We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“attended wedding here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Ybel Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casa Ybel Resort to your Saves list
Casa Ybel Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2255 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
new york, ny
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“attended wedding here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

note: we did not stay here, rather attended a wedding here. must say it seemed very well run with great first impressions. much of the staff was pleasant and attentive, on the grounds, at the bar, in the parking lot. the ceremony was on the beach and everything was well done. there was ice water due to the late afternoon sun.

i want to contribute these details as it's critical to know before going. the only unfortunate thing were the sand fleas or 'no-see-ums' tiny parasites that need human blood to pass on to their unborn. there were many and they feverishly bit us. we were all itching and two of us had 'severe cases' after being diagnosed once home. if you go, be sure to put oil on your skin, they can't penetrate through to the skin. either sunscreen oil or i was ready to use olive oil! and also, only 'deet' works, not skin so soft and insect repellents. post-bite, calamine lotion, aveeno bath. everyone responds differently so see what works for you. creams did nothing for us. doctor gave me cortisone shot and an oral antihistimine. unbearable itching and worst itch, over a mosquito bite say the experts and i'd concur.

i approached the staff and they said they get them maybe twice a year and nothing could be done. when i pointed out the woman with the big (quarter size) welts all over her body, he brought an industrial strength fan for the table. unfortunately, it didn't work, there were that many of them. the fully clothed men were spared for the most part, however, many women had on little dresses and the fleas loved that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    116
    43
    19
    18
See reviews for
152
143
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

If you're looking for a super clean condo that faces the ocean and walk out the door to the sand - this is the place. We found this on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a chance when our previous accomodations at Captiva didn't work out. From the second we drove into the property - we were very impressed with the cleanliness and perfection of the landscaping. They allowed us to preview a unit before we made our reservation.
We have our own private front porch (screened in) and can walk right out the door to the beach. The condo unit is perfect with super nice tile floors, comfortable bedding and full kitchen.
I would come back again any time. Very friendly staff too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was my first stay at Casa Ybel Resort. Found it on the internet and it was everything we could have hoped for. Beautiful view, our screened porch was just steps from the gulf, great pool with bar, great service and great private beach for shelling. We got an umbrella and 2 chairs for 2 days, $68 which they set up for us. We got the king suite. Lots of room, full kitchen, beautiful interior, comfortable bed. Just nothing lacking. We were there Sept. 9-14th. Almost felt like we were on our own private island. We had a problem with the door lock and a/c when we first arrived and within an hour of calling the problems were fixed and they ask was there anything else they could to do to help us. Extremely good customer service. We're hooked. So excited to go back to Casa Ybel.

Room Tip: We stayed in 109. It was away from the pool and bar area so very quiet except for the a/c noise bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you are looking for anything close to a resort on Sanibel, this is it. It's not cheap, but we'll never stay anywhere else again. The bar (coconuts) is great too. Great pool, great service, and great beach. They have it figure out. Beds are really comfortable, units all updated and cleaned daily. The only thing they need to fix are the rickety-looking stairs outside each unit. They need sanded and stained or replaced with composite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton plains
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

First time Traveling to Sanibel Island, Found this resort by "Dumb Luck " on a search.. Wow were we lucky. The Rooms, grounds, pool and service were immpecable.. We were just looking for a relaxing getaway, We rode bikes everday- rented right on site, relxed in the pool and soaked in the warm waters of the gulf.. For a week getaway we ended up purchasing a timeshare there as our new home away from home.. Cant wait to go back.. This could wither be a couples getaway or a family fun location. best of both worlds..

Room Tip: No Need to leave theisland pleanty of restaraunts, got to baileys for food, essentials, rent a bike...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our first visit to Sanibel Island. My husband found Casa Ybel while searching the internet for ideas. The resorts web site looked great plus i did read a lot of reviews on Trip Advisor. We took a chance and soooo glad we did. The resort was beautiful. The one bedroom was fantastic. The room was huge. Kitchen was updated. I can't say enough about it. The balcony was wonderful. We used to sit out at night listening to the waves. Every room does have a view to the magnificent Gulf! Since reading reviews i was prepared to pay for rental of chairs and umbrellas. Initially i thought it was pricey $118 for 2 chairs w/umbrlla for week. But we did it anyway and i felt it was worth it. The chairs/umbrlla were always ready for us @ the beach. Easy to find!THe beach was spectacular, the water was warm, the sandbars are awesome, the shelling was sooo much fun. The beautiful Thistle Lodge was no more expensive than any of the other rest. on the island. Well worth the Sunday Brunch and Dinner. I LOVE THIS PLACE AND IT IS OUR NEW FAVORITE PLACE. . I WANT TO GO BACK ALREADY. Renting bikes was also loads of fun. Great way to incorporate excercise for family and great way to explore the island. Rented mo-peds as well and that was great fun too... LOVE SANIBEL. LOVE CASA YBEL

Room Tip: Can't image any room being bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

I travel to Sanibel often and usually stay at the Sundial, but I had a larger party and Sundial couldn't guarantee that the second "bedroom" was separated by more than a partition. I arrived a Casa Ybel early and they were kind enough to take my cell number to call me as soon as my room was ready. The kids played on the playground and swam in the pool while we waited. The pool was very big and there was a small kids pool right next to it. We checked in early and we were overwhelmed by the room. It was beautifully appointed with a large screened porch looking onto the beach. The beds were so comfortable and it was just gorgeous. It also felt extremely private - the way the units are built, you dont see or hear your neighbors. The next day, when I decided I needed an umbrella, I just called the front desk and within minutes they delivered it right to the beach with two chairs. My kids enjoyed the art projects in the kids club and the staff there was so welcoming and let us stay and do puzzles with them during the heat of the day. I love Sanibel beyond reason, and I will never stay anywhere but here again. My ONE complaint is that the resort didn't provide recycling or water saving options - we threw away a lot of plastic bottles and washed perfectly clean towels. But again, the friendliest service I've had in a long time!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Ybel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ybel Resort

Address: 2255 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Ybel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural, secluded and exclusive, historic Casa Ybel Resort epitomizes the sanctuary, old-island spirit of Sanibel. Occupying 23 acres of beach front property isolated from commercial enterprise, the resort forms a sheltered getaway where romantic surroundings and outdoor recreation attract couples and families alike. Travelers have found respite and hospitality here since the 1890's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casa Ybel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ybel Hotel Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Resort Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Casa Ybel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Ybel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.