We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sanibel Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sanibel Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

As you've most likely read from the other reviews, the location for this hotel is great (a few short steps to the beach) and the landscaping on the property is beautiful! Another thing you've most likely read is that the rooms are less then spectacular. All of the above is accurate as of this posting (6/16/14).
The good:
- Easy access to the beach
- Plenty of beach chairs for guest's use only
- Beautiful property
- A tiki bar with a bartender (Amy) who can make a mean margarita!

The Bad:
- The rooms. They are old, the furniture is quite dated and the style is a mix of pacific island meets hotel furniture outlet.

My final verdict is that this is a great place to stay so long as your goal is to be outside, and you only need your room to crash in. (Which is kind of the point in a vacation)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments!
Beach and landscaping are quite great, I agree. The rooms, we are working on with the same zest we use on our landscaping! Good things are in motion. We sure hope to see you again soon!
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    349
    144
    43
    39
See reviews for
285
334
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Great location , pool bar service poor and closed at 7 at night front desk handed you a book not very helpful. 17 th anniversary . I would not go back to this hotel . It was average at best. There was a dead roach on curtains and it was a room for handicap. When I called and said it was my 17 th anniversary it was like I was bothering the person on the phone . Lesson learned but it is a beautiful island

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Well, then I'm disappointed. Very sorry we let you down. On a special occasion; your 17th anniversary, you should expect better, even with no occasion it's our intention to treat you properly, as the valued guest you are. We will learn from this and do better. Thank you for sharing your comments.
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

First let me say that the front office staff couldn't have been nicer. I needed a room in an easy access area for my mom who has mobility issues and I got what I requested. The room is fairly basic, tile floors....let's say serviceable. Beds were comfortable tho. THE best part is the access to the beach. Short walk to the beach. They have a limited number of lounge chairs and umbrellas, but they put them out for you each day. Long, lovely beach to walk on. Warm shallow water. They have an outdoor café/bar by the small pool. It's nice except it closes so early, but maybe they know their cliental. I just thought it would have been nice to have a cocktail in the evening. Great for families, very kid friendly and good for older folks too. They have an onsite restaurant as well, but I didn't try it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thanks for staying with us!
The city of Sanibel requires us to close the beach bar at dark and remove the chairs and lounges from the beach in keeping with our natural theme: Leave nothing on the beach but footprints. We are not allowed to have lights on in the beach area due to turtle nesting season. The bar in the Starfish Grille remains open, but we must keep the beach dark, quiet and natural. A small price to pay to maintain the natural habitat.
Thanks for mentioning our staff, they really want you and your family to enjoy your time on Sanibel Island. We appreciate you sharing your comments.
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlinville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had an amazing stay! We really didn't need any extra service, but when we saw any of the employees they were very nice. The grounds are very clean and the buildings freshly painted. The beach area couldn't be better, the free chair and umbrella service is AWESOME! I do agree with the other reviews that the pool is small, but with the ocean and excellent beach area, it is not needed. We would stay there again and recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I looked at many places on Sanibel to stay and I chose this one for the value and that it had direct beach access. I was VERY pleasantly surprised at just how nice it was.

Location was super convenient, off the main street and easy to get to the restaurants and sights near-by by car or bike path, but felt set back and quiet.

The front desk staff were friendly and helpful with things like directions, tide-charts, and even a complimentary sea-shelling bag.

Our room was clean and comfy. Housekeeping dealt very well with all the sand we tracked in each day.

The pool area was nice, the pool bar was nothing special but definitely served its purpose. The area between the pool and sun deck and the beach is a lovely grassy, palm tree-shaded haven with a few hammocks and tables. Much more paradise-like than I'd expected for a Holiday Inn. Also near the pool area was a special sink for washing off your sea-shell treasures, and almost every room had a collection drying outside their windows.

Overall this place seems like a real deal on Sanibel and I will definitely stay again for a weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Not your average review and we thank you for that! Sounds like you really know how to enjoy our islands. Thank you for sharing your comments.
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Often overlooked by seasoned traveler's the HI at Sanibel has a fine restaurant ( LaVita is a great host ) , friendly check in representatives ( David and Claudia are a solid team who provide excellent service) and a convenient location for touring the island.
Check it out next time you are in the area; it will exceed your expectations

Room Tip: If you want the best room for a beach view ,ask for 2nd floor ,# 244 and #246
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Wow! Thanks very much for mentioning some members of Team Sanibel, we all strive to make your stay comfortable and stress free; so glad Lavita, David, and Claudia made it so. I will see that they see your comments. Thank you!
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodboro Maryland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We chose the Holiday Inn because it was one of the least expensive options. We didn't miss out on much. The hotel is near the beach, less than 100 yards to the water. It has a tiki bar on the way, a pool, chaise lounges on the beach with umbrellas. It wasn't far from good dining options like the Il Ceilo restaurant.

my only complaint was that the bathrooms were very small and offered very little privacy. Also, the bed sagged a bit in the middle.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and pointing out that we are a good value for a Sanibel Island beach location. Yes, totally agree; wonderful restaurants on both Sanibel and Captiva islands. We appreciate you sharing your comments.
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sanibel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sanibel Island

Address: 1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sanibel Island 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We cordially invite you to relax and enjoy our tropical island beach paradise at the Holiday Inn Beach Resort Hotel on Sanibel Island.The experience begins the moment you cross the Sanibel Causeway just west of Fort Myers, Florida and travel over the azure waters of the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. You'll feel the stress and fast pace of every-day life slip away.The Holiday Inn Beach Resort Hotel on Sanibel Island is located on one of the most beautiful sanctuary islands in the world with the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico as our own back yard. Sanibel Island is renowned for its natural beauty and habitat, miles of unspoiled beaches, world famous shell collecting, an array of activities, water sports, fishing and exceptional restaurants. Whether your visit brings you to our beachfront hotel for business or for pleasure, you will enjoy our charmingly quaint resort hotel surrounded by lush tropical landscape, pristine beach, ponds with waterfalls, outdoor pool with expansive sun deck, tennis courts and friendly staff who are eager to assist you.Plan your well deserved vacation or romantic getaway on Sanibel Island now. We specialize in leisure vacations, small meetings, retreats, corporate incentive travel and beach side weddings. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sanibel Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.