We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family friendly hotel with Ocean view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanibel Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sanibel Inn to your Saves list
Sanibel Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice family friendly hotel with Ocean view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We very much enjoyed or stay at this hotel during our 4th July vacation.
Kids loved Shell fishing at Beach. Nice ocean front rooms with fridge.
Good service at pool bar that will carry umbrellas and chairs to Beach for you. Water is not crystal clear so snorkling is not possible.
Getting around:
Do not miss renting a bike for free at hotel and drive the Island.
Plenty of small restaurants around, reachable by bike/car. Do expect to book table from 6pm.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    337
    105
    42
    24
See reviews for
299
438
17
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Sanibel Inn over Labor Day weekend and were extremely impressed with everything about the resort. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. They called us to check on us periodically and were always smiling and willing to help in any way. Our room was decorated nicely, was clean, and smelled good. I wish that I could have taken the bed home with me since it was soooo comfortable. We had a screened in porch with a view of the garden, pool, and ocean in the distance. There is a restaurant on the property which has great service and serves great food as well! We attended a wedding at another, more expensive, resort on Sanibel Island and much preferred Sanibel Inn's atmosphere to the other. It felt very quaint and homely and all of the other visitors were happy and friendly as well. We will return to Sanibel Inn without a single thought about trying another resort in the future. It was fabulous!!!

DK

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great little place, we got a room facing the Gulf and enjoyed the view every morning with a cup of coffee on the balcony, before going out to the beach. The attendant set up the lounge chairs with a large umbrella on the beach as I watched my wife look for shells. Lots and lots of shells. The sand is white and not hot. Easy to find as it is at the end of the causeway. I will be returning.

Room Tip: The "Periwinkle" building is at the end and quiet and has nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viera, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good amenities,(tiki bar and restaurant). Older hotel but renovated nicely. Very short walk to quiet beach. Beach umbrellas, lounge chairs and Bikes included. Great service and clean.
Wish I could find hotels with two pools, one for adults and one for the children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was the first stop on our no-frills honeymoon, and a great choice for the money. The basic rooms are nothing to shout about, but they have these comfortable screened-in porches that are perfect for relaxing with a (complimentary) NY Times, and morning coffee. We were aiming to spend our days outside, and the beach-side location, decent pool, and free bike and kayak rentals were extremely convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great location to discover sanibel
Ocean views rooms are nice and large, the beach is beautiful
This hotel could be a paradise with a little bit of update (bathrooms for exemple, also Tiki bar needs new tables and chairs and some paints and that would be perfect )
Prices are not cheap for a room and a very short stay between a check in at 4 pm and a check out at 11 am with staff knocking at 10 : 30 to clean the room,
But we really liked it ,Thanks for this nice stay on the beach

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We live in Fort Myers and needed a getaway....we stayed for 3 days at the Sanibel Inn. The room was great, clean and new with a great view. We stayed on the second floor beach front! This was off season so we did not expect everything would be open...the only suggestions would be: Raise the level of customer excellence by....making sure all beach chairs and umbrellas are plentiful and ready for guests...have them set up on the beach! The pool bar is very uncomfortable, seats were too high.....I would have liked to "hang out" there but instead we ventured off to other local hotels for happy hour(s)....We would recommend but I am looking for that customer service experience to bring me back.....

Room Tip: Dolphin Building, Beach Front, 2nd Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanibel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.