We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Inn

Save Saved
You added Seaside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seaside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   541 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 27 hotels in Sanibel Island
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A sleepy, earlier time feel, to the hotel. Very relaxing. Not a resort but a hotel that has many things that you can use if you like. The beach seemed less crowded than other beaches that I went to also.
Rooms are medium sized but all the furnishings seemed fairly new. I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    132
    35
    21
    10
See reviews for
155
186
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our first visit to Sanibel and it is a beautiful island– the sea is warm, sand is soft and covered in shells, idyllic!

I hate to say it, but upon arrival The Seaside Inn was a bit of a disappointment. We had booked a beachfront guest room which from the website gave the impression that it had recently been renovated, but I’m not sure that is correct (it may have had a new carpet based on comments by other reviewers about theirs being stained, but the paintwork was scuffed & scratched). Generally it was quite clean. There was just a tiny closet which is only half length so impossible to hang anything longer than a t-shirt so we ended up not bothering unpacking our cases and living out of them instead. The beds are reasonably comfortable (unfortunately this room had 2 queen beds, we would have preferred one king size instead) but the air conditioning unit was so noisy that our sleep kept being interrupted every time it kicked in and despite trying to adjust the temperature control so it didn’t happen, we were unsuccessful. There’s a fridge (rusty with all the door compartments missing), a microwave, coffee-maker but no kettle. The bathroom was small, a bit dated, but ok and plenty of towels were supplied. We had a private screened balcony with two chairs and a table and a fabulous view of the beach & the Gulf beyond - it could have benefited from a ceiling fan though, cos it was very warm out there. Generally the walls are very thin so you can hear your neighbours, especially when the sliding doors to the balcony are opened & closed – luckily our neighbours were not especially noisy, but you could hear every time someone coughed or sneezed. There’s no guest information in the room, so you’re left on your own to find out about the facilities although the guy at reception did give us a leaflet upon arrival detailing local restaurants. Our room was on the first floor and had a direct view of the beautiful beach and Gulf – this is the best thing about the establishment. Umbrellas, beach towels and sun loungers are provided on the beach which was a real bonus.

The outside of this place really needs some love & attention. Maybe it’s meant to be a bit rustic, but a handrail on the wooden staircase that you can’t actually touch because it’s covered in dirt and sticky stuff fallen from the tree above is just unacceptable. Parking is limited and our first night was difficult because the hotel must have been pretty full but the following nights were not a problem.

The breakfast basket alluded to on the hotel website didn’t materialize at all on our first day and then we found a note telling us that due to unforeseen circumstances it wouldn’t be delivered ready for the next day either. We did receive one for our last day, which was helpful and meant we could get straight out onto the beach without having to go out for breakfast first.

Would love to return to Sanibel Island at some time in the future, but probably wouldn’t come back to this hotel, it’s just a bit too basic for us and in our opinion, more akin to a motel which is overpriced for its facilities but it has obviously traded on its spectacular location - which you really can't argue with - for years. With a bit more care & attention, it could be an absolutely brilliant place to stay, and it did grow on us over the few days we were there.

Room Tip: A beachfront room is definitely the best, the view is spectacular and you get your own balcony (pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were at Seaside Inn Oct. 1-6. The place was very peaceful and relaxing, with a mostly adult vibe while we were there. There is an outdoor pool with somewhat dated furniture, but the beach chairs and umbrellas at the basically private beach were great, as were the swimming and shelling. At low tide, there's a sand bar where numerous birds flock to eat or just "hang out." We stayed on the second floor of the "poolside" rooms, but we had a partial view of the gulf from the balcony. The balconies are part of a common walkway from one end of the building to the other, which included small tables and chairs for people to sit, read or otherwise while away the time. The location on East Gulf Drive gives easy access to the marina, lighthouse and eateries at the east end, but was also close to Periwinkle shopping which is centrally located. The price of the room included a breakfast basket with lender's bagels, pastries, juice, fruit cups, and coffee packets for the in-room coffee maker. There was also a small fridge and microwave in a narrow space near the entryway. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the room also included a cutting board, utensils, plates and cups as well as paper towels and dishwashing liquid. I would have given the place five stars but the inn didn't provide bar soap in the bathroom (however, there was bath gel, shampoo and conditioner) and once they didn't have enough breakfast baskets (but they did provide a voucher for breakfast at their sister inn Sanibel Inn). The bath towels were high quality. All in all, a very good value, especially in the off season.

Room Tip: The poolside rooms are closest to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This small hotel complex is perfect for a relaxing getaway. Its location is superb, nestling right on the beach. It has its own sun loungers on the beach (which is never too crowded) as well as others around the pool. There are several small touches which really make the stay more enjoyable. These include: free bike hire (definitely the best way to see Sanibel), a breakfast basket each day, a pool with a decent deep end and extremely helpful staff. The bathroom was a little dated and the kitchen is good enough for lunch and sandwiches but certainly too small to try to cook a dinner so don't expect to self cater. These really are minor quibbles and when you can wake up and go for a walk on such a perfect beach surrounded by birdlife and fantastic views you can easily forget about them!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I think we went at an awesome time. We got the special of staying 3 nights and one free. I really didn't know what to expect but it was nice. The kitchen was quite small but served its purpose. We stayed in the 3 bedroom and one bathroom. That was the only downer, one bathroom. I was expecting a master bath in the master bedroom and possibly a guest bathroom. But we made the best of it. The unit was very clean. It had recycling bin and regular trash cans as well inside the unit. I was very surprised they had daily housekeeping. They would also bring to your room breakfast baskets, which the kids loved. It has a pool which we really didn't make much use of it. The beach was just at your doorsteps, a major plus. We enjoyed the free use of the bicycles although they were very old. Free internet. I think this was the best time to come, end of Sept. Very quiet and you feel like you are in a small paradise with no notion of what is going on inland. I know my family and I would return here again. It is nice and very cozy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Seaside Inn is a great place for a break away from day to day life. We stayed in a gulf front room and woke every morning to the sounds of the Gulf. Staff are very friendly and approachable, sun beds set out every morning, rooms serviced once a day, complimentary breakfast baskets and use of the bikes on site. Great place for exploring the island - take a walk up to the lighthouse or simply soak up the sunshine. For a meal out try the Sea Star Cafe on the sister site Sanibel Inn - about a mile up the beach, good menu and friendly staff, Great service from the manager Phillip and his team. Really enjoyed our stay at the Seaside Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Seaside Inn is right on the beach, they have free bikes for guests use which was nice but the biles were quite old and could do with updating but they didn't spoil our stay. There is use of beach chairs and umbrellas set out each day, The beach is lovely and quiet. The pool was really nice as well.

Our room was clean and there was free breakfast which consisited of bagels, cream cheese, some pots of fruit, small cartons of orange juice, coffee and pastries. This was left in a bsket in the room fridge each afternoon for the following morning.

We had a lovely stay and would return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Address: 541 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaside Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Inn invites you to rediscover the charm of a quaint beachfront inn on beautiful Sanibel Island where life’s pace is slower. Unwind by the pool or enjoy a day at the beach looking for shells or soaking up the sun. Seaside Inn offers personalized service along with 32 newly renovated guestrooms, suites and cottages with interiors inspired by the sun bleached sand beyond the dune. Each guestroom and suite is furnished with a comfortable king or queen beds with views of the pool or beach. The cottages offer a separate living area with a new sleeper sofa, full kitchen and one bedroom with a king bed. Each cottage has a deck just off the living area to enjoy the Florida sun with family while overlooking the pool. Each day a complimentary continental breakfast basket is delivered to the rooms for the next morning’s enjoyment. While on Sanibel enjoy the wide variety of outdoor adventures. Spend time exploring the 23 miles of paved nature trails that wind through the wetlands with one of the bikes provided by Seaside Inn. Visit the J.N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to view a wide variety of migratory birds and explore an unspoiled mangrove ecosystem. For more active play, Sanibel Island offers 18 holes of golf on 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands at the Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. For play and relaxation, let Seaside Inn welcome you to the pace of island living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Sanibel Island
Seaside Inn Sanibel Island
Seaside Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.