We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Wind Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added West Wind Inn to your Saves list
West Wind Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Fairfax, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here in October 2012, the staff couldn't have been nicer, they gave us a wonderful room near the pool, and we couldn't have thought of anything that they didn't provide for us, from the completely furnished kitchen to the daily newspaper delivered to our door each day. The room was spotless and the pool area was clean as was everyplace we went at this Inn. We will defintely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your generous review. It gives us all, staff and management, great gratification to see all those "stars" and hear about how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    254
    57
    42
    4
See reviews for
180
282
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

When we checked in the ladies in the reception was very kind, but it did smell of urin which made us a bit suspicious!
In the room we discovered that where was hair all over the floor in the bathroom and also between the the bags. We did complain and was offered a worse room, so we decided to clean the floor ourselves until the cleaning staff could finished it the next morning. When we returned from our trip around the island the hair was still there and we decided to leave the hotel a day before planned. When we complained about it, they did not take any notice or said sorry.
The hotel was old and the beach was nothing speciel. The water was stinky and kind of red, but that has nothing to do with the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, FL
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have two types of vacations: Active and inactive. Sanibel is our favorite spot for an inactive vacation and the West Wind Inn is where we usually stay. A gulf-front kitchenette puts you right where you want to be, steps away from the beach or pool where you can set up for reading and sunning. Oh, and shelling. Sanibel is a world-class shelling beach. Shell collecting is as active as we get. I'll review the island separately and write of the Inn here. We prefer the gulf-front rooms but you can save a little by staying back in a basic room. Nothing fancy but well kept with daily maid service. While the kitchen lets you nosh as you please, there is a restaurant on site for breakfast, lunch and seasonal dinner. Both of our meals were excellent with friendly service. We didn't use the computer center (we were unplugged) but did borrow some books from the lending library (a couple of shelves next to the vending machines). Once the fridge is stocked there is little need to leave the property but nothing is far if you do. The pool bar offers live music on Friday evenings but otherwise its blender is about the only sound you'll hear above the surf. Take your favorite concoction out to the beach for sunset and toast the end of another day in paradise. Well, almost paradise. There are those nasty no-see-ums, biting sand fleas that show up when the sun goes down. Skin So Soft is reputed to repell them and you might want to YardGuard your porch on ground level. A small price to pay for quiet relaxation.

Room Tip: We prefer the gulf-front for extra privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a great experience staying here. The facility is undergoing some renovations Fall 2012. Guess we picked the perfect weekend- all clear skies and cooler temperatures! Season hadn't started yet so the beach had very few people. Our room was a little above average for this type of rental and it was nice to have a COLD refrigerator. The beach was very close- a very short walk. Pool bar was nice and we had a good bartendender. The hotel restaurant was a good breakfast start- We did a lot on both Captiva and Sanibel- this was a good launch point.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind and perceptive review. It is one of our greatest rewards to hear from guest who have enjoyed their stay at West wind Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff, great service. Beach access. It has a nice pool but it closes at dusk. It is too far away to walk to shopping but the on-island taxi is only $10, and they rent bikes for $ 15/day. We didn't try the restaurant and were unaware that they had a computer center until we were leaving. The kitchenette and laundry room were very convenient and much appreciated for this family trip.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments about West Wind Inn. We are on the beach at the quiet end of the island, which provides a certain quiet and relaxing ambiance most guests come back for. The downside is we are not in retail center of the island. But you are correct that Sanibel Taxi can take you anywhere on (or off) the islands for a very reasonable fare. And biking to your off-site destination is both easy and pleasant. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Having never been to Sanibel before, I did tons of research on what the island had to offer and the various hotels. One of the things I loved about what I was reading was that Sanibel was virtually free of chain hotels and restaurants. After careful consideration, West Wind Inn seemed to have everything I was looking for; beachfront, pool and a little further away from the the main throughfare of the the island. West Wind Inn is one of, if not the last hotel on the beach front on the western side of the island. The staff was accomadating from the beginning as my friend's flight was delayed several times and that put us getting to the hotel after midnight. I called ahead of time and let them know we would be arriving late. When I arrived, greeted me by name before I even spoke a word. once in our room I found the accomodations to be exactly as I had seen on their website. The bathrooms had been recently remodled with granite countertops and ceramic tile throughout. The staff went above expectations with any requests we had from locations a bottle opener for our beer to coming to our room within 5 minutes to fix a minor tv repair. (It was unplugged by housekeeping to vaccum). Housekeeping came in daily to tidy but only left us fresh towels if we requested them to. Since we were there in July the no-seeums were horrible and seemed to get worse as our stay progressed. We assume from coming in on our clothes and beach towels.Our only suggestion would be to make sure you have housekeeping throughly clean including stripping the beds during the summer months. An added bonus was when we checked out we were given "Sand Dollars" that are good toward one free night anytime within the next 3 years. I will surely be heading back before then as we plan on making this an annual trip.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have direct access through the screened porch and from the parking area where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for the nice things you said. We try to be as accommodating as possible, and flight delays are often part of a traveler's experience. No see-ums are a problem all along the Gulf coast. They bite any exposed skin while you are outside and you may not know it until hours later. Just one of the drawbacks of Paradise. PS: There is a repellent - "No No-see-ums" - available at island stores. Pick it some when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jupiter, fl
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at the West Wind Inn and had a wonderful time. The pool is perfect and the location is great. Wonderful to have the beach so close. The room was great too - bathroom a little on the small side - but otherwise everything was great. Beds super comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F, Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Five stars!! Thank you. I guess we could call you one of our "favorite" guests. We are grateful for your nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Wind Inn

Address: 3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Wind Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Wind Inn is a peaceful beach-front resort on 500 feet of shelling beach. Choice of rooms includes standard guest rooms with garden or Gulf views; and guest rooms with kitchenettes, with garden or Gulf views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at restaurant, Normandie ; or go casual with food and drinks at our Upper Deck Poolside Bar. Swim, shell and stroll our endless beach. Do laps in our large heated pool; relax at our poolside bar and umbrella-shaded tables and chairs. Play tennis and shuffleboard or venture off-site. Sanibel Island is home to world-famous Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge, outdoor recreation, theatrical venues, shopping, dining and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, T4B and getaroom.com so you can book your West Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Wind Hotel Sanibel Island
West Wind Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Wind Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.