We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sanibel Island

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Sanibel Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 27 hotels in Sanibel Island
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Awesome location, right on the beach, close to shops and bike rental. Perfect for the family. Front Desk Connie was extremely helpful and went the extra mile to help us with our request. The staff was friendly. Pool area and tiki bar with view to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    241
    279
    125
    34
    29
See reviews for
236
268
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here with some friends while one member of each couple competed in the Captiva Triathlon in September 2013. We were satisfied with our stay. Rooms are typical double motel rooms, with two double beds. The upstairs rooms were carpeted and the downstairs rooms had a nice saltillo-style tile. The rooms have had cosmetic upgrades in terms of paint and some bathroom updating, but it seemed inconsistent in room to room. For example, we had a great tiled shower stall that seemed fresh and modern. Our friends downstairs had a bathtub that was probably original to the motel, and despite being clean it still looked like what it was, small, old and dingy.

All that being said, you're not picking a 40-year-old Holiday Inn that sits beachfront but still has rooms for $109 in the off season because you are looking for luxury accommodations. We wanted a clean place to hang out before and after the triathlon with our small kids, and that's what we got. The grounds are large and well-maintained, with hammocks strategically placed before the dunes under the palm trees. The pool is large and has nice shaded cabanas in the seating area, which was a great place for the adults to gather while the kids swam and the poor odd-parent-out had to get in the pool with the smallest ones. We set up a barbecue meal on the pool deck Saturday evening and had no problems.

Being Sanibel, there are some things that out-of-towners should plan on wherever they stay. All hotels must be set back off the dunes to preserve the beaches, so it's a long walk to the beach. I'd suggest some sort of a wagon or a tote. If it's warm enough to be outside without a sweater on and there's not a strong breeze, there will be no-see-ums, which are small biting gnats, at dusk and dawn. You will want to bring bug spray or plan not to be outside at that time.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Firstly this is not a hotel but a motel. That said it was very clean, the staff excellent, posiition on beach perfect. Both restaurant and Tiki bar staff and food excellent. The first thing they give you when you check in however, is details of the pest problem, which is quite scary to read especially if you are from England. I think it would be very helpful if either one is told before hand or you should be able to buy in the shop at the Holiday Inn insecticide.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I am from Allentown, Pennsylvania so I live about 23 hours away from Sanibel Island, but when I arrived, I knew I was going to have a great time! Besides that this Holiday Inn is right by the beach everything else at the hotel just compliments it even more. The pool is a great place to lounge around and soak up some sun and if you're a little tired you can go take a relaxing nap on one of the many hammocks hung up around there. The staff is very kind and helpful, with a great smile to guide you where you need to go. This place was a experience of a lifetime and I am so thankful that I was able to experience this great time at such a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Wife and I had the opportunity to visit Sanibel Island for a wedding. Stayed for one evening at this hotel. It was our first time visiting this beautiful island. We were greeted at the front desk by two wonderful and very helpful woman. Set a great tone for our stay. Hotel was centrally located and easy to find. The rooms looked and smelled clean, though the furnishings were a bit dated. Dropped our stuff at the room and took a short walk to the pool and beach. Didn't use the pool, but the area looked clean and very inviting. Nice chairs and a couple of fabric-draped day beds. Continued our walk another 100 feet to a beautiful and peaceful beach. Lots of people relaxing and others looking for shells. We wouldn't have time this afternoon to use the beach, but we did the following morning before checkout. That morning there were plenty of complimentary lounges on the beach. They had a very informative attendant who was setting up umbrellas. He answered a few questions we had about a good restaurant for breakfast. Another great employee at the hotel. As I said, this was our first visit to Sanibel Island, and we plan to return for a longer visit. We will definitely book this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Very happy you found us and sure hope the wedding was great! Thank you for sharing your comments and we will be pleased to welcome you back.
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband had booked this overnight stay at the Sanibel Holiday Inn as a surprise for our 33rd wedding anniversary. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. Asa IHG members my husband had asked for an early check in and they were very obliging. Our room was cheery and clean with double sinks, nice flat screen TV, fridge,safe, beach towels, comfy beds and pillows. Free Beach chairs and umbrellas were a nice addition. Nice shelling. Bikes were available at a very nominal fee. Reviews that I read on line prior to going were positive and negative but it proves to me once again that you have to experience things for yourself to make your own decision. People usually see the glass half empty. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and being an IHG Rewards Club member, we appreciate your loyalty.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay on Sanibel Island, and Happy Anniversary!
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This is an older island beach setting. It is perfect for those liking old island charm. This isn't for modern and contemporary travelers looking for every creature comfort but is always very clean with super service. The restaurant is excellent and the pool is heated. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks very much for your comments, we appreciate them!
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Sanibel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sanibel Island

Address: 1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sanibel Island 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We cordially invite you to relax and enjoy our tropical island beach paradise at the Holiday Inn Beach Resort Hotel on Sanibel Island.The experience begins the moment you cross the Sanibel Causeway just west of Fort Myers, Florida and travel over the azure waters of the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. You'll feel the stress and fast pace of every-day life slip away.The Holiday Inn Beach Resort Hotel on Sanibel Island is located on one of the most beautiful sanctuary islands in the world with the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico as our own back yard. Sanibel Island is renowned for its natural beauty and habitat, miles of unspoiled beaches, world famous shell collecting, an array of activities, water sports, fishing and exceptional restaurants. Whether your visit brings you to our beachfront hotel for business or for pleasure, you will enjoy our charmingly quaint resort hotel surrounded by lush tropical landscape, pristine beach, ponds with waterfalls, outdoor pool with expansive sun deck, tennis courts and friendly staff who are eager to assist you.Plan your well deserved vacation or romantic getaway on Sanibel Island now. We specialize in leisure vacations, small meetings, retreats, corporate incentive travel and beach side weddings. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Sanibel Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.