We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really liked this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sanibel Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sanibel Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We really liked this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Very nice for a Holiday Inn, beautiful landscaping, nice room decor, and friendly staff. We really enjoyed being right on the beach with free beach chairs and umbrellas, the hammocks, and tennis courts.
The location is great and we were able to ride bikes everywhere. The restaurant was very good as well, although the portions were a bit small for the price.
The only cons were:
The exhaust fan in our bathroom (room 204) was not functioning and if you did your business you would really stink up the room lol.
The housekeeper would clean the room in the morning and leave bags with dirty towels, bed linens, and garbage outside the room until the mid afternoon. This was not a one time thing it occured every day.
The free wifi never worked properly and the computer in the lobby was only available to print boarding passes.
Aside from those 3 minor issuess if we ever make it to Sanibel again we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for staying with us and sharing your comments.
To address your concerns: The exhaust fan is on the roof of the building, it's a vent that's in the bathroom; so you don't hear the fan, but it is always on, and does work.
We had the discussion this week about pick-up of the linen and trash bags used by the housekeepers and we have accelerated the pick-up schedule. We noticed it also. As to the wi-fi, I was unaware of any issues with it. My computers are on the same system and we have plenty of bandwidth and two back-up systems if the primary goes down. Hope you were not on a neighbors system and not ours. We usually hear within minutes if folks are having trouble. Anyway, next time just call the desk and we'll sent someone up to make sure everything works. The deal on the lobby airline computer is: we don't have the space for an office center so we have to limit the use of that PC to just boarding passes so that everyone has a chance to use it. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us, we do appreciate it!
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    343
    144
    43
    38
See reviews for
284
330
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

This is our 3rd time at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island - first time 12 years ago, second time 9 years ago - and we still fall in love with the place as soon as we enter the property.

Best location on the island (ON the beach !), the property in immaculate state, rooms convenient and spacious, staff SO friendly and helpful - couldn't be better.

Our now teenage girls insisted on going back to Holiday Inn and their fond childhood memories of the place were certainly brought to live.

Thank you for another wonderful stay !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulln, Austria
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

When we arrived, we were somewhat disappointed as the hotel has a kind of Motel-ish layout.
Luckily it was only the buildings, and the experience we had was more than that.

Check-in was mediocre, but interactions with other staffmembers during out 2 day stay have added to a more positive impression.

Rooms were clean and of average size.

Beach towels and sunbeds by the sea were a great plus.

For Sanibel it appears to be good value.

Would choose it again, when in town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have stayed here over the long Thanksgiving weekend on alternate years for nearly a decade. This is an older facility, but clean and comfortable and generally well-maintained. Keep in mind that because this is literally on the gulf, carpet (for example) in the rooms would make no sense. Could use some updating. For those who must travel with electrical devices (e.g., CPAP) electrical outlets were sparse and not very accessible, but generally speaking this facility ranks well among Holiday Inn facilities.

Overall, facilities/amenities are good (pool with good bar, recreation area, etc) -- biggest lack was a workout facility, but generally facilties in this price tier, if they have "gyms" at all, are limited to a treadmill, a stationary bike, maybe an elliptical and perhaps dumbells. There are private gym facilities on the island, separately.

The dining room was a surprise the first time we stayed here. Food was fully priced, but quality was consistent, good, and competitive to that found in the midpriced and better restaurants on the island.

We will be back.

Room Tip: On balance, ground floor rooms are probably preferable, but there is more foot traffic; if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for being a multiple times return guest! As to the work-out room or lack of one, the City of Sanibel will not grant us a permit to add one. We would love to have a work-out facility. As you noted, there are facilities on the island that are open to the public. Thank you for your comments, see you next time.
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was a return visit to this Hotel after our last visit in December 2012,we were looking forward to hopefully seeing some of the really helpful staff from last time and if any changes had been made to the hotel facilities, rooms or grounds. We where greeted at reception by David who was very helpful and it was good to see the familiar face of Claudia. We had been allocated room 244 which is a room which faces the ocean and overlooks the pool,Tiki Bar and Beach, which I must say is a very lovely view to see each day and night. The rooms are compact but furnished island style, and the resort is very relaxed with a mixture of couples and families. The Star Fish Grill is good for food at any time of day, the Tiki Bar is a real gem to hang out and have some food or a few drinks, best days are when Danny 'Tiki Daddy' is working as he is a good barman with an extensive array of cocktails stored in his mind ready for you to enjoy. Overall had a very good stay and enjoyed our 2nd visit to the Holiday Inn Sanibel.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms, not on either ends as they have stair cases blocking the beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for coming back to visit. We do appreciate your comments. Hope to see you yet again!
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights during a recent trip to Sanibel. This is a well maintained older beach front property. The room was updated as much as possible. Very clean, comfortable beds, updated bathroom and vanity area. The room had a large flat screen TV, microwave and mini fridge which we used to store drinks. Lots of clean towels and beach towels provided. The pool is on the smaller side but the patio area around it and the Tiki bar are great. The grounds and beach are well maintained and the provided beach chairs were always available. They could use a few more beach umbrellas. It was quiet at night and we slept very well. Great place to land to explore Sanibel Island. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Just need to add one thing here: thank you!
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great location for shelling and beach access, the tiki bar is really convenient, the beds were comfortable and thankfully, the AC in our room worked really well. The only thing that could improve is the front desk clerks. The night clerk was friendlier than the women who work during the afternoon. Also, the restaurant is really expensive, so we bought food we could make in the room to save some money. We also really liked the beach chairs and umbrellas they put out for guests everyday. Overall, we really liked our stay there.

A few words about Sanibel in general:
Cell phone reception and wi-fi are both really spotty on the island. We weren't too bothered since we were on vacation, but if you need to stay closely in touch while you're there it might be a problem for you.

I STRONGLY recommend a very good bug spray for a nasty pest they call "noseeums". Even if you don't think you're getting bit by them while you're there, you are! Everyone with us got bit except me, until I got home and had a delayed reaction. It's taken me 3 weeks to get over them. I grew up in the south and thought I'd seen every biting bug, but I've never seen bugs that bite like these! Their bites are intensely itchy, oozy and show up by the dozens!

Other than those two things, Sanibel is a very nice place to get away to, and Holiday Inn is a great hotel for the price.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from noisy activities and the pool. They put us in 204 and it was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and your comments. I do want to mention a couple of things; wi-fi may be spotty on the island but not at the hotel, we have coverage in all rooms and public areas and the pool. As to cell service, there is a new Verizon tower about 100 yards from the hotel you get 5 bars anywhere on our property. Currently Verizon is the only active carrier(they built it) but the other carriers will gain access to the tower in a matter of months, AT&T is due to be next. Hope to see you back soon!
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sanibel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sanibel Island

Address: 1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sanibel Island 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We cordially invite you to relax and enjoy our tropical island beach paradise at the Holiday Inn Beach Resort Hotel on Sanibel Island.The experience begins the moment you cross the Sanibel Causeway just west of Fort Myers, Florida and travel over the azure waters of the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. You'll feel the stress and fast pace of every-day life slip away.The Holiday Inn Beach Resort Hotel on Sanibel Island is located on one of the most beautiful sanctuary islands in the world with the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico as our own back yard. Sanibel Island is renowned for its natural beauty and habitat, miles of unspoiled beaches, world famous shell collecting, an array of activities, water sports, fishing and exceptional restaurants. Whether your visit brings you to our beachfront hotel for business or for pleasure, you will enjoy our charmingly quaint resort hotel surrounded by lush tropical landscape, pristine beach, ponds with waterfalls, outdoor pool with expansive sun deck, tennis courts and friendly staff who are eager to assist you.Plan your well deserved vacation or romantic getaway on Sanibel Island now. We specialize in leisure vacations, small meetings, retreats, corporate incentive travel and beach side weddings. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Sanibel Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.