We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Beach Inn to your Saves list
Sunset Beach Inn
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3287 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel was very comfortable (we stayed with our 2 kids, 3yr old & 4 month old) The room was VERY spacious and comfortable. Having a microwave, mini fridge and stove was a great bonus. Private beach access for hotel guests means it was NEVER crowded, they give you beach umbrellas and lounging chairs (we opted not to use umbrellas because we brought our beach tent for more covered space) The breakfast is served in the front office (you take your tray to go get what you want and then back to your room (the room has a large table to eat) The only downfall for me was that breakfast was lots of SWEET treats (donuts, muffins, pastries etc, not much of a healthier choices) but none the less they were very tasty.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    169
    59
    41
    39
See reviews for
193
241
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lorain, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

As a returing guest, I had an idea of what to expect. Upon walking into the reservation area, I was pleasantly greeted. I was given detailed information about all of the included amenities - pool, tennis courts, shuffleboard, bikes, beach umbrellas and lounge chairs. The newly remodeled room was the exact beach feel we were looking for - the pops of yellow made the room very warm and comfortable. The staff was great. Kim in the reservation area was always pleasant and full of information not only about the resort but also about what to do on Sanibel /Captiva. Alain the groundskeeper was available to help with anything in the room from changing a lightbulb to resetting the safe.

This is a place to getaway from all of the hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: An upgrade to the garden view is well worth. These same rooms also offer a view of the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I really enjoyed staying at this property. From the minute you check in you are greeted by a friendly staff. The hotel room was very large and had an efficiency kitchen. Compared to most hotels on the island, this hotel was very updated, clean and offered everything you needed. The only complaint I had was the air conditioning. The unit couldn't keep up with the amount of cold air we wanted. Even with the air, I would stay at this property again. The property is right on the beach and the hotel has the biggest pool on the island. Thank you for making our stay a great one!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Sunset Beach Inn exceeded my expectations. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out nothing but outstanding friendly service. The room had a full kitchen a private blacony plenty of towels and they were not stingy with the shampoos and soaps. The kitchen even supplied coffee as well as dish soap. I have stayed at alot of similar beach rentals and this is not always the case. Pool was wonderful always clean with plenty of seating. But best yet was the Inn supplies beach umbrellas with lounge chairs on the beach each day for their guests for free! There is no resort fee either. We enjoyed the continental breakfast it made an easy start to our days. We will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here for just one night. Greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. Free bikes were great for exploring, very enjoyable experience. The beach side location was very handy, however there are nicer beaches on the island which are not to be missed. All in all this was a lovely place to stay and i would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We came a Ross this resort by complete chance but were very impressed.
The staff were very helpful and the rooms were beautifully presented with good sea views.
There was direct access to the beach and it had lovely kept pool area.
There is plenty of choice for good places to eat and visit locally within short distance.
I would highly recommend this to anyone who who is looking for a relaxing break on Sanibel.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room and the staff will do what they can to find you a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

it was our first time staying on sanibel island, and maybe our last. we were so bit up by those no see ums, sand fleas, we could not enjoy ourselves. i had over 200 bites. we tried skin so soft, bug spray, benadryl ointment and pill form. the two bedroom, two bath was clean and comfortable for three adults and 2 children. the pool was clean. just steps from gulf of mexico. i would stay at sunset beach inn again if i knew i would not get bit by those no see ums.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
4.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#14 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#13 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 924 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#21 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#15 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#19 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#18 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Inn

Address: 3287 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Beach Inn includes forty-six guestrooms and suites nestled on 4.5 acres of tropical Sanibel Island. Our 360 feet of beach along the Gulf of Mexico offers beautiful shells, tranquil sunsets and pristine sand. Relax by the pool with the Gulf of Mexico across the horizon.Each morning prepare for an activity filled day with a complimentary Continental breakfast, with an assortment of fresh fruit and breakfast breads. Play a set of tennis or ride a complimentary bicycle and explore the 23 miles of bike paths throughout Sanibel Island. Play a friendly game of volleyball with the beach just within view. Two shuffleboard courts await a challenging game near the picnic area. The resort offers two gas grills and picnic tables-perfect for a family dinner out under the graceful palms. Whether relaxation or fun filled activities are in your vacation plans, The Sunset Beach Inn provides the perfect beach getaway for families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Sunset Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Sunset Beach Resort
Sanibel Sunset Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Sunset Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.