We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 1st stay & hope to be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanibel Moorings

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sanibel Moorings to your Saves list
Sanibel Moorings
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   845 East Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent 1st stay & hope to be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We joined our son on his vac at the Moorings, and found the property & loc to be excellent and echoed what other reviewers have said.
It was very quiet in early Dec, we do know that in season it would be busier esp around the pools. Here's a summary of some pertinent details:
- Condo's loc & amenities are excellent (years ago we stayed at another smaller condo complex with less amenities).
On 1 side is the Gulf beach, and the other side is the canal (good for boating or fishing).
- Main pool was suitable for lap swimming.
- 1-BR condo units: #1442 (Dock View) had bigger LR & BR,
vs. #211 (Courtyard View). Not sure if that's standard for condos on the Dock side (a short walk to beach, really no issue at all).
Screened porch is a real good place to relax.
- #211's mattress was too soft for me (not enough lower back support).
However it was not worth switching since just 3 nts stay, and the mattress was fine for my husband.
- Our son thought #211 had a mildew-y smell, might be due to ground floor/more damp loc?
- Wi-fi was fine in condo units, but very slow at the Conference Center.
- Enjoyed kayaking on the canal, esp excited when a dolphin swam by & lingered in 1 area for multiple sightings.
- However 1 real downside is there is no help wrt kayak/canoe launching or docking,
which required unlocking the boats/dragging it down (or back up) to the dock's steps,
and needing to carefully secure/balance boats when getting in & out.
This is not nec easy for novice boaters or for older guests to master.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    75
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
197
84
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were very impressed by the Moorings. Comfortable appt, you can book servicing if you wish. Towel swap daily, our condo was well equipped & spacious. Good facilities & plenty of beach chairs & umbrellas.Excellent location, right on the beach, do book a sea view if you can,it's magical.We would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My family has stayed at Sanibel Moorings multiple times in the last fifteen years, most recently in November 2012. It has a gorgeous location right on the beach, well-tended grounds, great pools, and the units are always super clean. Very welcoming for families. Our only complaint is that while the buildings are pretty soundproofed for voices and tv noise, you can hear water running (flushing toilets, showers, etc.) in neighboring units. We bring earplugs for sleeping. Even so, we would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This complex is right on the beach, our condominium was fantastic with microwave,dishwasher,blenders, etc etc. the staff here are very inviting and helpful we arrived early but they allowed us to check in as our room was ready also as our flight home was an evening flight we asked if we could check out later this again was no problem. we chose a condominium because we did not want to be disturbed by maids etc wanting to service rooms plus we liked the idea of being able to rest at the end of a busy day on a sofa instead of sitting on a bed to watch tv, this was truly a fantastic holiday and would return in a heartbeat

Room Tip: If you have the budget secure a beach view room although some of the garden views are also very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place has very nice grounds. It is located right on the beach and has plush grounds with a huge variety of plants. They even have a little tour weekly to show it off. Very nice. The beach is gorgeous. Our unit was a little dated but just fine. Comfortable beds and a funky towel program where you bring your towels to an office for exchange. No big deal.
I would go here again as it offers good value for the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

First off, we had a fantastic time here and loved it. I would come back in a heartbeat. We even extended our stay. But be aware, it's a condo, not a hotel. So, they don't make the beds or clean the rooms, etc. You can change your towels if you bring them to the office. If you want amenities, maybe choose a resort or hotel. Also be aware, Sanibel is pretty quiet and tranquil. If you want nightlife, choose another destination.

For us, it was perfect. It was like having a home away from home. 2 minutes walk to the beach - and it's a short drive to anywhere on the island. No restaurant in walking distance, but 5 minutes drive to several and a grocery store. The grounds are gorgeous, with tropical trees and plants. The room was clean, quiet, and air conditioned. We went to the beach every day and collected shells, swam, walked, and relaxed. Fantastic trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sanibel Moorings for two weeks in October 2012.  This was a very special holiday for us, as we were very stressed following two family bereavements.  The Moorings did not disappoint.  The setting for these condos is glorious.  The gardens are a delight -  beautifully designed and maintained, with all the specimens of trees and plants identified and labelled.  You can even do a botanical tour.  All the facilities were well run and explained, without the need for dozens of warnings and signs everywhere (which is the tendency in the UK). Our condo was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and well equipped.  You have to pay a lot more for a gulf view, but as we were on the beach every day, this was not a priority for us and we were quite content with our private, courtyard-view condo.  The staff in the office were very attentive to our needs.  We rented cycles used the laundry and made good use of the beach furniture. Sanibel Moorings is a very calm and tranquil base for a holiday.  We were there out of season, so maybe it can be busy and noisier at other times. But it is designed in such a way that you can be private and solitary if that is what you want.  We did not use the pools; preferring to swim in the sea and watch the birds, but they are clearly a very attractive amenity for families. The dockside condos were also very pleasant and kayaks were available for rent. There are several outdoor grills and Timbers fish market has an impressive range of fresh fish to cook on them. Sanibel is a magical place and we shall treasure our memories of a lovely stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sanibel Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Moorings

Address: 845 East Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Moorings 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel’s only Botanical Garden with six acres of lush, tropical gardens located between the Gulf of Mexico and the canals of the back bay. 1, 2 & 3 bedroom beachfront fully furnished and equipped condominium suite rentals daily, weekly & monthly. 2 heated swimming pools, 2 tennis courts, wireless internet, boat dockage, canoeing & kayaking, DVD and bicycle rentals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sanibel Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Moorings Hotel Sanibel Island
Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanibel Moorings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.