We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George & Wendy's Sanibel Seafood Grille

George & Wendy's Sanibel Seafood Grille
2499 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
239-395-1263
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Expensive but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a nice restaurant, the food was good, our waiter was very attentive, and everybody (including the kids) enjoyed it. The food was definitely expensive, but on Sanibel Island, I guess that goes with the territory. I would go back and eat here again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    414
    212
    87
    30
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The food was delicious. Our boys had the crab legs. The atmosphere was so nice. We had great service and the restaurant is decorated very pretty inside.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average overpriced place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went to George & Wendy's our first night in Sanibel. Food was average and overpriced. Service was okay, we had Fernando, he remembered all the specials and could recite them to us, but could not remember a to-go cup, my husband's cole slaw that was ordered, etc. I guess a lot of places in Sanibel are pricier, but I would have been just as happy eating at the DQ up the street for 1/4 the price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Won't be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The food and atmosphere was amazing but our service was awful! We had torry and he was awful! He seemed out of it and not sure what was going on... won't be back because of him

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana, United States
1 review
“New for us.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have been to Sanibel numerous times over the years and never noticed George and Wendy's. We are glad we finally did. Great food and service. We sat in the bar area, watched baseball and had grouper bites, shrimp( peel and eat), and a fabulous salad with shrimp. It was excellent. Wish Sanibel was not a Pepsi island though. We will return to George and Wendy's.
We were with our adult sons.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George & Wendy's Sanibel Seafood Grille also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to George & Wendy's Sanibel Seafood Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George & Wendy's Sanibel Seafood Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.