We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanibel Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sanibel Inn to your Saves list
Sanibel Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at Sanibel Inn at the beginning of July. They were undergoing renovations so they upgraded us to a condo unit. This place is GREAT! If you are looking to just unwind and relax, stay here. The beach was very nice and all within just a few steps from the rooms. The pool was ok. It was a tad small and the cool deck was not cool. They have bikes you can use to explore the island. The condo was really a treat. Two bedroom with a king size bed for me and two twins for my daughters. Sanibel is just a very nice place to visit and again, unwind.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in a regular room but the Condo is probably worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    311
    85
    37
    20
See reviews for
272
404
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eustis, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We checked in to the Sanibel Inn for a five day stay and first impressions are lasting impressions. The staff is wonderful and the rooms are beautiful! There is a comfortable, homey feel here and it is a short walk to the beach.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bend, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

From the front desk staff to the pool bar bartender to the man working the beach cabana, you couldn't ask for a better customer service experience. The tropical setting is lush and gorgeous, too! We had our best vacation in 25 years and look forward to going back in a coupoe of years. EVERYONE should get to have the Sanibel Inn experience!

Room Tip: Daisy Dunes has plenty of space and is ocean front. Great rooms with a captivating view. Close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

If your looking for an island getaway in the states ..Sanibel inn is your gateway!! Staff was exceptionally pleasant and hospitable. Stayed at the hibiscus 2 bedroom condo so modern & CLEAN!! Front desk upgraded us and we will definitely revisit next year for the island attitude. Eat a Cips!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We go to Sanibel Every year and have since our kids were little. We actually stayed at another one of the "Inns of Sanibel" hotels last year and LOVED it. To be honest I thought that was the one I was booking for this year. It wasn't until I double checked my reservations that I realized I had made a mistake. We were coming for 4th of July weekend so I knew everything would be booked. Upon check in we were a little disappointed with the proximity of the beach compared to the other hotel we thought we had booked but once we checked in we forgot all about it. This place was our own little piece of paradise. The beach was amazing and the amenities were fantastic. The staff was so nice and went out of their way to be accommodating. The hotel was sold out so it was a little crowded at times but when you were on the beach you would have never known it. Watching the fireworks from the beach was like having our own private show, no crowds to fight and no traffic to aggravate you and we could see fireworks from everywhere! The rooms were spotless and perfect. We used the grill every night and that was easy to use and very handy. My husband ate breakfast at the hotel and said it was fine although a little over priced for breakfast (but you are on an island so you expect higher prices). I only have one little issue that would have made this the PERFECT spot and that was that the pool was WAY too warm. All the guests were commenting on it and it was a little off putting to jump into such hot water. We live in Florida and have a pool so I know that full exposure to that Fl sun can warm them up but maybe they could add some cold water every now and then to keep the temperature down and the water healthier. Other than that this place was spot on. We will be back next year and most definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Beach front!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night on 7th July, got upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite. The rooms are really well furnished, if you were staying for a few days they'd be perfect and a nice touch to have a screened in balcony. Right on the beach, easy parking and a good family pool. Lisa who checked us in was really helpful. Only problem we had was the free bicycle use stopped at 5 p.m. and as we were only there for 1 night and didn't get there til 4 we had to enlist the help of Lisa to allow us to keep them after 5 without incurring the $25 late return fee. Pretty island, well worth a visit.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This place sits among a bunch of beachfront Sanibel Island resorts. It's very easily reached and the facilities are quite good. Service is excellent as any problem is addressed quickly. Good-sized pool. But I'll take the expansive beach anytime. Beach chairs and umbrellas are provided daily. If one is a shell fanatic, this is the place to start. Very good restaurant on the property. But many good eateries are a short drive away. Perfect location for those on bikes, too.

Room Tip: Book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanibel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.