We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better beds would help” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Wind Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added West Wind Inn to your Saves list
West Wind Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Better beds would help”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

West Wind has a lot of good things going for it: really nice people working there, good location, nice pool area with pool bar, restaurant, tennis courts, bike rental, etc. The big but is that the rooms could use some updating, especially mattresses and pillows.

We will try another hotel next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Please accept our apologies if the bed was not of the firmness you are used. to. When you return, and we hope you will, please let us see if we can put you into a room with a more suitable mattress for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    220
    44
    38
    4
See reviews for
169
236
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The location was right on the beach, at the end of the hotels, so in an uncrowded area. The price would have seemed high to me, except for the excellent location. We had a screened porch, and in the mornings could walk out the back door onto the beach, and in the evenings, watch the beach. We kept forgetting about the daily newspaper, and would discover it on our doorstep each day.
However, don't choose this place if you want luxury linens--they don't come with these rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We agree that our location is one-of-kind when it comes to beachfront, quiet and lack of crowds. We will lok into your comment about linens and see what we can do for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLEN BURNIE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My compliments to the staff. They were as helpful as anyone could ask them to be. The room, the grounds, the pool & adjacent libations distribution outlet were superb. A short hoof to the Gulf, with great fishing right off the beach. My only complaint is: I couldn't stay longer, but I'm looking into going back this year.

Room Tip: Not sure, just choose one & enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
What a nice review! We value them all but some are even more rewarding, as was yours. Do come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We found the West Wind Inn to be perfectly located on the far end of Gulf Dr. away from all the hustle bustle of the beautiful Island. Rooms are satisfactory and well equipped with wonderful views of the Gulf, even from poolside. Hotel beach is less traveled by tourists and grounds are very well maintain. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Sanibel is a popular island, especially in "season". But there are some more secluded areas and that's what you found at West Wind Inn. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My family of 3 had a lovely second stay here - our first time was about 16 years ago. Room was well maintained, staff was very welcoming and helpful. Hotel has one of the best locations in Sanibel - located on the quiet section with easy access to great shelling.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We're glad to hear that your family enjoyed their stay at West Wind Inn. Thanks for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
480 helpful votes 480 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the West Wind for a week in early January and it was our 9th return stay.

We choose the Inn over other Sanibel hotels for the location, the rooms and the fact that we know any issues are rectified immediately and without any fuss.

We choose a second floor room so have no noise problems. The kitchenette facilities are ample and allow us to make our own breakfast each day and occasionally dinner in the evening.

The rooms are spacious although we do not spend much time indoors and the screened porches are great for sitting out.

The pool area and grounds are well kept and due to our timing it is never terribly busy when we visit - a real bonus.

I wasn't aware we could use bikes for a short time for no charge or indeed umbrellas or beach chairs so I will have to investigate ahead of our 2014 visit which has already been booked.

We once had the misfortune to stay somewhere else on the island and I wouldn't consider staying anywhere other than here. Put simply - if it's not available then we wouldn't come to Sanibel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Such loyalty is greatly appreciated. If there is anything else you need for your 10th return, let us know ahead of time. Thank you for this nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

From check in to check out, a marvelous place to stay. One of the greatest beaches on Sanibel to find shells. Nicely appointed rooms, with balconies all facing the sunset. Pool with pool bar, beautifully maintained grounds.

Room Tip: There doesn't seem to be a bad choice in the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is rewarding to know our efforts result in happy guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to West Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Wind Inn

Address: 3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Wind Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Wind Inn is a peaceful beach-front resort on 500 feet of shelling beach. Choice of rooms includes standard guest rooms with garden or Gulf views; and guest rooms with kitchenettes, with garden or Gulf views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at restaurant, Normandie ; or go casual with food and drinks at our Upper Deck Poolside Bar. Swim, shell and stroll our endless beach. Do laps in our large heated pool; relax at our poolside bar and umbrella-shaded tables and chairs. Play tennis and shuffleboard or venture off-site. Sanibel Island is home to world-famous Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge, outdoor recreation, theatrical venues, shopping, dining and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your West Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Wind Hotel Sanibel Island
West Wind Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Wind Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.