We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Charming beachside hotel"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Seaside Inn to your Saves list
Seaside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   541 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Readington, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Charming beachside hotel"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our stay at the Seaside Inn was perfect for a relaxing get-away for two sisters from N.J. The Inn offers clean, comfortable accomodations, complimentary chaise lounges & umbrellas for the beach, laundry & grilling appliances, a shell-washing station and a wide assortment of bicycles to explore the island. We began each day on our beachfront screened porch, enjoying the free newspaper and daily breakfast basket and the view. The pool area was well maintained, providing ample towels for both pool & beach. Above all, the staff offered great service, providing Island advice, computer & printer for guests, and a genuine interest in our comfort. Finally, the location at the quiet East End, is a stroll away from the lighthouse and provides a quiet, peaceful vacation away from the crowds.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    151
    40
    23
    12
See reviews for
181
215
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I am really sorry to say something negative like this, but I am so disappointed in this 'resort'. Holiday makers, beware, unless you want to be SICK AS A DOG.

When we checked in, the front desk person was obviously really sick. She was sniffling and had circles under her eyes - she should have been at home in bed. Instead, we had to stand there, breathing in her germs, while she confirmed our reservation and checked us in. I couldn't believe they would let someone sick work a front desk! What kind of careless management would put someone who was obviously VERY CONTAGIOUS in a position where they would greet people coming to stay on vacation?????????? "Have a nice stay, too bad you'll be SICK NOW."

Now, my family are all pretty healthy, so getting sick on our vacation will only be an inconvenience, but what about elderly people, or people with compromised health? What if my husband had an immunity problem? It's just COMMON SENSE that you DO NOT PUT SOMEONE SICK ON A PUBLIC SERVICE POSITION! Whoever is in charge should have sent that poor woman home IMMEDIATELY, or - better yet! - she should have had the good sense to call in sick and NOT INFECT INNOCENT PEOPLE who are SPENDING GOOD MONEY to enjoy a vacation, not pick up their germs.

No reputable location would have allowed this. If it wasn't too much trouble to move, and the damage wasn't already done, we'd go ANYWHERE BUT HERE.

Thanks for probably ruining the vacation of every single person you came into contact with, or who passed within air-circulation range of the reception area. Talk about inconsiderate.

Room Tip: Make sure the front desk help isn't sick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights at this sleepy place. It is right on a very quiet beach so you can spend a good time recharging your batteries. It is however, not on the side where you will see a sunset. You need to drive about 20 min to see that. There are no meals at this hotel so bring provisions to put in the fridge. The small pool was appreciated.

Room Tip: A beach facing room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. The room was very nice and the folks working there were fantastic. We plan to be back again next year. Thanks for providing us a very relaxing vacation. The morning baskets of treats were fun, free use of bicycles and a free newspaper each day. Just a few steps from the beach and the warm gulf coast waters.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is a tough review to write. I don't want to be overly critical, but neither do I want to perpetuate what I consider to be the "grade inflation" that led us to this property. Ultimately, I have to judge based on how our experience compared to the expectations set by the inn's web site and the reviews we relied on. So here goes...

If I had to sum this place up in a word, it would be "inconsistent".

If you plan to spend every minute of your vacation on the beach, this inn may be one of the best values on Sanibel. The beach is spectacular. No argument there.

On the occasion that the weather drove us indoors however, we quickly found everything else about this place to be thoroughly mediocre. It is not particularly inspiring, not particularly clean, not particularly comfortable, not particularly well cared for and not particularly friendly or professional in my opinion.

In appearance, this old property has managed to preserve its classic charm, but only from a distance. Up close it is well worn and somewhat neglected. Based on the number of glowing reviews here, it is probably the case that your experience will be heavily influenced by the specific room you are assigned. The rooms closest to the beach may be better equipped and maintained. Ours was a "pool view" near the rear of the property. It was actually more of a vending machine view although the patio door glass was so dirty you could not see much of anything anyway. (After 2 days I eventually cleaned it myself with a beach towel.) The pool could be seen from the shared deck which runs the entire length of the second floor and even a bit of the beach was visible from there.

The maid service was, well, inconsistent. On one hand, the beds were neatly made and linens replaced each day. On the other hand, we returned to our room the first day to find the table covered with sand (not our doing). This was clearly visible the moment we walked in the door. As a test we left it that way. Sure enough, it was missed again the next day. Even the vaunted breakfast basket was a good news / bad news situation. Each day, a basket of breakfast goodies was left in the room. The bad news is the boiled eggs and cream cheese were left on the counter to spoil in the heat of the day instead of being placed in the refrigerator right below the counter. This continued even after it was brought to the front desk's attention. One day we were given eggs that had expired two weeks earlier. This was clearly marked on the package. When we brought this to the front desk's attention they discovered their entire stock had the same expiration date. I'm left to ponder how many guests we may have spared from illness that day. The packaged pastries that were included in the fist day's basket were never seen again during our stay. These were nothing special; They were the same thing you would get from a vending machine. Why they thought it appropriate to ration such things is beyond me. I mention it only to further illustrate the inconsistencies.

The walls in this property are paper thin and you WILL hear everything that goes on in the room next door including normal conversation. When your neighbors open their sliding door to the deck, your whole room shakes, so if your neighbor is an early riser you will be too. The screen was missing from the sliding door in our room which meant we could not leave the door open in the evenings. The air conditioning worked well but was so loud you could not hold a conversation while it was on.

As with any property I visit, I consider the condition of the bathroom to be the surest sign of whether enough emphasis is being placed on cleaning and maintenance. The bathroom showed signs of a recent half-hearted update, but the tile grout was already stained with dirt and mildew, especially around the toilet. There was no ventilation whatsoever in the bathroom and no water pressure in the shower.

All of these things are admittedly minor, but it's these little things that make the difference between the experience of a luxury resort and a budget motel. This place feels much more like the latter, and I agree with an earlier review that across the spectrum of shabby chic this place is more shabby than chic.

The free bikes and beach chairs are a nice touch and will save you a few bucks, especially families with kids. The pool is clean and warm but quite small.

For families with kids having no expectation of privacy, this inn will probably be fine. For couples thinking of romance, luxury, quiet relaxation and some measure of privacy, I recommend that you keep looking.

Room Tip: Spring for the waterfront rooms if you are going to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for your candid review CosmicHam. I understand that it was difficult for you to write this, but please let me assure you that your perception and input is incredibly valuable to our team. We are currently in the process of re-training our maintenance, housekeeping, and guest services teams as we are recently under new management and ownership. Your comments will most certainly be shared with our team so that we can improve in the areas that you have outlined.

I am sorry that you were disappointed in your stay with us and invite you to contact me directly upon your next visit as I believe that you may find another of our 4 properties to be a better fit for you. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west palm beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

3 star accommodations. Very comfortable. Well prepared breakfast baskets with bagels, fruit Danish, fruits cocktail, orange juice, and boiled eggs. Coffee maker, toaster, microwave oven included. Nice staff,beach less than 100 ft from hotel. Has both apartments and villages type rooms. Only thing is that there are not restaurant onsite or nearby (2 miles) but that is common in Sanibel island. Beach is nicer in this part of the island. Place is very clean and maintained. Will I recommend or stay again? Definitively! Yes.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you so much for such a glowing review Yoda90! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and would both recommend us and return to visit us! We do hope that your return visit will be soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Clean, quaint and quiet. If you're looking for a beautiful romantic getaway this is the place. The bikes are an added bonus! Note... it's very quiet and secluded, if you are seeking any kind of night life probably not the right Island for you. ..

Special note....Tresanna at the front desk was amazing and helpful in so many ways, she made our stay a delight with suggestions and tips. Thanks for an all around great experience!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Address: 541 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Inn invites you to rediscover the charm of a quaint beachfront inn on beautiful Sanibel Island where life’s pace is slower. Unwind by the pool or enjoy a day at the beach looking for shells or soaking up the sun. Seaside Inn offers personalized service along with 32 newly renovated guestrooms, suites and cottages with interiors inspired by the sun bleached sand beyond the dune. Each guestroom and suite is furnished with a comfortable king or queen beds with views of the pool or beach. The cottages offer a separate living area with a new sleeper sofa, full kitchen and one bedroom with a king bed. Each cottage has a deck just off the living area to enjoy the Florida sun with family while overlooking the pool. Each day a complimentary continental breakfast basket is delivered to the rooms for the next morning’s enjoyment. While on Sanibel enjoy the wide variety of outdoor adventures. Spend time exploring the 23 miles of paved nature trails that wind through the wetlands with one of the bikes provided by Seaside Inn. Visit the J.N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to view a wide variety of migratory birds and explore an unspoiled mangrove ecosystem. For more active play, Sanibel Island offers 18 holes of golf on 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands at the Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. For play and relaxation, let Seaside Inn welcome you to the pace of island living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Sanibel Island
Seaside Inn Sanibel Island
Seaside Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.