We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sundial has best chicken wings in SW Florida!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sundial Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 27 hotels in Sanibel Island
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Sundial has best chicken wings in SW Florida!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Visited Sundial on Sanibel Island recently since it is now open to the public for the first time in many years. Went to listen to Danny Morgan and his band playing poolside but ended up staying for a yummy lunch with friends. They had the biggest and most juicy chicken wings I have ever had in Florida. My friends had salmon Ceasar salad and said it was also wonderful. The frozen drinks were to-die-for. With Buffet-style music playing in the background and wonderful views of the Gulf, this is THE place to hang out on Sanibel Island. Especially on Fridays when Danny plays. You can also dine inside at their new restaurant Seabreeze, which features local seafood specialties but since I am not a seafood person, I was very happy with the wings and Pina Colada. PS Someone else drove home.

Room Tip: since I am a "local" did not stay at the resort, but sure enjoyed their food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear LoisLaneFlorida,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and thank your joining us as our guest at Turtles Café & Tiki Bar. We are thrilled you had the best chicken wings in SW Florida.

Danny Morgan Band is a true Sanibel experience and we are glad you enjoyed it. We hope to welcome you back soon with more live entrainment and a great menu.

Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at any time by dialing 239-472-4151.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    129
    56
    36
    15
See reviews for
194
94
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were at hotel may 19-22 2013,lobby & restaurants open ,how ever construction still going on outside on the lobby building that totally interfered with the gulf view that I paid x-tra for. Every morning @ 8:00 the beeping of heavy equiptment & loud workers disturbed any rest & privacy ,the room we had was on 3rd floor and we had to peek-a-view around the crane or hide from workers on the roof. We also were not told @ check in that the kayaks & bikes were included with the $30.00 per day extra we had to pay @ check in. I also called and asked what unit was best to rent & was told gulf view, so I expected to be on the water and be able to look left or right and have gulf view, also not the case. when I called to complain they offered me beach front @ $100.00 more per night. If you go to this resort opt for beach front. the beach is the best part.

Room Tip: choose beach front if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Heidi B,
Thank you for your valuable feedback about your recent stay at the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa. We truly value our guest’s opinion and strive to be the best lodging option on Sanibel Island. We sincerely apologize for our shortcomings during your stay. Please be assured, that we have address the issues and concerns with our team to improve our guest service.

We truly hope we can gain your confidence back and present to our new and improved Sundial Beach Resort & Spa.
Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at any time by dialing 239-472-4151.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoxie
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I gave the Sundial a 4 star rating mostly because of it's location and views. We made reservations very far in advanced and requested a room with a great view and we diffidently got one! We were right by one of the pools and very close to the beach. We enjoyed setting on the screened-in porch and even saw a dolphin up by the beach one morning!! My family loved the bikes and sand volleyball as well as the beach side chairs and umbrellas that were included in the resort fees. The main building was still under renovations and when done it will be nice!

On the negative side. Our room although having a great view was not as nice as I was thinking it would be for the price we paid. The sheets were dirty, the carpet was disgusting and the toilet in the master bathroom was not secured to the floor properly and made a noise every time you sat down! I didn't feel the maid service really did much but put up clean towels and change the sheets. (which still looked dirty after changing them!) I can only imagine how much sand was in that carpet!!

It's my understanding that some of the rooms have been renovated. If we were to stay here again I would make sure we got one of those rooms. Because with a updated room and CLEAN sheets this would be a five star resort for sure!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear 4schamys,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We apologize for our shortcomings you and your family experienced during your last visit. We can assure you, that we have taken note of the issues you mentioned in your review and addressed each and every one of them.

The condition of the units is being addressed through a quality assurance process that helps the condo owner maintain a better value of its investment.

We truly hope we can gain your confidence back in the near future.
Should you have any questions, or would like to speak to us directly, please contact us at 239-472-4151.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

When we were there the hotel was undergoing a major renovation. The main lobby & spa weren't done yet. I heard that they will be redoing the main pool area as well, after summer. The hotel has a great location right on the beach & middle of Sanibel. Awesome service by the staff, especially everyone at the main pool & recreation office!! We stayed for a Wedding in early May with a ton of family and everyone was very pleased. Only one complaint by majority was that room cleaning & towels, shampoo, dish soap, etc was lacking. Also got to see a few rooms that were renovated & they were a lot nicer than the out dated ones. Kids loved all the rec activities like ping pong, beach volleyball, and the slide at them main pool. Overall, we were happy with the stay & can't wait to go back once the renovation is complete & enjoy everything the hotel has to offer, especially the Spa!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Melissa G,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are very excited that and your family and friends have enjoyed your stay. Our Team strives to deliver the best lodging option on Sanibel and exceed guest expectations.

As you mentioned in your review our main building was under renovation but we are proud to announce that we re-opened it on May 8th, 2013 with a beautiful new Lobby, two fantastic new restaurants with a new culinary team and breath-taking views overlooking the Gulf of Mexico.
Please contact us at any time, should you have any questions or to make your new reservation at 239-472-4151.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

When we arrived the new lobby was not open, but it was open by the end of the weekend. The spa was also not open.

The fine dining restaurant was open, and we ate dinner there once. Large portions, and we both enjoyed our meals, but they weren't the finest. Back-deck construction was going on, but it never disturbed our times at the main pool or tiki deck. We were housed in building B, far from the construction zone.

We ate breakfast every day at the cafe and only had complaints about the service. For example, when we paid in cash, we were never offered change. We waited long periods of time for simple items (jam, coffee). No one in food service ever seemed happy to be working there, from the fine-dining restaurant, the tiki bar, or the cafe.

We never had a problem getting towels, bicycles or umbrellas for the beach. The staff in the rental area was helpful the majority of the time.

Our room, while reasonably "updated", was a disappointment. Our bedroom lamps were unplugged and this required us literally crawling under the bed to get one plugged in, or else we'd have had no light in our bedroom. Our sheets were dirty when we arrived, and every-single-day our sheets were changed with sheets that were stained. Every time. I mean, wow. And the floor was never once vacuumed in the bedroom. It was dirty when we arrived and remained that way the entire time. We did have a lovely view, and we did get the king-size bed we requested when we called in advance.

The landscaping is average at best. Location of the resort was great. Large pool was good for families, but only had lifeguards part-time, and there were several times I thought I'd have a panic attack because unsupervised children were climbing all over the slide in unsafe ways.

Overall, I'd say this is far from a resort, but definitely a nice place for a family to stay or for a girls/guys weekend. I was with my boyfriend and we both wished we'd gone someplace more upscale for the weekend. We probably won't stay here again. It really wasn't "as advertised".

Room Tip: Request what you want. These are condos, and they are in varying stages of updated-ness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear ShazDenise,
Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your last visit. We can assure you, we have taken note of all issues in your review and addressed each and every one of them.

We continually train all our team members to provide excellent service to all our guests. Furthermore, the condition of the units is being addressed through a quality assurance process that helps the condo owner maintain a better value of its investment.

We truly hope we will get another opportunity to gain your confidence back in the near future. Should you have any questions or would like to speak to us directly, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Your Sundial Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We've been going to Sanibel and Capitiva for vacation for 15 years off and on. Shirly at the front desk was most helpful in getting us checked in early. The condo was spacious, clean, and up to date. There was a renovation in process, but we were not disturbed in any way. All in all, a great break from start to finish. A special thanks to Shirly for making our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: L304 is beautiful. Great view. Sleep to the sound of surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear hetty W,
Thank you for your valuable feedback about your recent stay with us. We are happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We are proud that Sherly made a difference during your stay, she is a true asset to our Resort.

We would love to welcome you back and introduce to you our brand new Sundial Beach Resort & Spa. Should you have any questions or would like to make a reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have never been to sanibel before and this took my breathe away. I loved the resort. We stayed for 4 days and it was amaing, I loved the view from my our room. Shierly was amazing at the front desk. She remebered my daugthers name and really was always helpful. We are so going back to stay. The resort was under contruction but it did not take away the beauty from the resort. THE main POOL was amazing and so were the other pools. We loved it

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear desiree R,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about your recent stay with us. We are happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We are proud that Sherly made a difference while you where our guest, she is a true asset to our Resort.

We would love to welcome you back and introduce to you our brand new Sundial Beach Resort & Spa. Should you have any questions would like to make a reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sundial Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel Island's most complete resort, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, is the centerpiece of this unique barrier island off the southwest coast of Florida. Sanibel is two-thirds nature preserve providing visitors with an experience of Florida the way it used to be. Sanibel Island is a natural playground where you can feel the white sand beach between your toes, take a refreshing swim in our blue-green waters of the Gulf of Mexico or one of Sundial's five pools and bike the miles of paved paths around the island. The Resort offers a wide array of activities for all ages including swimming in 5 heated pools, tennis courts, kayaks, bikes and an array of fun family activities by the pool. One- and two-bedroom Residences feature options for views and amenities and conveniences of home in a tranquil, tropical setting. These Residences offer a full kitchen with housewares, living/dining area, full baths and ample space that is ideal for couples or larger families. Best of all, Sanibel's pristine shell-dotted beaches are just steps away. The variety of dining venues are sure to please, offering indoor and outdoor dining options and delicious menu selection. Sea Breeze Café offers casual dining and local, fresh ingredients with a true Sanibel Island tropical flair. You’ll also enjoy the new poolside eatery, Turtle's Beach & Pool Bar, serving up delicious signature drinks and dishes. Waterview provides the perfect private dining and event space, with ample space and spectacular Gulf views out of the floor-to-ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, TravelClick and Venere so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.