We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good ice cream and gellato” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PocoLoco

PocoLoco
1700 Periwinkle Way, Unit 9, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
(239) 395-0290
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good ice cream and gellato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The ice cream they have is very good. They have many different flavors. They also have coffee and sandwiches.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSanibel, Owner at PocoLoco, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time and giving us a terrific review.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    31
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Very good sorbet, but miss the gelato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We are from the North (NY) but visit Sanibel at least once a year. We discovered the most delicious gelato we've ever tasted when we visited in February 2012 and vowed to return for more. However, we returned about 12 months later (today) only to find that the gelato has been discontinued. That is a shame for those who weren't able to try it. Not sure why they decided to go with the local ice cream instead. To me, ice cream is everywhere, but gelato is not. Perhaps because it's in a bit of a touristy area, the regular tourists don't appreciate gelato and only want ice cream--not sure. In any event, we tried the sorbet instead--it was very good, particularly the mango flavor. The service I thought was excellent--the young man who waited on us was the same one from a year ago, and he was very patient and courteous throughout and thanked us several times and also asked if after we were finished if we had enjoyed the desserts. That was a nice touch and usually doesn't happen.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSanibel, Owner at PocoLoco, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We liked having the gelato but many customers didn't know what it was and with a 2-3 week turnaround it was difficult during "season." The Love Boat ice cream is made by some friends (and neighbors) about five miles away and has been a Lee County staple for forty years.
Thanks again,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Crazy expensive!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We went to this place with my two kids - 3&5. They both had one scoop of ice cream. For 10$!!!!
Little Portions totally overpriced.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSanibel, Owner at PocoLoco, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Actually our small is three scoops, not one, and we do have an up charge for the large waffle cone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Dessert in the evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

This place was our choice twice when we were looking for a spot to get a little dessert after dinner. Both times we opted for the gelato. The flavors are interesting and the serving sizes are HUGE - I could barely finish a small. The first time my lemon custard flavor was good, but tonight's vanilla tasted a bit stale. Both times the counter staff were very pleasant, and it's a nice atmosphere. I think the issue is, as others have suggested, how long the product is being kept in the freezer. I do believe the answer is sometimes too long. With a little more attention to this issue it could be a nice option when in the mood for a frozen treat. And, they're open till 9 p.m.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSanibel, Owner at PocoLoco, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
We're very sorry for your experience. A superior quality product is very important to us and I believe you had the problem as we were transitioning from gelato to locally made ice cream. I wish you had brought your objection up when you visited our shop and I can assure you that our staff would have handled the problem to your satisfaction.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Icy Gelato”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Although the store itself was nicely designed and comfortable, certainly more elegant than Pinocchio's down the road, the gelato was icy. They have a large selection of gelato and a friendly staff. The large selection may contribute to the iciness because too much sits in the coolers for too long. I had the chocolate espresso bean gelato, which lacked flavor (save for the beans themselves) and was, as mentioned, icy. Icy too was my wife's latte gelato.

The gelato my kids had (mint and creamsicle) was not quite as icy, and they certainly enjoyed it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PocoLoco also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to PocoLoco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PocoLoco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.