We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinning experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenhouse Grill

Greenhouse Grill
2407 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-3218
239.472.6882
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Mattawan, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Great dinning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This dinner was easily the best we have had on Sanibel. When we got there, the restaurant was full, but we had reservations. Even though we had to wait a few minutes, the waiter did not hesitate to bring us drinks. The staff was friendly and kind, and once we sat down and ordered, the food was brought out quick. It was very hot, fresh, and tasted amazing. Dessert was homemade and delicious. Overall, the service was excellent, food was delicious, and we would recommend the Greenhouse Grill to anyone who visits Sanibel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    99
    54
    35
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Epic Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My faith in being able to choose a good restaurant based on tripadvisor reviews has been shaken.15 years of staying on Sanibel and we have never been to Greenhouse Grill. We were looking to try something different this time and turned to the Tripadvisor top 10. We tried to get in at Trader's but were to late to get the time we wanted.

When we arrived there were many open seats and we realized we probably didn't need a reservation. We were seated in a decent seat and the restaurant had a nice comfortable feel to it. We felt that we may have made a good decision.

The server was an older lady who spoke broken English. She was pushy and seemed to be overwhelmed by something. There were about 5 tables of people being served by 3 servers so we didn't see any reason for it but we thought maybe she was just having a bad night .

We ordered a bottle of wine because wine by the glass was $9 for bottom shelf grade wine. We are not cheap when it comes to wine but we expect quality when we pay a premium price.

We ordered a salad to start and an entree after being asked repeatedly if we were ready to order. My wife ordered a caprese salad and I ordered a spinach salad. The salads were $10 dollars each which is a fair price for a quality salad-which these were not. The caprese was bland with completely unsalted mozzarella. My spinach salad was supposed to have gorgonzolla cheese on it but it was bland and flavorless.

The plates were taken after we finished the salad and we were never asked how it was. The entrees were brought out by a different server who was much friendlier than our original server.

My wife's dish was the bouillabaisse which was recommended by some on trip advisor. This dish was a big unflavored bowl of overcooked, low grade, seafood byproducts. I ordered the veal valdostana; translation; chewy, overcooked veal covered in processed cheese. The rosemary potatoes were just unflavored potato pieces covered in dried parsley flakes, not a hint of rosemary on the whole plate.

Our server must have been unaware or unbothered by the fact that our food was terrible because she avoided us the whole time we were eating. We probably should have left after the salads or made a fuss with our terrible entrees but we knew we wouldn't be able to get in anywhere else.

I guess that's part of the risk of trying something new. It wouldn't be so bad if you weren't paying such a premium price for a dinner that was so bad. For the same price you can go to Mad Hatter's and enjoy a world class dinner.

I just want to save someone else who may think they will get an authentic Italian meal from Greenhouse Grill the time, money, and aggravation.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had dinner at the Greenhouse Grill during a recent trip to Sanibel Island. Our server was very helpful and attentive. The atmosphere was inviting and the food was fantastic. The salad was exceptionally good and the Porcini ravioli in rosemary cream sauce with sun dried tomatoes was to die for. Just an excellent meal. Don't miss this restaurant when you are in Sanibel.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pretty good food; lovely service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food was pretty good. Soup, bread and salad were very good. Olive oil for dipping was excellent. I did not care for the house Chardonnay - too sweet. Filet Mignon was large, very good and served with a wonderful mushroom sauce. Veal Valdostana was good but drowning in sauce. Veggies and roasted potatoes were just OK.
The servers and staff were really nice, attentive and professional.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Grouper panini was delish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch and dad had the grouper panini and really enjoyed it. I had the daily special poached pear salad with grouper added and hubby had the daily special clam linguine. All were very tasty and good potions for lunch. Service was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenhouse Grill also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Greenhouse Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenhouse Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.