We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanibel Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sanibel Inn to your Saves list
Sanibel Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Ocala
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Paradise!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We go to Sanibel Every year and have since our kids were little. We actually stayed at another one of the "Inns of Sanibel" hotels last year and LOVED it. To be honest I thought that was the one I was booking for this year. It wasn't until I double checked my reservations that I realized I had made a mistake. We were coming for 4th of July weekend so I knew everything would be booked. Upon check in we were a little disappointed with the proximity of the beach compared to the other hotel we thought we had booked but once we checked in we forgot all about it. This place was our own little piece of paradise. The beach was amazing and the amenities were fantastic. The staff was so nice and went out of their way to be accommodating. The hotel was sold out so it was a little crowded at times but when you were on the beach you would have never known it. Watching the fireworks from the beach was like having our own private show, no crowds to fight and no traffic to aggravate you and we could see fireworks from everywhere! The rooms were spotless and perfect. We used the grill every night and that was easy to use and very handy. My husband ate breakfast at the hotel and said it was fine although a little over priced for breakfast (but you are on an island so you expect higher prices). I only have one little issue that would have made this the PERFECT spot and that was that the pool was WAY too warm. All the guests were commenting on it and it was a little off putting to jump into such hot water. We live in Florida and have a pool so I know that full exposure to that Fl sun can warm them up but maybe they could add some cold water every now and then to keep the temperature down and the water healthier. Other than that this place was spot on. We will be back next year and most definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Beach front!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    294
    82
    36
    20
See reviews for
265
380
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night on 7th July, got upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite. The rooms are really well furnished, if you were staying for a few days they'd be perfect and a nice touch to have a screened in balcony. Right on the beach, easy parking and a good family pool. Lisa who checked us in was really helpful. Only problem we had was the free bicycle use stopped at 5 p.m. and as we were only there for 1 night and didn't get there til 4 we had to enlist the help of Lisa to allow us to keep them after 5 without incurring the $25 late return fee. Pretty island, well worth a visit.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This place sits among a bunch of beachfront Sanibel Island resorts. It's very easily reached and the facilities are quite good. Service is excellent as any problem is addressed quickly. Good-sized pool. But I'll take the expansive beach anytime. Beach chairs and umbrellas are provided daily. If one is a shell fanatic, this is the place to start. Very good restaurant on the property. But many good eateries are a short drive away. Perfect location for those on bikes, too.

Room Tip: Book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was our third vacation at Sanibel Inn and had a great experience. The staff are very friendly and the accommodations comfortable. Several issues with the room were fixed by the next day after being reported. Love the extras included in the price; bicycles, umbrellas, lounge chairs, shell cleaning table, grills to cook out, beach towels, butterfly garden, lovely landscaping, boardwalk to beach with easy access, outside rinse shower at end of beach boardwalk, and a view of the Gulf that is priceless. The swimming pool is well maintained. The Tiki Bar between the pool and boardwalk is a nice break from the heat. This resort is suitable for singles, newlyweds, couples, young families and old. Some people wrote less than good reviews. I suggest they should have discussed their issues with the staff and give them a chance to resolve. I do recommend the restaurant consider changing and increasing their menu to cater more to people with children. Overall, we had a great time. We will be back!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Terry R we are so excited that you are a loyal repeat guest and are grateful for the positive review. As far as the issues with your guest room I'm happy that we were able to resolve them in a timely manner but am embarrassed and sorry that they were present. Thank you for giving us the opporunity to correct them early in your stay!

We will be sharing your comments with our team so that we can celebrate the wins as well as take advantage of the opportunities that you have presented us to improve our product and services. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolling stone!
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We scheduled a last minute weekend in Sanibel and thanks to trip advisor ( and availability) we booked a room with sanibel inn. We were requesting 2 beds versus the single king since it was my sister and I each with our little girls . Much to our pleasant surprise we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom condo which worked out perfectly! The rooms were large, clean, and each with nice sized bathrooms . The master and living room had ocean views. The full kitchen made things incredibly easy especially with kids. Eating out for every meal would have been a nightmare.
So with everything, there are pros and cons ...
The cons : not the most modern , and the restaurant at the inn leaves much to be desired.
The pros : great beach access , ocean views, great customer service, extremely family friendly .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your candid review! We are so glad that you could get away for a last minute getaway and were able to experience our condos. We pride ourselves on our family friendly atmosphere great service and amazing destination! Thank you for your stay and for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va. Beach
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

All rooms have a beach view. There are not many resorts that have this. Did I mention they have a pool that faces the ocean too. Sanibel Inn's staff is so nice and helpful. My only complaint is that you can here the people upstairs and downstairs at times. But by the end of a sunny beach day you are out like a light.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We appreciate your comment Megs687 and are glad that you were so happy that not only enjoyed our location, team, and views! Looking forward to your return to paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravensthorpe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Never having visited Sanibel before, we looked at so many options before we made our decision on where to stay, as we wanted easy/close beach access, a nice family friendly pool, fairly short distance to the town and restaurants, and a restaurant/bar onsite but with our own catering facilities too. This place delivered, and the extra resort facilities included in the price (bikes, beach toys and loungers, kayaks etc) -unlike other places - were a bonus. Unfortunately whilst the onsite restaurant food was OK, it really lacked atmosphere (what an odd building?!) but the beach bar was great, and all the staff we met were unfailing friendly and attentive, you felt very well looked after indeed. For us the big surprise was the size and quality of our apartment, a very large 2 bed 2 bath, with very large indoor and outdoor lounge and dining areas, and a full service kitchen with laundry, all very nicely furnished indeed - this was more than we expected to be honest, and ideal for a family, we were expecting more of a 'hotel room plus'. Its a shame that on Sanibel you have to make something of a choice between being near the beach and very near the restaurants of the Main Street - great onsite restaurants seem hard to find, even more so those with a nice location/outlook over the water - a shame, particularly when the welcome lack of streetlights makes walking far in the evening tricky - but this was certainly not enough to spoil our lovely 5 night stay - we will certainly be back if we return to Florida.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Kierenandalice we are so glad that you did your homework, listed your criteria and found all that you needed in Sanibel Inn! We take great pride in our product, service, and Sanibel's natural environment which is the reason for the lack of lighting on the island, particularly during turtle nesting season which happens to be during the time of your visit! Hoping that you return to Florida and Sanibel Inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanibel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;