We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Sunrises” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sanibel Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sanibel Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Key Largo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunrises”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

I took my wife to this hotel for a romantic weekend getaway. Because the way the island and hotel are situated, we had beautiful sunrises over the Gulf and good sunsets over the north end of the island in November. The rooms are clean, with non smoking rooms and no smoke smells. Wired high speed internet. The staff was friendly and helpful. The beach and the best shelling are only a few yards away. We took a long sunrise walk from our beach to the far south end of the island to the Sanibel Lighthouse....picking up shells as we went. The hotel is close to shops and restaurants. The onsite restaurant seemed to be closed. This is a good hotel with reasonable rates.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    317
    132
    39
    33
See reviews for
262
302
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

So, the hotel landscaping and brick drive are nice. The rooms, however, are old school Holiday Inn. The beds are uncomfortable. From what I saw, there is no reason to pay for their "oceanfront" room since no rooms are oceanfront. There is a building that faces the ocean. But, there is a pool, courtyard area, and sand dunes in between. The only restaurant on site for breakfast and lunch is poolside and was staffed poorly and the service was poor and untimely.
The island seemed nice and quaint. There are bike paths everywhere and bike rentals are readily available. I kitesurfed in the ocean behind the hotel. In my opinion, it is way overpriced for a vacation destination. There are just too many places in Florida with better "everything" that cost less money. If you find yourself there for something other than a vacation (wedding...), it makes a nice weekend.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

the hotel is directly at beach with very nice view over the sea to Fort Myers.
Hotel itself well maintained, rooms are large and have good aircon. we had room with bath tub and separate toilette.
reception helpful but not too friendly, nice feature: coffee station with danish at reception instead of breakfast. restaurant adjacent with good quality food but not really cheap. woudl recommend THE ISLAND COW for both, dinner and breakfast, 5 minutes by car.
swimming pool is small but very nice, as we were there during off peak season we had no issues getting a sunbed. but i guess once fully booked this might be difficult. the beach is not as nice as we expected as there are JUST shells so that you do not wish do sun bath there. we just walked the beach. but the most horrible thing tehre were: NO SEE UMS!! never knew them before but they def out you off coming back ever! these things are not a moskito so you cannot see them? they even bite you during the day whilst at the pool. my wife had 25 bites in 1 hour! so this is really bad. but all in all we would recommend the hotel. nice outlet centre right off the island to go shopping. you always have to pay though when entering the island again, $6.00

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Holiday Inn in October 09. It was unusually hot for this time of year. We were told it was usually in the 80's with lower humidity but it was high 90"s everyday we were there. The No See Ums were sand fleas I guess which attacked me but not my husband. I tried repellent with deet and then Skin so Soft but nothing seemed to work.. Sanibel Island does not spray I guess because of trying to preserve the wildlife but I would not go here again except in the winter months when the bugs were not as bad...
That said, the staff was wonderful and the room was -fine-no frills but bed was comfortable and room was decorated in a cute tropical theme. It had a small refrigerator and a microwave so we ate breakfast and lunch in the room most days. We did eat at Courtney's which is next to the HI and it was very good. We also ate at the Mucky Duck for lunch on Captiva Island and it was fine also.
The Holiday Inn is in a great location and we spent most of our time on the beach. Went to the pool once and it was fine but bugs there too
The gift shop sells alot of cute items and you can also buy a beach umbrella there for $16. Many people turn their umbrella in when they leave and the front desk will give you one to use if they have extras left behind so ask before you buy....
All in all, I am not enthralled with Sanibel because of my experience with the bites, but I would definitely recommend this Holiday Inn if you plan to visit the island. My husband who was not bothered by bites, loved the whole 4 days and loved the proximity of the beach and spent alot of time in the gulf. He would go back in a hearbeat.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We spent 6 nights here. The accomodations were exceptional. Extremely clean rooms and environment. Beautifully landscaped...pool is beautiful and clean. Pool bar had excellent drinks and reasonable, good food. Ocean is mere short walk from your hotel door. The housekeeping service is extraordinary. We generally stay at a higher class of hotels but this hotel has outclassed the Sanibel Harbour Resort where we stayed last year. They could not have been friendllier. Met lovely people vacationing here as well. Food in their restaurant Courtney's,...well, much better places to eat than Courtney's on the Island

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

I went on an end of summer trip with my 10 year old, and this was our first time in Sanibel Island. While the hotel is very close to the beach, it is not as close to anything else. We did walk to the nearest convenience store and to rent bikes, about a 10-15 minute walk. I would suggest either renting a car for larger parties, but biking it was a fun thing to do.

The hotel is average (clean, not too many frills, but that is ok for our needs) but the service was excellent - they even helped me return the bike when we got caught in a storm and had to leave very early the next morning. Our stay was only 3 nights, so we ate at the restaurant for our entire stay - the food selection was good, and the atmosphere was nice. We only visited the pool once in the evening. Free internet connection, which is always a plus! We visited the many shell stores and the shell museum during our short stay. Lots of shells to pick on the beach. DO bring insect repellent - the island does not use pesticide, and you will get bitten by gnats on the beach or mosquitos.

All in all, a great experience (other than the many many insect bites!) and we will come again.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Couldn't agree more with the previous post. Just got back 2 days ago. For the price and location this Holiday Inn cannot be beat. The lobby was nicely done, the rooms were modern and fresh looking. The gentlemen and ladies manning the front desk were always very helpful. They make fresh coffee in the lobby every 1/2 hour, which was a nice touch. The housekeeping staff was excellent and prompt with all special requests. Tennis courts were in good shape. Grounds were well maintained. Pool was slightly small but there were plenty of lounge chairs . The beach was right in back of the hotel--found tons of shells. 4 bottle nose dolphins swam off the beach in clear view!! Didn't eat at the restaurant , Courtney's, because of previous "iffy" reviews.
If we find ourselves in Sanibel again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sanibel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sanibel Island

Address: 1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sanibel Island 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We cordially invite you to relax and enjoy our tropical island beach paradise at the Holiday Inn Beach Resort Hotel on Sanibel Island.The experience begins the moment you cross the Sanibel Causeway just west of Fort Myers, Florida and travel over the azure waters of the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. You'll feel the stress and fast pace of every-day life slip away.The Holiday Inn Beach Resort Hotel on Sanibel Island is located on one of the most beautiful sanctuary islands in the world with the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico as our own back yard. Sanibel Island is renowned for its natural beauty and habitat, miles of unspoiled beaches, world famous shell collecting, an array of activities, water sports, fishing and exceptional restaurants. Whether your visit brings you to our beachfront hotel for business or for pleasure, you will enjoy our charmingly quaint resort hotel surrounded by lush tropical landscape, pristine beach, ponds with waterfalls, outdoor pool with expansive sun deck, tennis courts and friendly staff who are eager to assist you.Plan your well deserved vacation or romantic getaway on Sanibel Island now. We specialize in leisure vacations, small meetings, retreats, corporate incentive travel and beach side weddings. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sanibel Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.