We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanibel Moorings

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sanibel Moorings to your Saves list
Sanibel Moorings
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   845 East Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We just spent another blissful end-of-January week at Sanibel Moorings--our fifth visit. What a great place! The complex is right on both the beach and canal docks. The beach is beautiful with miles of sand, gently lapping waves and sea shells galore. The grounds are idyllic, meticulously maintained and loaded with horticultural beauty and interest. We took the garden tour and later accompanied the grounds-keeper as he picked and gave us star fruit! Our condo was immaculate, with all the conveniences--full-size refrigerator, oven, microwave, dishwasher, wide-screen TVs with cable, DVD players (a large DVD lending library in the office rents DVDs for a dollar a day) and wireless connectivity. New stainless steel barbecue grills, each with its own box garden filled with ready-to-pick herbs, are in the central garden. A coin-operated laundry is in the center of the complex. Our two kids (ages 8 and 9) enjoyed hour upon hour in the huge heated pool. The staff and other vacationers are welcoming. Kayaks and bicycles are available for a nominal rental. Bicycle paths abound. Take a bus tour of the nearby nature preserve, and be surrounded by every imaginable species of bird, with a well-informed guide to tell you what you're seeing. (Lewis was awesome.) The complex office is run with the precision of a cesium clock. A variety of restaurants are nearby. The rates are very reasonable. Can it get any better? --The James Mumma Family

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    59
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
157
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a beautifully appointed condo close to the pool and the beach. Enjoyed having a screened in porch for morning coffee. The kitchen was well equiped. Having beach chairs, chaises, umbrellas, and bicycles was great! The only bummer was the no-see-ums. You need to be sure to bring beach shoes and insect repellent with DEET, although they do sell it at the office (where the staff was fabulous).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowstone
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We rented a 3 bedroom unit and worked out great. This unit was just across the street from the rest of the complex and the beach. Rooms were a little dated but clean. Great place to go for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were at the Moorings Dec 19 to Dec 31, 2012
Our Unit was #1121, 2 B/B, ground floor, with direct Gulf view. It was a perfect location.

The reception office personnel were friendly, but not entirely "engaged"...think Christmas/holiday preoccupation.

These buildings are quite old...upwards of 40 years, I was told. Many families have a yearly tradition of happily returning to this property.

The beach is wonderful...and indeed shell-covered! Sunrise/sunsets are spectacular. The beach lounge chairs are adequate in number when not confiscated by the neighboring resort. Each condo is charged a $40 "resort fee", so this should be monitored somehow. "No-seeums" are everywhere,..even indoors, but that's par for a beach location.

I agree with Shelly K regarding absence of the items I usually found in past vacation rentals. The entire unit was very clean....just tired.

Our unit had living room furniture which was comfortable, but old and dreary and a TV which frequently went "black"

The small bedroom was attractively furnished and had a nice wall mounted TV. That bath was attractively painted/ cute shower curtain and mat. It had a tub and hand shower.

The Master bedroom was indeed sad. Drapes and coverlet were a dingy brown. The walls were only a tad lighter.That bath was a sort of plastic "box" with a door and hand shower. No bath mat. The ceiling was peeling. Otherwise, it was very clean.

All beds were comfortable. A/C fine.

The drapes were sheers and in good condition. There was beige shag carpeting throughout, while old, seemed quite clean. There was ceramic floor tile in the kitchen/nook area.

The kitchen was galley-style with older fridge, stove and dishwasher...all of which were serviceable.. Dishes and silverware/cooking utensils were adequate.

The WiFi was fine and easy to access.

The pool was clean, but very small considering the size of this property. It was heated which was great on chilly days. Sadly, it was much too small for the number of guests present and it was also frequented by "non-guests". The pool is surrounded by walls of other buildings which shelter it from the wind. Again a good thing during our visit.

The adjoining "kiddie" pool was too small for anything but the smallest 2 or 3 toddlers...who seemed to prefer the big pool with their parents.

The grounds are neat and well-kept, but nothing spectacular.

The lanai view saved this unit IMHO. The lanai was screened-in and had a great view of the Gulf. It had two plastic chairs and table and a "drying" rack. The sliding doors didn't "slide" easily. I was told the entire complex would have the doors replaced this year.

I did preview this unit on the website. It looked great. I agree with others that it was not at all up to the usual standards of the price range. I completed and turned in the evaluation form we were given.

I might return to this property due to it's wonderful location but would not use this unit again.

Room Tip: It is definitely a View VS Value decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay the week of Christmas in 2012. The unit was clean, nicely furnished and decorated and generally well maintained. The location was excellent, with very good beach access and proximity to the main strip for dining and shopping. However, for the price, the level of service and property management practices were odd to say the least. I didn't expect the unit to be cleaned (it wasn't), and I guess I can understand the office closing early on Christmas Eve, and not being open on Christmas - though perhaps being completely closed from 2:00 on the 24th through the 25th is a bit much for a high season period. This was problematic because they don't provide beach or pool towels except from the front desk - which was closed the for the afternoon and first full day of our stay. But stranger still was the lack of basic supplies. The kitchen, was well stocked with pots and pans, plates and utensils, but had no supplies whatsoever. I've stayed in a lot of medium and high end house and condo rentals all around the US, and have never been in one before that didn't even have salt or pepper or a sponge. There was soap in the bathrooms, but no shampoo. The tissue and toilet paper was industrial grade. There was no communication of these atypical management practices in advance, so we didn't come prepared, and had to pay very high convenience store prices to supply ourselves for our stay. Also - the unit was right on the road, which would have been nice to know in the rental description. It really wasn't a problem, as the roads are not heavily traveled, but for the price, it would have been nice to know. That said - the place was very nice, the people were very pleasant and, had we known to expect the relatively low level of service provision (to be clear - not bad service, just a low level of planned service), we would have been fine with it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My family and I have been visiting the Sanibel Moorings for years. The condo is fully fuctional as your own home would be. The staff is very friendly and very accomodating.
We always get a room on the ocean and it is clean and comfortable. It is very common to see Dolphin swiming in the ocean right next to you. The Moorings offer a great value.
They have movies to rent at the front desk, complimentary bikes to use and kayaks.
Don't miss out!

Room Tip: My only suggestion is to view the room online with the tour first, not all rooms are as up to date.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Sanibel Moorings itself is a great place. The location is great: all restaurants are within 5-10 minutes, the beach is right outside your door, there are docks for small boats, and it is extremely quiet. The grounds are well maintained every day and the rooms are kept as clean as humanly possible.

The downside (and reason I can't give it 5 stars) is that you just don't know what to expect from each individual unit. Our apartment was spotless but there were several things that I fault the owner for. The twin beds were hard as rocks (yet the king was soft and comfortable). The fridge was very old and it didn't keep the fish cold enough causing me to get sick the next day. Again, these are minor things but when for $400 a night (tax and activity fee included) I expect perfection.

Nonetheless, I highly recommend this place. The views are great (on either side of the road) and you will be on Sanibel beach in a minute or two. The grounds are extremely clean and the cleaning service is great. Just don't expect it to be like a hotel where they clean your room every day and make the beds (they don't).

TLDR: Great apartments, great location, good value. Your experience will depend on which room you rent (some are probably kept better than others). I had some minor faults with our apartment but I would return there.

Room Tip: Look at pictures of the actual room on their website before you book. Either side is perfectly fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanibel Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Moorings

Address: 845 East Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Moorings 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel’s only Botanical Garden with six acres of lush, tropical gardens located between the Gulf of Mexico and the canals of the back bay. 1, 2 & 3 bedroom beachfront fully furnished and equipped condominium suite rentals daily, weekly & monthly. 2 heated swimming pools, 2 tennis courts, wireless internet, boat dockage, canoeing & kayaking, DVD and bicycle rentals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sanibel Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Moorings Hotel Sanibel Island
Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanibel Moorings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.