We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Atmosphere and great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenhouse Grill

Greenhouse Grill
2407 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-3218
239.472.6882
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Grimes, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
“Quaint Atmosphere and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our first trip to Sanibel Island, and we were ecstatic to find the Greenhouse Grill for dinner! The pasta and steak were excellent! We had a lovely bottle of wine. The service was great! We will be sure to make this an annual visit each year!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    371
    96
    53
    32
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a lovely lunch at the Greenhouse Grill today, consistent with our years of experience at this restaurant. The pasta special included artichokes and other vegetables in a lovely white wine sauce. The staff was friendly and the service was prompt but not rushed. Earlier in the week, we had a great dinner, complete with kumquat pie, one of my favorite desserts of all time. We visit Greenhouse Grill on every visit to Sanibel and are never disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Worth a Visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We went based on the good reviews we had read, but this was not our experience. Our appetizer (shrimp bruschetta) bore no relationship to a bruschetta I have ever eaten. Crumbled pieces of stale bread mixed in a soup with frozen shrimp. The veal was tasteless and the only flavor on the plate was that of burned roasted potatoes and singed vegetables. The hostess who greeted us was surly and once we were seated never returned to the table to check on us or the food. She was either staring into space or snacking. The waitress was slow, brought the appetizer to the table before the bread which arrived mid-meal and, despite empty water glasses on the table, asked us if she should refill our glasses. And this place is not inexpensive! There are far better places (many with unwarranted lower ratings) in Sanibel. Try them.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Favorite Restaurant in Sanibel!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I couldn’t agree more with everyone who has posted GREAT comments about this restaurant! We found this place back in 2011 and try to get there at least twice every year we come to Sanibel. The food and service are excellent !!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Would not recommend to my worst enemy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I attended Greenhouse Grill with 13 of my family members. We were the only people in the entire restaurant so the staff should have been unburdened and able to show me and my family the utmost care. However, my family was greeted by a sullen and unenthusiastic staff who acted like they had better things to do. Our waitress was slow and quiet to such a point we could not understand what she was saying. The manager glared at our family and the children present with an obvious look of condemnation anytime our voices were raised above a peep. Not unlike what you would expect from an elderly librarian. Keep in mind that with as large as a 14 person bill would be at an expensive restaurant we were leaving a tip of over 100$! Now that i have elaborated on the service, let me move onto the food. Amazingly it was worse than the service! My raviolis were submersed in a sauce which tasted like half and half cream mixed with a abominable amount of Italian seasonings. The raviolis themselves had clearly been pre-frozen. The theme of over seasoned food was present for the entire family who found themselves gagging on extreme amounts of thyme, rosemary, and garlic. The best food we received that night was our bread, and the best service was our drinks being correct. I can find no positives in this establishment and am writing on this website for the first time merely for the purpose of saving the readers of this review a disappointing evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenhouse Grill also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Greenhouse Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenhouse Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.