We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going in the right direction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sundial Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Sparta, nj
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Going in the right direction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Our fifth time to sanibel- we love it there!! Tried Sundial for the first time. We were traveling with teenagers so were looking for a place with some activities. Sundial is going through some major renovations since they were bought out and I can honestly say they ate going in the right direction but right now it is in a bit of a transition and some info on the website is not accurate. There is no spa, no jogging strollers, and only one restaurant. That being said the pool is great, the beach location is amazing and it's activities were enough to keep my teenages happy. I do not like the charge to use the tennis racquets since you atte paying a 30 a day resort fee but I will let that slide. Had an amazing view and will definitely be back. If you haven't been to sanibel yet you must go and sundial is a good choice. Just be prepared.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear mbloom1917,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to have you as our guest on your 5th trip to Sanibel Island and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Yes, you are correct, we are currently remodeling our main building and will have an exciting new look including new Lobby, Restaurants, Pool Deck, Spa and great amenities to offer in the near future.

Thank you for your patience during your stay. But we are very happy you enjoyed your time at our Resort and your teenagers were happy with our activity program. Our daily Resort Fee currently includes pool and beach chairs, towels, bikes, kayaks, certain kid’s activities, tennis courts and wireless internet. We are planning on adding more fun amenities including a new tennis program after our renovation is completed.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you back with our new look. Should you have any questions, or would like to speak to us directly, please do not hesitate to contact us at 239-472-4151.

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    173
    64
    42
    17
See reviews for
242
115
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Have stayed at the Sundial a couple of times each year since 2008 and cannot rave enough about it. The hospitality and attention to detail from Tiffani and Marina at the front desk is unparalleled, and the staff is professional and highly responsive. The rooms are all different, since they're individually owned condos, but our experience has been that they are all nicely appointed and well cared for. Direct access to a beautiful beach on the Gulf is great, and there are plenty of swimming pools and on-site activities for the kids. The location is fantastic and is within proximity to absolutely everything on the island. We're looking forward to the renovations and upgrades being made to the property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear MandicFAM,

Thank you for visiting us so many times in the last few years and for your valuable feedback .
We are always excited to welcome you back at the Resort.

We truly strive to be #1 Resort on Sanibel Island with our amenites and Service alike. We can’t wait to show you our new exciting look when you will return to Sanibel Island.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Awesome condo style resort. Numerous pools (very nice and warm), amazing beach with lots of shells, free use of beach chairs, kayaks, bikes (with helmets, locks, baskets) and more. Property is amazingly quiet in the evening, very peaceful. Biking on the island is wonderful- completely flat and so pretty. Housekeeping didn't come until late in the day so most days we were back relaxing in the room by the time they came around and didn't want them to clean room at that point and the cable was a little spotty. Other than that, we were extremely happy with the resort and island as a whole.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear becky m,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are excited you enjoyed your stay and our recreational amenities. After our renovation is completed we will offer even more extras to our guests.

Sanibel Island truly has a lot to offer including 22 miles of bike patch, 15 miles of beaches and 250 kinds of shells. We are sorry to hear, that your room was not cleaned early in the day. To the convenience of our guests, we offer to set a preferred time to receive our daily Housekeeping Service.

We look forward welcoming you back on Sanibel Island and to the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the Sundial Resort for a few days over the holidays and were pleasantly surprised. Our room was a large two bedroom suite, with a king bed in one room and two queens in the other. The suite had been renovated, so was clean and updated. The kitchen and dining area was a nice size for the five of us. There were three TVs and plenty of dresser and cupboard space. The balcony was a nice size.

The bedding was brand new and the beds were very comfortable. We had plenty of new towels and toiletries in our room and when we called for more towels, someone delivered in minutes.

Because each section of the resort has its own pool, they were never over-populated. Our pool and pool area/washrooms were brand new. The water in all the pools was warm and clean.

The grounds were nice and clean and right on the beach, which was beautiful. There was tons of parking. And the bikes we used to ride around the island were working perfectly.

We had a great experience at this resort. But it is under construction, so we may have been lucky that we got an already updated suite. The only negative was that the bar and restaurant service was slow. But I can imagine when they are finished this renovation, it will be perfect. I can't wait to return when everything is finished.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear JeanetteKD,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Sundial, you are right! As we complete our renovations our Food Beverage Service will improve significantly, as well as the variety of items that will be offered.

Our team strives to deliver the best service in Sanibel, we look forward to your next visit; we are certain that we will exceed your expectations.

My Best,

Luis Arellano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

we when to this hotel for new year eve and it was amazing how great was our stay fantastic people working in there and the weather was great,the activities availables like bike rental,kayak and the heated pool where great.
definitly a must go hotel

Room Tip: ocean view rooms out of this world
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The front desk was friendly enough but that was where it ended. Our condo was well stocked but had a musty smell, which I could have overlooked because it's at the beach. However, the hotel staff at the bars and rental place were very unfriendly, the rooms weren't serviced until 5PM, they don't give you any more shampoo, conditioner etc unless you go to the front desk and there was a 'resort fee' added to our bill. The resort fee was $20 per night, why wouldn't they just include that in the price? It makes me feel like the resort amenities should be better if they are going to charge a fee. Most of the buildings don't face the ocean which seems odd to me but that isn't a huge deal. The lobby building and pool are under construction but it didn't really impact our stay. On the positive side the food was fantastic at the wedding and the wedding coordinator seemed great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Paymoto,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Sundial, the only full service condo hotel in Sanibel. We are sorry to hear that you found some of our recreations and Food & Beverage personnel not as hospitable as other team members around the resort.

Your valuable feedback is used during our daily shift meetings to improve services around the resort.
We saw pictures of the wedding and they looked magnificent.

We look forward to your next visit, please contact us for personal assistance, main phone number 239 472 1451, my extension is 6006.

My Best,

Luis Arellano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Service is horrible!
Bugs everywhere.
No soap shampoo or supplies supplied unless you call front desk.
Not enough towels supplied!

There was Smoking allowed had to close windows and could not enjoy outdoors!!
Room serviced not until 4pm.
Not a vacation unless you like to beg for service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Skanclarks,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for your inconvenience you and your family experienced during your recent stay. We have taken note of the items you mentioned in your review and addressed each and every one of them. Our team strives to deliver the best lodging option in Sanibel and exceed guest expectations.

All of our units are non-smoking, but for our guest convenience, we do allow smoking in many areas around the Resort. Currently we are updating our Resort, and truly hope we will get another opportunity to welcome you back at Sundial.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time for further assistance at 239-472-4151.
Once again, thank you for your feedback

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundial Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel Island's most complete resort, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, is the centerpiece of this unique barrier island off the southwest coast of Florida. Sanibel is two-thirds nature preserve providing visitors with an experience of Florida the way it used to be. Sanibel Island is a natural playground where you can feel the white sand beach between your toes, take a refreshing swim in our blue-green waters of the Gulf of Mexico or one of Sundial's five pools and bike the miles of paved paths around the island. The Resort offers a wide array of activities for all ages including swimming in 5 heated pools, tennis courts, kayaks, bikes and an array of fun family activities by the pool. One- and two-bedroom Residences feature options for views and amenities and conveniences of home in a tranquil, tropical setting. These Residences offer a full kitchen with housewares, living/dining area, full baths and ample space that is ideal for couples or larger families. Best of all, Sanibel's pristine shell-dotted beaches are just steps away. The variety of dining venues are sure to please, offering indoor and outdoor dining options and delicious menu selection. Sea Breeze Café offers casual dining and local, fresh ingredients with a true Sanibel Island tropical flair. You’ll also enjoy the new poolside eatery, Turtle's Beach & Pool Bar, serving up delicious signature drinks and dishes. Waterview provides the perfect private dining and event space, with ample space and spectacular Gulf views out of the floor-to-ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.