We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already looking forward to returning here! My favorite place to stay on Sanibel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Beach Inn to your Saves list
Sunset Beach Inn
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3287 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
NH
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Already looking forward to returning here! My favorite place to stay on Sanibel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

I LOVE THIS PLACE! I was here for 2 stays recently, July 2008 & February 2009, and both stays were perfect! Romms were clean and newly updated. I loved the new granite kitchen & bath. Super clean & friendly staff. Rooms overlook beautiful heated pool and are so close to the ocean. I enjoyed the free breakfast every morning before my walk along the beach collecting sea shells. The room had an over-sized large sliding door to screened porch which I really enjoyed. The full kitchen was great for saving money on meals when I was relaxing on the beach. I also enjoyed the free bike rentals and used the many miles of bike trails on the Island. I can not say enough great things about this place! The manager, Anthonia Smith, is wonderful, he was very helpful and really made me feel at home. This place is perfect for singles, couples & families. Great shelling at the beach here & the best sunbsets! I will be going back soon, hopefully June/July 2009 and will definitely be calling Anthonia for a reservation!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    161
    54
    39
    37
See reviews for
183
234
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Attleboro,Ma
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

We just returned from a week's stay...high praise for Antonio at the front desk...when we were not satisfied with the location of our room he was more than gracious in moving us to a lovely room...his charming and welcoming personality made our stay wonderful. AND our housekeeper Kathy gets high marks not only for keeping our room in top shape but for her lovely personality and willingness to keep our spirits up even though our first few days were FREEZING COLD!! :)
The hotel is very nice and we appreciated having a laundry right on the premises.Highly recommend to everyone!
Sheryl & Peter Walsh
Attleboro, MA

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

I expected a little more from this hotel given the price, but I think this is what you come to expect on Sanibel Island. Breakfast consisting of coffee, oj and baked goods is available from 7:30-10:30, I really wished they would start breakfast a little earlier and have some more fruit and healthy options. The location is really perfect. It is not too close to any loud venues and they have complimentary cruiser bikes so you can get to anywhere on the island. I liked that it is a relatively small hotel especially compared to one of it's sister hotels, the Sundial Resort. But you can use the Sundial Resort's fitness center which is a nice perk. Clean, comfortable, and staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

I was at Sanibel Sunset Beach for only two nights. The room was quite large, very clean and very comfortable!!! The staff was wonderful! Mother nature threw a curve in that it was very cold and windy but the other side of that was incredible shelling! I cannot say it was because of the wind and surf but I was able to collect over 30 different species of shells. It was very welcome to go out just at sunrise, walk the beach for a couple of hours (about all you could tollerate with the wind and temperature) and go back to my room to enjoy a hot cup of coffee and pastry provided by the folks at the resort. It was a trip of a lifetime for a shell collector. There was an amazing abundance of shells. Please remember to take only those you can really add to your collection and be sure to return the ones who are alive back to the ocean. We can all enjoy the variety and the beauty that way! Go and enjoy this great resort and beach!

  • Liked — Location, large room, friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario-Canada
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

This resort has been remodeled recently, nicely painted, great tennis courts, lovely pool, shuffle board, horseshoes etc. However - no restaurant -peculiar for a "hotel" should be classed as a "motel".
rooms were very clean.
However the staff were not friendly and in talking to many locals on the beach you can tell from the local residents that this resort is not a good neighbour. Also there was garbage lying around their refuse bins by the tennis courts and i saw rodents there. Take a pass and stay next door at the West Wind Inn

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — garbage clean up was poor
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

We're checking out tomorrow (1/24/09) after staying 8 nights.
We stayed in the 1 br Garden View Suite.
The grounds were very clean and nicely manicured. Nice shuffle and tennis courts were available, as well as a horseshoe pit and grass volleyball court. No extra charges for beach chairs, beach umbrellas, and bikes. The swimming pool was excellent with a very large, warm pool, plenty of comfortable lounge chairs, and cabanas set in a sandbox the length of the pool. Clear views of the gulf from the pool area.
Continental breakfast was decent with oranges, juices, coffee, bakery, pastries, and cereal.
All staff, from the general manager to housekeeping and grounds crew were very friendly and accomodating.
This is my 5th vacation to Sanibel and have previously stayed at Sanibel Siesta and the Blue Dolphin. I've also toured about 10 other resorts during these vacations. The Sanibel Sunset Beach Resort is outstanding in all respects and will get my return business over the others I've checked out. It is an excellent all-around resort. It is on West Gulf Drive which has the best shelling and excellent sunset views over the gulf. Shelling outside the resort was top notch! Our room was spacious, clean, modern, comfortable, and had views of the gulf from the screened in lanai.
We will reserve for next January when we check out. This resort had a lot to do with our vacation being so excellent.
I strongly recommend this resort for all!

  • Liked — Comfortable modern room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

We just spent a wonderful weekend at the Sunset Beach hotel on Sanibel Island. This is the perfect hotel if you want to relax, which is what we did. The hotel room was clean and obviously newly remodeled. The bedding was wonderful! The kitchen was fully equiped, we did not need to bring any kitchen utensils with us. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient. The hotel is right on the beach so we did not have to worry about leaving anything behind in the room, it was so easy to go back and get it. Oh, and the beach was so beautiful! We saw all different kinds of birds and dolphins, yes, dolphins! swimming right up to the shore. The only souveniers we needed were all the beautiful shells that line the beach. All in all, this was the most relaxing vacation that we have ever had, and we plan on returning again next year.

  • Liked — Hotel was right on the beach!
  • Disliked — Nothing, everything was wonderful.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Inn

Address: 3287 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Beach Inn includes forty-six guestrooms and suites nestled on 4.5 acres of tropical Sanibel Island. Our 360 feet of beach along the Gulf of Mexico offers beautiful shells, tranquil sunsets and pristine sand. Relax by the pool with the Gulf of Mexico across the horizon.Each morning prepare for an activity filled day with a complimentary Continental breakfast, with an assortment of fresh fruit and breakfast breads. Play a set of tennis or ride a complimentary bicycle and explore the 23 miles of bike paths throughout Sanibel Island. Play a friendly game of volleyball with the beach just within view. Two shuffleboard courts await a challenging game near the picnic area. The resort offers two gas grills and picnic tables-perfect for a family dinner out under the graceful palms. Whether relaxation or fun filled activities are in your vacation plans, The Sunset Beach Inn provides the perfect beach getaway for families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Sunset Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Sunset Beach Resort
Sanibel Sunset Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Sunset Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.