We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spot, Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sanibel Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Sanibel Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Spot, Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Doesn't feel like a chain hotel. Nice and beachy. For the best pool and Gulf view, get room 244. Had a good lunch at the pool bar; room service was reasonably priced. Room was a bit expensive, but they all are on Sanibel. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    300
    130
    34
    32
See reviews for
257
287
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We arrived at the Holiday Inn unexpectedly after an unpleasant experience with another property on the island. What a welcoming change!

The room was large and clean with a nice-size fridge, microwave, small dining table and chairs for added convenience. The vanity and closet area was in the main room, with a TINY separate room for toilet and bath /shower combination. Decor is a bit dated but beds were comfortable and feather-free as requested.

Grounds are very nice with a good sized pool area, bar and a lovely landscaped section leading to the beach with large hammocks hanging from palm trees. The beautiful Sanibel beach is particularly wide in the section where the hotel is located and staff put sun loungers out on the sand each morning for guests to use. Though busy with walkers and shellers, it never seemed crowded. Watching dolphins play just offshore is an added treat.

Bikes rentals are available on site, which is easily the best way to get around the island. A nice bonus is the option to rent kayaks, paddleboards, etc.

The location is very convenient, with all the shops and restaurants of Periwinkle Way just a quick bike or drive away.

Front desk service was friendly and courteous for the most part and my husband appreciated the complimentary coffee each morning. However they were unwilling or unable for some reason to look up my Priority Club membership number to attach it to my reservation. They said I would have to call myself, which I found a bit unusual and not particularly helpful.

As very few hotel / motel options on Sanibel offer full service dining, this is a nice option to have at the Holiday Inn. However we didn't visit the restaurant so can't comment on the quality, price or service.

Room rates were comparable with other properties on the island offering fewer amenities so overall I would consider this hotel a good value for the area. It offers the consistent, reliable quality of a Holiday Inn while maintaining the quiet, laid-back character for which Sanibel is renowned.

Room Tip: Second-floor rooms overlooking the beach have a lovely view, but might be noisy due to proximity of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments, very happy you enjoyed your stay!
Most certainly we can and do look-up Priority Club information, so sorry we let you down there. We will discuss that in our staff meeting, easy enough to do. Thanks for being our guest and sure hope you can come visit again!
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia girl
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I know location is key on Sanibel and you have to pay for it..however the cost compared to room and service had a gap. This is a older hotel with nothing fancy. It was decent but maybe for $100 less. Way too much for this one! Bartenders were not friendly and there was no warm and fuzzy upon check in. For one night and shell hunting it is fine...but for 2 days or more-check around.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! Sorry, that we did not provide the level of service to make you feel welcomed and valued, which you are. Thank you for sharing your comments.
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed there last June for several days. The Locatian is great. The Hotel is within Walking Distance from the beautiful Beach. The little Trail passes an Aligator Pond . From the small Pool is a great view of the white sandy Beach. Our Room had a lumpy, old Mattress, very uncomfortable. We told the Front Offices, friendly Staff about it. They promptly put another one on our bed, but that one was just as bad ! The Cover Sheet had traces of Lipstick ! The Tub was old and stained, as-well as the carpet. The Stay wasnt worth the money we paid !
However ,we did love the Restaurant "Courtney`s "attached to the Hotel . We ate Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner there. The Service was great!

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thanks, we took your advice and did some updates since you stayed with us last June! We replaced carpets, TV's, and some furniture over last summer. The updating process never really ends but is difficult to do during peak season(winter-spring) as occupancy is so high. I sure hope you decide to come see us again and see what we've done. Thank you for your comments.
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have never been to Sanibel Island. We called 3 weeks before our trip to book and knew it was high season. All that was available at Sanibel Inn, was a 2 bedroom and we took it. It was along the back of the property location, but we could still see the ocean. Everyone was kind and helpful. My husband wanted a place that had a restaurant and a place to get a beer. In the late afternoon, we would get a beer after walking the beach, out at the grill, next to the pool. I don't think the high season had hit yet. It was peaceful, quiet and no kids! Yay! Clean and had everything we needed. I bought coffee, granola bars, teabags, milk, etc, so we had coffee ready to go. Went to one convenience store to purchase snack foods. It was just the 2 of us and the condo could have slept 4. Shortly I will book for next year. Loved the lack of concrete and the nice little gravel paths, homey and comfy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I love Sanibel Island and this hotel was really great. It was clean and the staff was really good, they saw to every need we brought to their attention right away. I would recommend this one and will be back there soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments! I will share this with our staff.
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Sanibel Island has numerous small hotels - many of which are expensive and tack on extra fees even for one night. Thus the Holiday Inn (HI) was a welcome alternative. Unfortunately, most of the Island's hotels are located on the beach while the restaurants are almost all on the very congested main road (by congested I mean miles long bumper to bumper with cops directing traffic). A couple restaurants are within a mile of the HI and we walked to one. It was a very dark walk back. You may want to eat at the HI's restaurant as an alternative. There is limited pubilc access to the Sanibel beaches ( as compared to many other places in Florida - particularly the east coast) but the HI has good access. However, the beach, which is known for its shells, may have too much of a good thing. There are so many broken shells mixed with the sand you need to wear shoes on the beach or you may have a painful experience. The HI made a disappointing visit to Sanibel Island bearable. Unfortunately, like many hotels, they have those duvets - who wants thick quilt in Florida? Sorry, but I detest duvets! The room did not have a regular (thin) blanket as a alternative. So you either cooked under the duvet or shivered under just the sheet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and for your comments!
Yes, a bit more traffic on Periwinkle Way this time of year, but we are well equipped with a great restaurant and beach bar so you could have all meals here. Most folks do want to get out and explore Sanibel & Captiva islands and our very friendly front desk staff will show you on a map how to get around not using the main road. Most of the year(summer-fall) there is much less traffic as the part-time residents are not here. Hope you come back and visit us!
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sanibel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sanibel Island

Address: 1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sanibel Island 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We cordially invite you to relax and enjoy our tropical island beach paradise at the Holiday Inn Beach Resort Hotel on Sanibel Island.The experience begins the moment you cross the Sanibel Causeway just west of Fort Myers, Florida and travel over the azure waters of the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. You'll feel the stress and fast pace of every-day life slip away.The Holiday Inn Beach Resort Hotel on Sanibel Island is located on one of the most beautiful sanctuary islands in the world with the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico as our own back yard. Sanibel Island is renowned for its natural beauty and habitat, miles of unspoiled beaches, world famous shell collecting, an array of activities, water sports, fishing and exceptional restaurants. Whether your visit brings you to our beachfront hotel for business or for pleasure, you will enjoy our charmingly quaint resort hotel surrounded by lush tropical landscape, pristine beach, ponds with waterfalls, outdoor pool with expansive sun deck, tennis courts and friendly staff who are eager to assist you.Plan your well deserved vacation or romantic getaway on Sanibel Island now. We specialize in leisure vacations, small meetings, retreats, corporate incentive travel and beach side weddings. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Sanibel Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.