We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sanibel Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sanibel Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Dayton, OH
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beachfront Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

This wasn't the first time that my wife and I stayed at this hotel, however it has been several years since our last stay. The pro's about this hotel are mainly one thing -- it's right on the beach! Walk from your room down a short sandy path and you are standing right on the beach! The hotel provides chaise lounger chairs and places them on the beach for your use which is very nice. Near the beach is the hotel swimming pool with poolside bar. It's all open air and has a very island feel to it. I must be honest, however, if it weren't for it's proximity to the beach I probably would have chosen another place to stay. Why? The hotel rooms are in need of renovation and updating to the 21st Century. The housekeeping was good and the rooms were clean to a degree. Well, in a sandy place it doesn't make much sense to put down carpet in the rooms, but if your room is on the 2nd floor, it's carpeted [1st floor rooms have tile floors], and the carpet is showing it's age! Ours, in addition to showing visible soiling also had what looked like swirls from bleach! I wouldn't plan on doing any floor stretches on that carpet. What's not 21st century? Much. The TV's are old tube style [not flat screen and certainly not HD]. There is no wireless internet. The usable electric outlets were sparse and limited to the sink area unless you wanted to stoop, crawl, or bend behind the furniture. Good luck recharging your cellphone, iPod, or computer. The internet connection is a cable which is coiled [and attached] inside one of the bedside stands. The plug for the internet connection is hidden behind the headboard of the bed, and no, it isn't plugged in on either end -- you must solve this mystery for yourself! The rooms are small standard hotel rooms, and not the spacious ones which the newer Holiday Inns now have. Except for sleeping, I wouldn't plan on spending a lot of time in one these rooms because there's no place to kick back. Lastly, although this is a beachfront hotel, don't expect to see the Gulf of Mexico from your room unless you specifically book a Gulf view room. The vast majority of rooms do not have that view. Overall, if it were not for the beach location, I would be rating this hotel much lower than I have. They need to step it up and get this property into the 21st Century! At least do some room renovation and get rid of the soiled carpet!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    316
    132
    39
    33
See reviews for
262
301
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

booked for one night on the way back from a cruise in miami, location superb, staff were really helpful, just yard from the beach, will definately stay longer next time

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanibelSlim, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
So happy you had a good stay! When you come back DO stay longer so you can explore the islands. Thanks for staying with us.
Danny Adams
Director of Sales
danny.adams@att.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

This was our first visit to Sanibel and we stayed at the Holiday Inn. Very nice location, right on the beach, great pool, nicely kept up motel, very friendly staff. If I had to pick at something about the motel, it would only be that they close the pool area too early. I wouldn't have minded them closing the pool, but it has a great outdoor sitting area that you can enjoy well beyond 10pm with the sea breeze blowing and really nothing else to do at the facility. You can of course bring your beach chairs onto the sand and sit and enjoy the sea breeze and very confortably temps which we did, but it was a nice gathering place near the pool. The attached resturant, Courtneys, was a little to be desired with poor service; seemed to be short of help each day but it is not run by the Holiday Inn. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

This is the best value on the island. Great price and rooms were pretty good. Remember its not the Hyatt but you're also not hit with a $300 + a night room. The staff is always busy caring for the property. Wonderful landscaping and outside is kept clean. Pool area is clean and has a little outside/poolside bar/restaurant

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanibelSlim, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Thanks for your comments. The landscaping does require great care and we are proud of it. Thank you for being our guest!
Danny Adams
Director of Sales
danny.adams@att.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I stayed here during labor day weekend- on a budget- found a good deal on priceline.com. Was able to check in early, smooth check in- although I was not impressed with the employees attitude (she could have been more welcoming). The room was immaculate, no complaints. The pool area was decent in size, then again this is a small hotel. I was not impressed with the mixed drinks at the pool bar (I ordered a pina colada that tasted horrible & overpriced). The entrance to the beach was perfect, 2 hammocks while entering through the sandy pathway and showers.
I only ate at the hotel restaurant "Courtney's" for breakfast and was not impressed, esp. for the price. Wifi only available in the lobby :(
The beach was wonderful, sheels galore & overall this is a great place for families and couples. Would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

One of the most memorable trip to date! the hotel's location is one of its biggest asset. Beach access steps away. Room is comfy enough. Basic and clean.ample parking spaces for guests.
Great for family and budget travellers. Would recommend!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

This was our 4th year here and we never had any issues until this year. They were minor but still unexpected based on previous visits. The first night there, after we got unpacked, the air conditioner didnt cool the room down. We were offered an option of moving to another room (by ourselves) or stay in a room for the night while the maintenance crew worked on the A/C in the morning. We took that option and I was to call the front desk in the morning to check the status of repairs. Only problem was the phone in the room didn't work. Finally got back to the original room. The night stand had missing knobs, the towl rack (bar) in the bathroom fell and the hot/cold knob supplied hot water when turned to the cold and cold water when turned to hot. All of this I will say was corrected quickly. The real issue was at check out. We asked for some compensation for the inconveniences (we received some) but never received a thank you, an apology for the inconveniences or a request we come back. As mentioned, we have always had a great time and never encountered any issues but it seems quality control and some customer service is slipping. Nothing major but it has us thinking of spending over $800.00 for a stay somewhere else next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sanibel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sanibel Island

Address: 1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sanibel Island 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We cordially invite you to relax and enjoy our tropical island beach paradise at the Holiday Inn Beach Resort Hotel on Sanibel Island.The experience begins the moment you cross the Sanibel Causeway just west of Fort Myers, Florida and travel over the azure waters of the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. You'll feel the stress and fast pace of every-day life slip away.The Holiday Inn Beach Resort Hotel on Sanibel Island is located on one of the most beautiful sanctuary islands in the world with the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico as our own back yard. Sanibel Island is renowned for its natural beauty and habitat, miles of unspoiled beaches, world famous shell collecting, an array of activities, water sports, fishing and exceptional restaurants. Whether your visit brings you to our beachfront hotel for business or for pleasure, you will enjoy our charmingly quaint resort hotel surrounded by lush tropical landscape, pristine beach, ponds with waterfalls, outdoor pool with expansive sun deck, tennis courts and friendly staff who are eager to assist you.Plan your well deserved vacation or romantic getaway on Sanibel Island now. We specialize in leisure vacations, small meetings, retreats, corporate incentive travel and beach side weddings. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Sanibel Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.