We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only good things to say here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanibel Moorings

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sanibel Moorings to your Saves list
Sanibel Moorings
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   845 East Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Osage Beach, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Only good things to say here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This place was fantastic. Great location, amazing view, wonderful staff, etc. etc. etc! Sanibel Moorings is right on the beach... extremely fast and easy walk to the sand. Beach chairs and umbrellas are provided for free use. The unit we stayed in was extremely clean and well decorated and had everything we needed. We were in a "Gulf Front" room which we highly recommend for the view. Top floor is even better so you can see out further. The staff was extremely accommodating and friendly! We had a special request since we were closing on a house back in Missouri and needed a notary. Karri was able to do this for us for no fee and was extremely nice and helpful in helping us get that done. The staff truly wants you to enjoy your stay and are more than happy and ready with a smile to help make it happen.

The beach was very nice! We found lots of shells and enjoyed walking along the shoreline. If you walk about a mile and half mile to the left you will be at the Sanibel Lighthouse. Other notes: tropical flowers and trees are along the grounds (beautiful), there is a conference room with computers, and we had a good time in the pool as well!

Highly recommend this place for a nice, peaceful, relaxing stay on Sanibel Island.

Room Tip: Top floor (2nd story) has a better view and Gulf Front has the best and unobstructed view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    67
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
174
71
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I haven't even been back from Sanibel for 24 hours and we are already planning our next trip! We stayed for a week at Sanibel Moorings and decided that next year we will stay for at least 10 days.
This was my third trip to Sanibel and my third time at Sanibel Moorings - it had been about 20 years since my last vacation to Sanibel Moorings and it was just as remarkable (if not more) as I remember as a child.
It has by far the most attractive grounds in all of Sanibel and Captiva - absolutely gorgeous and meticulously taken care of. We were fortunate enough to see vegetation and flowers that are from other parts of the world. The office had ripe mangoes for us to take that were from trees on the property.
We used the free kayaks offered by Sanibel Moorings to explore the canals one morning - it was so peaceful and calm as we paddled down mangrove-lined canals. We saw so much wildlife up close and personal that we cancelled our kayak tour at J Ding Darling Nature Preserve!
Our room was extremely clean and well kept - we had a great view of the gulf. I am already missing my morning coffee on the screened in porch. The office staff was always friendly and willing to help us in anyway that they could, offering great advice and suggestions for our trip

We can't wait to return next year!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This condo was a perfect getaway to spend time on the beach. Comfortable, cozy, convenient kitchen. I'st just the home away from home. Ideal for spending a week next to the beach. Not too crowded, the complex provides chairs and umbrellas, the sand is superfine, sea is shallow for a long way. You can walk on the beach mornings and evenings when the sun is not too hot, this was our favorite, one day we could see manatees and a dolphin swimming nearby. Restaurants abound, also 2 large grocery stores for snacks or smaller meals at home. Got very sad when had to leave.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Set in pretty gardens, Sanibel Moorings is perfect for a laid back holiday. We had a one bed condo with a partial gulf view. It was clean and perfectly fine with a lanai, kitchen, sitting area and bedroom. Bathroom was on the small side but not a problem. The bed was large and very comfortable. Everything was clean and well thought out. When we visited it was very quiet and peaceful. A nice pool area with loungers. It seemed earlier issue of lack of loungers have been resolved as we didn't have a problem. You do have to take them to the beach yourself though and return them.
Bike hire was easy and there were a few complimentary kayaks to take out around the inland waters which was a nice touch and very enjoyable.



Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north rustico pe canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

To kick back and relax. Our one week stay in May this year was everything we had hoped for and more. Our two bedroom unit was beautiful and spotless when we arrived. My husband and I were told by a local last year that the Moorings is where they would stay if they were a vacationer. We were of course staying at another location at the time. We went to see the Moorings and were absolutely blown away by the beautiful botanical gardens and nestled in amongst all this beauty are the condos. Our condo had a view of the water and on the other patio the pool. We felt the best of two worlds. The beach, the pool, the quiet evenings, the sun filled days, the friendly staff (thanks Bill, you are the best!) and the gardens made our stay just perfect so we will be back in October to spend two weeks more in this lovely setting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I knew by the reviews that this place would be nice - but this was an absolute pleasure! Our unit was a short walk past the pool to the ocean where beach chairs and umbrellas were made available to us at no cost. Our "room" (1-Br apartment really) was fantastic! Free internet to boot. Oh - and the grounds are AMAZING - we had a mango tree right outside of our door - awesome!

I'm a huge pain in the rump and this place was just perfect. See you again soon Sanibel Moorings.

PS - I found a boatload of shells - a word of advice - bring a small bottle of bleach to soak these things - the newly vacated shells STINK to high-heaven! lol.

Room Tip: I don't know if they also own units across the street - but we were on the ocean side and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shreveport
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We came to Sanibel last May but stayed at a different property. Now we have found the place we will continue to return to. And this time stay 2 weeks vs one! This place is beautiful with lush gardens. We have enoyed the mango tree right outside our door with fresh fruit dropping every day. The ammenities are very good and all is well taken care of. This week has been quiet which is a real plus. So very relaxing at this property. The staff is helpful and very pleasant. The free canoes and kayaks are convenient to paddle through the waterways . Bike riding is excellent with bikes to rent on the property . This week has gone by too fast and I look forward to 2 weeks next year here at Sanibel Moorings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanibel Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Moorings

Address: 845 East Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Moorings 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel’s only Botanical Garden with six acres of lush, tropical gardens located between the Gulf of Mexico and the canals of the back bay. 1, 2 & 3 bedroom beachfront fully furnished and equipped condominium suite rentals daily, weekly & monthly. 2 heated swimming pools, 2 tennis courts, wireless internet, boat dockage, canoeing & kayaking, DVD and bicycle rentals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sanibel Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Moorings Hotel Sanibel Island
Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanibel Moorings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.