We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went back it was sooooo goood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes - CLOSED

Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes
2003 Periwinkle Way, Tahitian Gardens Plaza, Sanibel Island, FL 33957 (Formerly Dolce Tesoro)
+1 239-262-5184
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Description: Sanibel/Captiva's exclusive gourmet cupcake shop. Choose from a variety of cupcake flavors baked daily. Let us provide gourmet cupcakes for your birthdays, weddings, anniversary, parties, and special events. Featuring LavAzza, Italy's number 1 best selling coffee and espresso. Also serving Queenie's all natural ice cream, the island's most loved ice cream. Open daily 10 am until 6 pm.
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Went back it was sooooo goood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were shopping because it was a cold day. Stopped in here. Only had 4 cupcakes left. We bought 2 and were given a coupon to use the next day. The next day was rainy so we went shelling and shopping and stopped in here. The Sea Salt caramel was fabulous. We got 5 and they were scarfed up in no time. Delicious and decadent is all I can say!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We are sorry we were "short" on cupcakes during your first visit but we are so glad you came back again! Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    34
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful cupcakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

So many different choices, can't go wrong with any of them. Family of seven, all chose different cupcakes, everyone loved them. Thank you so much, highly recommend, very friendly and helpful service. Thanks again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Wow! We are so pleased that everyone in your group enjoyed their cupcake! Thank you for your kind words of praise regarding our customer service and for the high recommendation. Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
496 helpful votes 496 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and excellent cupcakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

There was a really good selection of cupcakes when we visited. I chose the salted caramel and the key lime cupcakes. Both were delicious and the frosting was just the right consistency - nit too heavy or cloying.

What impressed me most was the service. I asked for two hot teas and the owner very quickly offered milk as opposed to creM. He had clearly picked up on the UK accent.

The cupcakes were transported in upturned plastic cups which meant they arrived safely at the destination. This was a stroke of genius in my opinion.

I was extremely impressed and will most certainly be returning again soon.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review....especially for recognizing us for our customer service. Our goal is to give each of our customers a great experience and we love to hear when we have succeeded!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro nc
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I guess I expected something amazing to happen when I walked into the #1 establishment, but it was only ok. I have had much more flavorful lattes in NC and the cupcakes were good and creative but nothing out of this world. The icing wasn't my favorite, a little greasy, but the cake was tasty and I did enjoy the key lime filling. I will say the owner was extremely engaging.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We are sorry that your trip to Simply Cupcakes did not live up to your expectations. We always tell our customers that we will replace anything they are not pleased with and we wish you would have let us know about your latte and your disappointment with our cupcakes. We hope you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to "do better next time" and have the same wonderful experience so many of our customers/reviewers have had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
1 review
“Quick stop for ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Super great ice cream, awesome looking cupcakes (although I didn't try one), and extremely friendly staff! Over all a great experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva1959, Owner at Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your experience at Simply Cupcakes and found our ice cream so good. We hope you will visit again soon and try some cupcakes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolce Tesoro - Simply Cupcakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.