We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Sanibel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sundial Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Newport, RI
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice stay in Sanibel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is actually the 2nd time I've stayed at Sundial. The room we had this time was perfect. It had a gulf view. Gulf view in a lot of places might mean seeing the Gulf way off in the distance but not here or at least not in the 1 BR condo we stayed it. Nice to fall asleep to the crashing of waves.

We did have the same problem that one other reviewer had and that was lack of towels. We received just two bath towels and one small hand towel, no wash cloths. Also no towels in the kitchen. The office was nice enough to supply them within a couple of hours but just didn't think that for the price of the place we would have to ask for the basics.

We did not use their restaurant or the pool. Nice trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in B 302-1 BR units. Nicely furnished, comfortable but starting to show some wear and tear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Goldenstimes2,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are excited that you had enjoyed your stay and the breath-taking views to the Gulf of Mexico from your unit.

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the lack of towels in your unit. We have taken note of the issue and addressed it with our housekeeping team.

Please make sure to mention your preferred unit while making your next reservation. Although we cannot guarantee a certain unit, we do our very best to honor all our guest requests. We appreciate your loyalty and looking forward to your next dream vacation at the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa.

Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at anytime at 239-472-4151.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    166
    62
    41
    17
See reviews for
237
104
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perkasie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We found the resort not as good as we thought it would be. Our dresser in the room had a broken drawer, woke up in the morning and there was a spider running across the floor. The shower pressure was terrible, went outside and found a dead rat laying on the sidewalk. Thankfully it was dead. Sofa had stains on the cushions had stains on them. Room had a musty smell.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear JPFullhouse:

Thank you for your valuable feedback about our resort. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your last visit to the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa.

We can assure you, that we have taken note of the items you mentioned in your review and addressed each and every one of them. Our team strives to deliver the best lodging option on Sanibel, exceed guest expectations and create long lasting memories.

We have asked our pest control company to help us address the critters around the resort. Housekeeping has steamed cleaned all the furniture.

We truly hope we will get another opportunity to gain your confidence back in the near future. Should you have any questions or would like to speak to us directly, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Center, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We just returned from Sundial on March 6, 2013. Lets start with the positives: the pool by the main building was clean, heated and a ton of fun. My girls loved (ages 2 and 6) LOVED it. The resort was right on the beach so it was also nice to be able to just walk a short distance and be able to make sand castles, collect shells, and play in the ocean. The tiki bar was a nice addition as well, however, we did not eat there but did have a few drinks. There was construction going on in the main building but it didn't bother us or our time at the pool. They had kid activities scheduled. The kitchen in our room was updated with new appliances and beautiful countertops. We had to change our reservation arrival date 3 days before check-in and the front desk was accommodating.

Having said the positives, I think I had my expectations set too high. We have traveled to many resorts in the US/Mexico/Bahamas/Jamaica/Barbados so I feel I have a pretty good handle on comparison. The staff working at the bar was not overall friendly and preferred to chit chat with each other or other guests that had been sitting there for awhile. I understand there are regulars that stay here that have friendships with the staff or perhaps the staff working for a tip, but when workers talking to other workers continues and I stand watching them, my tolerance begins to slip. There were kid's activities, but these were not advertised or explained on how to register or sign up for them so we missed most of them. The room was adequate - older than I expected. Our reservation was for 4 people (2 adults and 2 children) so you would think we would get 4 towels daily - not so much - 2 towels daily. There was no extra toilet paper anywhere and ran out..... The kitchen had 1 dish cloth and no dish towel. We started a load of dishes, put the ones we used from the day in the sink to fill the dishwasher later and came back to find the dirty dishes put into the clean dishwasher and restarted with using 1/2 load of detergent. We were also left with no wash cloth so I was unable to wipe down the tables/counter tops and finish up our last set of the dishes we used. I told the front desk upon checking out and the gal that helped me said "oh, no problem" and that was that. I would have liked a Swiffer or wet mop to keep the floors clean as housekeeping did not touch the floors. We had to wash our feet nightly before bed (even after a shower) because our feet were full of sand and also fairly dirty.

These are basic items with any hotel/resort stay that should not have to be an issue. It appears housekeeping could use a facelift next. Just my opinion.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear CharK:

Thank you for your valuable feedback about our resort. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your last visit to the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa.

We can assure you, that we have taken note of the items you mentioned in your review and addressed each and every one of them. Our team strives to deliver the best lodging option on Sanibel and exceed guest expectations.

As we renovate the resort, we can assure you that we are working on improving our service delivery in all areas; food and beverage, housekeeping, engineering and the reception. Additionally, the condition of the units is being addressed through a quality assurance process that helps the unit owner maintain a better value of its investment.

We truly hope we will get another opportunity to gain your confidence back in the near future. Should you have any questions or would like to speak to us directly, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at the Sundail as first time guests from Sunday March 3rd to Thursday March 7th. Overall we had a wonderful time! We had done our research online and were not surprised by the construction. I found it to be well managed and as inobtrusive as a major overhaul could be. The main pool was lovely with just the right balance of family fun and places for those without children. Our condo (G building) was renovated, clean and with a beautiful view of the courtyard and the Gulf. We visited several restaurants on the island as well as family just off the island and didn't even use a half tank of gas. If you are going to shop for water/coffee/snack food as we did stop on the way to the island for the best price. Our only issue while there was a lack of towels in the room. Which we rectified by using extra towells from the pool area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear JMango1,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are very happy that your last visit was wonderful.

Our team strives to deliver the best lodging option on Sanibel and exceed guest expectations. We apologize for the lack of towels, but we can assure you the issue has been addressed with our housekeeping team. We will make sure, all of our units have plenty of towels and amenities in the units.

As you mentioned in your review, our main building is currently undergoing a renovation, which will be completed soon. We are excited to offer our guests, several great dining options with breath-taking views overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, a beautiful new lobby and front desk area as well as a relaxing new Spa.

We look forward welcoming you back at the Resort.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We just got back from Sanibel Island. We stayed at Sundial Resort. I spent hours doing the research and the unit was just like it looked but the property/grounds are less than truthful. The unit was ok but a lot of burned out lights, loose handles, towel bars broke, garbage behind the dressers. We were expecting lounge chairs and umbrellas and got an empty beach until I asked then the chase lounge chairs were put out later in the week but they were dirty, moldy, no umbrellas and less than appealing. Nothing like the advertisement on the internet. Won't ever stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear ljdietz1:

Thank you for your valuable feedback about our resort. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your last visit to the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa.

We can assure you, that we have taken note of the items you mentioned in your review and addressed each and every one of them. Our team strives to deliver the best lodging option on Sanibel and exceed guest expectations.

As we renovate the resort, new pool furniture was recently added and the beach furniture is slated to be renewed in the near future. Additionally, the condition of the units is being addressed through a quality assurance process that helps the unit owner maintain a better value of its investment.

We truly hope we will get another opportunity to gain your confidence back in the near future. Should you have any questions or would like to speak to us directly, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time at 239-472-4151

Respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monroe twp, nj
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

stayed at the sundial resort and had a great time. Staff was courteous and friendly. They had no problem upgrading our accommodation. Room was clean and well furnished. The staff at the beach and activity areas were very helpful with bikes, kayaks, beach umbrellas and chairs.

Room Tip: Try to get a beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear peter s,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are pleased to hear you had a great time at our resort. Our team strives to deliver exceptional service for our guest needs.

We are happy to hear, that our recreation team made a difference during your stay, we are proud to have such a great team.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact us at 239-472-4151.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I were very excited to start our 5 day Sanibel vacation from February 21 to February 26. We had heard many great things about Sundial, but our initial welcome to Sundial was not good. We invited friends to stay with us and they arrived a few hours earlier. Neither they nor we were told about the amenities at Sundial. When we left I asked about the additional resort charge and we were told it was for the amenities such as kayaks, bikes and tennis court.
Upon arriving at our condo which was located close to the beach and near one of the many pools we did not have soap, towels, shampoo and conditioner in the bathrooms. We called the front desk and asked for these items and received paper towels, one bar of soap and about eight washcloths. We then called for the hand towels and shampoo and received about six bath towels. I finally went to the front desk and explained our needs and finally we received the items we originally asked for. The condo we stayed at was very nice, but we could not have an umbrella nor beach chairs in the beach area our condo was located at. The Sundial property is very large, but beach chairs and umbrellas are only allowed in a small area which was very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Lucille P,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about our resort. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your last visit to the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa.

We can assure you, that we have taken note of the items you mentioned in your review and addressed each and every one of them. Our team strives to deliver the best lodging option on Sanibel and exceed guest expectations.

Sanibel is a true island sanctuary with only public beaches and due to the strict wildlife protection laws, we are prohibited to place resort chairs and umbrellas anywhere else besides in front of the main building.

We truly hope we will get another opportunity to gain your confidence back in the near future. Should you have any questions or would like to speak to us directly, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Thank you
Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundial Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel Island's most complete resort, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, is the centerpiece of this unique barrier island off the southwest coast of Florida. Sanibel is two-thirds nature preserve providing visitors with an experience of Florida the way it used to be. Sanibel Island is a natural playground where you can feel the white sand beach between your toes, take a refreshing swim in our blue-green waters of the Gulf of Mexico or one of Sundial's five pools and bike the miles of paved paths around the island. The Resort offers a wide array of activities for all ages including swimming in 5 heated pools, tennis courts, kayaks, bikes and an array of fun family activities by the pool. One- and two-bedroom Residences feature options for views and amenities and conveniences of home in a tranquil, tropical setting. These Residences offer a full kitchen with housewares, living/dining area, full baths and ample space that is ideal for couples or larger families. Best of all, Sanibel's pristine shell-dotted beaches are just steps away. The variety of dining venues are sure to please, offering indoor and outdoor dining options and delicious menu selection. Sea Breeze Café offers casual dining and local, fresh ingredients with a true Sanibel Island tropical flair. You’ll also enjoy the new poolside eatery, Turtle's Beach & Pool Bar, serving up delicious signature drinks and dishes. Waterview provides the perfect private dining and event space, with ample space and spectacular Gulf views out of the floor-to-ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.