We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Wind Inn

Save Saved
You added West Wind Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
West Wind Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3345 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 28 hotels in Sanibel Island
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a great two night stay here. Right on the beach, we got a bunch of pretty shells to bring home. They rent bicycles right here at the hotel, and we rented one for a day and rode to the lighthouse (5 mile trip each way, highly recommended). Pool bar was great as was the restaurant on site.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    177
    40
    33
    3
See reviews for
135
177
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
east coast
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for two nights a week ago while on Sanibel Island. Great location - right on the beach. We had a decent size room right next to the ocean front rooms on the second floor. Could not really see the beach unless we went out on porch or stood near door. the shower was really nice however the bathroom was small. Beds seemed comfortable enough. Watched the sunset on the beach our second night here which was nice but I got bit by a lot of little bugs and still a week later have red marks on legs. No waves on the gulf side so if you like listening to the waves at night you don't hear them. I would stay again though if back on the island.

Had breakfast at the hotel restaurant first morning and it was good. a bit pricey but good.

Room Tip: Get a place on the second floor. Closest to ocean as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments. Please come back to Sanibel and stay with us. We have stuff that wards off the "No Seeum" bugs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed in a room with a kitchenette. A bit small for a family with two kids. The room was a bit outdate, but the bathroom had been updated and looked good. The pool is a good size and the beach is beautiful and quite. Not to many waves which is perfect for small kids. The service is very good. The staff helps with a lot and after forgetting something for the safe, they send it immediaitely to me (international delivery). Great service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We are very sorry that your stay was personally disappointing. Thanks for letting us know so we can address those things that are in our power to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had a terrible time at this Resort...very dated and the rooms were very small...We had a two bed kitchen suite. We brought food from home to cook in our kitchen...the stove died in our room. The maintenance people were clueless and on the second day of the visit we had to pick up everything and move..asked if they could just change out the stove and they would not. During the nite the power went off and this place is totally dark...I mean dark..and no one touched base with patrons to tell what was going on. The pool was decent but heavily oriented towards the bar crowd...not very family friendly though we had asked if it was. They had a bar by the pool which was ok...but seemed to be the focus for most people there though we were told it was more family oriented. The beds in the room were small though supposedly queens, cheap and uncomfortable. No much in the way of on premises food sources. Had a restaurant but seemed very low end. Vending non existent for the most part and too expensive what they did have. Just not a good visit...wont be going back.

Room Tip: not for families...couples and older travellers would be ok here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Hotel location is decent and beach is nice but room is very small and beds are uncomfortable. The pillows are the worst I have experienced; slept with three and it was still questionable. Fridge was noisy and the air conditioner was loud. I am glad it was cool enough to go without it. Hotel lacks amenities for its overall star rating. It might be a good choice for retirement age vacationers but if I could do over I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for letting us know about your experience. We try very hard to provide a quality stay at a reasonable rate. Your comments will give us something to think about and improve if possible..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Nov. 17, 2012 in Room #214 which cost $165. Staying one night to visit friends on Sanibel. The bed was horrible...no sleep most of the night. KS broken down on both sides with big lump in the middle. Knew the experience was not going to be the best when we were confronted at the Front Desk by 3 sour faced women who could not have been less friendly or helpful with directions. The room itself was clean and cold (with A/C running at 60) and "micro" in size. But for $165 on Sanibel, the weekend before T'giving you are not going to get Ritz-rooms. I did expect a relatively firm bed. Breakfast was reasonable and very good at attached restaurant.
There are a lot better places to stay on Sanibel at the same prices. Many are not even listed on TripAdvisor so call the Sanibel Lodging central office for reservations.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms with kitchenettes are better???
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
You are right that it is hard to beat Sanibel as a location. And we are happy to be right on the beach in a quiet area. We do appreciate yet your comments. If we don't learn about disappointments, we can't do anything to fix them. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Delaware
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

but we were lucky to say yes to the price not knowing where we were going to stay due to a Hotel website and how lucky were we!!!! The West Wind Inn was amazing! Close to the beach/ pool and our room was big/ clean/ we had a screened enclosed patio and a place to eat breakfast and lunch.
When we asked if the room was available for another night, we were told it was. When I asked if, they would honor the rate we paid, the women asked her boss who looked at our price and said "NO". That was "NO" without any explanations or an apology. We all felt alittle akward,atleast I did/ maybe she was having a bad day ..... so we only stayed one night! But it was a great day and night! EVERYONE ELSE THERE WAS WONDERFUL ..SO THAT IS WHY I RATED SERVICE A VERY GOOD VERSUS EXCELLENT.
We would stay there again,...only after trying to get another great rate!!!!! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Wind Inn

Also Known As:
West Wind Hotel Sanibel Island
West Wind Hotel
West Wind Sanibel Island
West Wind Inn Sanibel Is
Address: 3345 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Wind Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your West Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Wind Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.