were out in several places, there was no TV channel listing, one of the TV remotes was missing and there were no oven mitts anywhere. Whenever we called for service (maintenance,etc.), there was no answer so we had to leave a message and wait for a call-back. Bicycles were never available and we always had to wait for towels at the pool. And the rule prohibiting kids under 12 in the hot tub was never enforced. Finally, though having wi-fi available was great, the hook-up was in the closet of the 2nd bedroom and it blinked on and off 24/7, which was extremely annoying while trying to sleep. All that said, it's still a nice property that we enjoy visiting almost annually - they just need to "sweat the details" a bit more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad to read you plan on returning to Casa Ybel despite the issues mentioned. Our front desk is staffed 24 hours a day 7 days a week, we are happy to coordinate with our maintenance and housekeeping staff for quick resolution of any issue. Thanks again. Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUTNEYBIKER
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Like so many establishments on the Gulf Coast this one is not really a hotel, more like serviced apartments. I had a second floor, ie 2 flights of stairs, no lift so bag wrangling is necessary as no help on offer. Big open plan living/dining/kitchen. Adequate size bedroom. Very dated and badly laid out bathroom. Shower over bath tub with a cheap and nasty shower curtain. Good sized pool with a poolside snack bar. Great to be able to wander along the unspoilt beach. The Thistle restaurant is quite frankly dreadful. I had coqulet/ poussin which was overlooked to the point of inedible seved with vegetables that I imagine were supposed to be al dente bit in fact virtually raw all swimming in gravy. Empty starter drinks glass was left on table all meal. Bombastic waiter, Andrew, who along with his new colleague really did not improve things by speaking at loud hailer levels to all diners thereby spoiling any tranquility. Vastly overpriced. Never again. It is a matter of getting the car out in the morning and a trip to the village for breakfast as there is no breakfast served. I go on holiday to be cooked for, not to have to prepare meals myself. As the meal in the Thistle was so poor the second night I had frozen pizza and ice cream in my room. How sad is that?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Ybel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ybel Resort

Address: 2255 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Ybel Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural, secluded and exclusive, historic Casa Ybel Resort epitomizes the sanctuary, old-island spirit of Sanibel. Occupying 23 acres of beach front property isolated from commercial enterprise, the resort forms a sheltered getaway where romantic surroundings and outdoor recreation attract couples and families alike. Travelers have found respite and hospitality here since the 1890's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Ybel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ybel Hotel Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Resort Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Casa Ybel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Ybel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.