We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Wind Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added West Wind Inn to your Saves list
West Wind Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Parrish, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This inn/resort is very quiet and appealing, nice size pool and pool bar that serves lunch.

The staff is very friendly David went above and beyond to accommodate us in our room. It was my husbands birthday weekend and we were looking forward to a quiet get away.

The only negative thing was breakfast at the pub on property for $11.00 you got half of a omelette and toast . The waiter didn't seem to understand to much English.

We will defiantly visit the property again.

Morning paper at door big plus!

All rooms had screen in balcony !

Room Tip: Try to get second floor awesome sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WWI-Guest-Services, Guest Relations Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for the review. We appreciate you choosing to celebrate your husband's birthday with us! West Wind Inn is a great choice when you want a quiet spot for an island getaway. Our staff is focused on impeccable hospitality and taking care of you was a pleasure. Thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed our pool, pool bar and the screened in balcony. We work hard to make sure the area is well maintained. Come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    210
    43
    36
    3
See reviews for
161
225
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We just returned from a great stay at the West Wind Inn in Sanibel.
The West Wind is a very well maintained resort, the grounds are beautiful , very tropical looking and very clean. It is also right on the beach which makes viewing the sunset easy. There is also a big pool and a pool bar that is opened all day. We stayed in a standard room with a king bed, a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The room was nice, the king bed was comfortable and it had a balcony overlooking the grounds. Our room was on the 2nd floor and closer to the office, I would recommend getting a room closer to the Gulf for a better view, we had a big tree in front of our balcony so it limited our view but it did help with the hot afternoon sun. The food in the Restaurant was delicious, especially breakfast. It was a very peaceful nice resort and we will be back.

Room Tip: the 2nd floor has better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WWI-Guest-Services, Guest Relations Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Our staff works hard to provide a fabulous vacation experience from beginning to end. Relaxing on your private balcony is the perfect way to end the day.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is an old-style hotel on a quiet section of beach that wasn't crowded the two days I was there. The room was not large but was well-equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave and even a safe that I was able to squeeze my laptop into by standing it on end. The functional but small bathroom had nice toiletries. I was on the second (top) floor in a room just steps from the beach that made convenient to rent the umbrella and chairs for $20 per day. The hotel also had bike rentals for $15 per day. All rooms have a screened porch or balcony. The rooms have exterior entrances. The beach has southern exposure, so at least in mid-June, the sunset view was not optimal. I drove a few miles up to Captiva Island for a better view. I didn't try the pool or the restaurant at this hotel. Landscaping could be improved to give the place a more lush appearance. My room had a drafty air conditioner (as do many hotels). Some guests smoking on the grounds below my balcony were a minor annoyance. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and will probably return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We've been going to the West Wind Inn every year for our anniversary (except 1). The rooms are clean, the pool is well maintained, staff is friendly and helpful.

This hotel is right on the beach and is what I would consider a hidden gem. It is not the fanciest looking place but is well run and the upkeep is excellent. Every time we have returned we find something has been improved.

Room Tip: Gulf side rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WWI-Guest-Services, Guest Relations Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are truly flattered that you have chosen to spend your anniversaries we us! Since our beginnings, we believe in impeccable service and constantly improving the property. Our staff loves what they do and making vacations memorable.

Also, we're glad to hear you were pleased with maintenance of your room and the pool. These comments are important to us so we can keep enhancing the the Inn.

We look forward to making next year's stay special!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is really, really nice! We were looking for a weekend getaway and we found a great place for us. We wanted easy beach access, clean pool, lounge chairs and umbrellas (for a fee) and far enough away from the crowded touristy areas. King bed, BRING YOUR OWN PILLOWS and in the standard room a mini fridge and microwave. The screened in balcony is a plus. We got lucky and got a 2nd floor room which gave us a small view of the Gulf. It was also close to the sun deck which allowed for us to have our cigarettes without feeling like criminals. One review stated u couldn't see the sunset (not from the room but you certainly can on the beach) attached is a pic of our view of the sunset when walking the beach it was beautiful. We turned around and we also got a fantastic view of the rising full moon. We could never have planned that. The restaurant on site the Normandy Seaside Pub (c my review for it under restaurants) has fantastic food no pricier then anywhere else on Sanibel. The hotel staff were all great and Maria kept our room clean and she was always smiling and so very polite! I will say there was 1 huge downside to the room which has actually kept us away from staying at other hotels a 2nd time....the shower sucked! The water pressure was pretty much non-existent. We were at the beach from 7 am to sunset with breaks for rolling in storms and lunch or dinner taking showers In between and each time we were so very disappointed. The bathroom was very pretty but extremely small but I can handle that if I get a great shower and unfortunately that wasn't the case. This is the only reason I didn't give 5 stars. We really liked it here but...I may try another just to compare.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This place was wonderful. Very good location as it is beach front, quiet. Perfect location as anything north of there are mostly private homes so the beach is much less crowded. It was clean, old style Florida with a great beach. Pool was very nice with lots of tables and umbrellas. They also supply lounge charis and umbrellas for twenty dollas a day. This was I deal. Also, the bottom floor worked great as we had a back door to the pool which we used a lot. Really liked this vs walking around the building all day.
Staff was real friendly. I may return.

Room Tip: Bottom room is a good bet. Easy access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I found the West Wind through tripadvisor and am so glad!!! We just returned and definitely wanted to leave a review so others will use this hotel. Upon arriving, we were greeted with wonderful front desk staff. They were very knowledgeable about the area and a great help during our stay. Housekeeping was friendly and did a great job! Our gulf view room was a dream. They have a few areas with 'patios' and we spent hours camped out on the chairs overlooking the gulf. We never made it to the pool, but that looked wonderful as well. The only change we will make is to request a first floor room. We requested a second floor with a clearer gulf view, however, the dunes are not that tall and a first floor would probably allow you to see the gulf as well, but the porch on the 1st floor rooms has a screen door that leads to beach access rather then leaving though the room door and down steps. Definitely recommend this hotel for the proximity to the beach, ammenities, and overall experience.

Room Tip: Request a gulf front room. Second floor has a better view from the porch. First floor has a door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Wind Inn

Address: 3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Wind Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Wind Inn is a peaceful beach-front resort on 500 feet of shelling beach. Choice of rooms includes standard guest rooms with garden or Gulf views; and guest rooms with kitchenettes, with garden or Gulf views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at restaurant, Normandie ; or go casual with food and drinks at our Upper Deck Poolside Bar. Swim, shell and stroll our endless beach. Do laps in our large heated pool; relax at our poolside bar and umbrella-shaded tables and chairs. Play tennis and shuffleboard or venture off-site. Sanibel Island is home to world-famous Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge, outdoor recreation, theatrical venues, shopping, dining and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your West Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Wind Hotel Sanibel Island
West Wind Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Wind Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.