We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pinocchio's Original Italian Ice Cream
362 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
+1 239-472-6566
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: Fast Food, Dessert, Ice Cream, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Late Night, Takeout
Description: A Sanibel tradition since 1980,Pinocchio's is a landmark for islanders and visitors alike. All ice cream, frozen yogurt, gelato, custard, sorbet and sorbetto is made fresh daily in "Pinocchio's Lab" on premises from the finest & freshest ingredients. Family owned and operated, we serve 37 flavors of our 130+ repertoire daily. 10 Time Winner BEST of the ISLANDS BEST ICE CREAM including 2014, '14 BEST GELATO and '14 BEST FROZEN YOGURT, Nat'l Geographics Top 10 Best Ice Creams in Gulf Coast America and many more accolades from events, organizations and local food critics. We appreciate our Customers and consider Customer Satisfaction carefully. To our new Customers, Thank You for Coming In and Trying Our Signature Ice Creams. To our returning Customers, Welcome Home. Gustare! The Puma Family
Mt Pleasant SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Scrumptious, made on site and the portions are huge! There is always a crowd, but not a long wait. We make a run there several times during our stay on Sanibel. Don't miss this place!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    193
    104
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
midwest
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best pumpkin ginger snap ice cream! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have been coming here for 12 years. Tonight I had the best ice cream I have ever had! Bought 2 pints for Thanksgiving!! Amazing! You've outdone yourselves!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just another ice cream parlour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were served by a somewhat hyper active young man who seemed to aspire to a new role as a cocktail barman. He attacked the containers of ice cream with great vigour and then twirled his scoop like a Colt 45. The ice cream was good bur no better than most places. You need to be prepared to sit outside on the boardwalk.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice stop, good ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was a nice little place to take a break, get some good ice cream, and sit back and enjoy it on the front porch. Nice comfortable chairs make it just right for hanging out and people watching. Lots of flavors and friendly staff. I don't know why we've never been there before but it will be on our list for next year!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Just good ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stopped here to have some ice cream while just cursing around Sanibel. What we found was a small place that features many flavors of ice cream that is reportedly made right there on the premises. My wife ordered a cone of the tiramisu and I choose the sugar free Strawberry & Cream. Both were very large portions and were topped off with an animal cracker. We sat on the shop's front porch and made short work of our excellent frozen delights. Sometimes sugar free ice cream has a strange or different flavor but this was very good and difficult to tell the difference from regular ice cream. We will return the next time we are on Sanibel.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinocchio's Original Italian Ice Cream also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pinocchio's Original Italian Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinocchio's Original Italian Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.