We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply put ... relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanibel Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sanibel Inn to your Saves list
Sanibel Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Hudson, OH
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply put ... relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Recently visited March 17-21, 2013 and had a great time! Property grounds were beautifully in bloom and quiet. Staff made us feel comfortable, and we enjoyed our stay. Loved the bikes and the screened in porch. Great location on Sanibel Island. Can't wait to return next year!

Room Tip: We could see the ocean from the first floor, but view would be better on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    311
    85
    37
    20
See reviews for
272
405
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Loved the inn and it's friendly staff. Nice to have bicycle rentals and screened-in balconies. The pool was very warm and enjoyable. This was a benefit as there was no hot tub. Easy access as it was right on the beach with it's own boardwalk. The perfect family atmosphere. No college party goers here! Would go back in a heart beat. Only downfall and, it is due to health regulations, is that it cannot offer plates, cutlery, dish soap, towels etc.... It does offer a microwave, refridgerator and Keurig.

Room Tip: Ask for beachfront and get up early as the location of this inn is facing east for sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Sanibel Inn. The room was clean and bright with an ocean view. The greatest selling point is the screen porch facing the ocean. We kept our sliding door open all night so that we could hear the ocean while we slept. We ate on the porch every morning. We had our 16-month-old daughter with us, so we had to stay in the room while she took her afternoon nap. We were so happy that we could have a beautiful view and enjoy the ocean even from within our room. In the morning, it was easy to walk outside to the beautiful beach and enjoy the many birds, seashells, and dolphins just outside our door. We were also very happy to have a coffee machine, refrigerator, and microwave for preparing small meals and snacks in our room. The maid service was excellent.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The only drawbacks were the hotel restaurant; it's a beautiful building, but the food quality (at least for breakfast) leaves something to be desired. We also wished that we could walk rather than drive to shopping and restaurants, but this seems uncommon on the island no matter where you stay. Other than this, the location was excellent and the room was wonderful. We had a peaceful vacation and only wish that we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a great resort. A little pricey however the rooms and grounds are spectacular. We loved that you could use the hotel's bicycles to explore the Island. Beach was beautiful and beach chairs were also included in the room cost. Hotel was located in a great part of Sanibel Island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in one of the one bedroom units overlooking the pool and beach. The unit was a little dated but was everything we wanted. The pool was heated and never full. Don't expect to swim in the ocean... cool and not clear. The hotel restaurant was reasonable for the island ...not fast mind you...but the food was always good. Make sure you go early to get a bike.. they go fast. The bike riding was easy and you could cover the entire island. Staff was friendly and always helpfull.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Inn. The location is nice, view of the Gulf from our comfortably sized room was nice, appreciated the screened porch. Enjoyed the pool, nice size and temperature. Inn was quiet, parking is easy, food at the restaurant was good except that an item priced at $10 on our in-room menu, and $12 on the in-restaurant menu, cost me $14 when I got it for lunch; very weird. Room was clean, bed a bit too firm for our taste, Staff was very friendly, plenty of places nearby to walk to, short walk to the beach, bikes available to ride. Maybe a tad pricey but not outrageous. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Wonderful spot to go for getting away from the cold weather! Everything you need to feel relaxed and have fun is here. Nice location on Sanibel, as it is away from the busiest part of the island. We were in one of the condos, and had every convenience - one comment would be to have a little more in the way of equipment/furnishings in the kitchen. Appliances were very clean and in perfect working order. Lovely garden area, which added to the whole experience. Short walkway to a beautiful beach, just beyond the pool area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanibel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.