We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best stay ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sundial Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
miami
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best stay ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

we when to this hotel for new year eve and it was amazing how great was our stay fantastic people working in there and the weather was great,the activities availables like bike rental,kayak and the heated pool where great.
definitly a must go hotel

Room Tip: ocean view rooms out of this world
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    173
    63
    41
    17
See reviews for
241
114
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia, pa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The front desk was friendly enough but that was where it ended. Our condo was well stocked but had a musty smell, which I could have overlooked because it's at the beach. However, the hotel staff at the bars and rental place were very unfriendly, the rooms weren't serviced until 5PM, they don't give you any more shampoo, conditioner etc unless you go to the front desk and there was a 'resort fee' added to our bill. The resort fee was $20 per night, why wouldn't they just include that in the price? It makes me feel like the resort amenities should be better if they are going to charge a fee. Most of the buildings don't face the ocean which seems odd to me but that isn't a huge deal. The lobby building and pool are under construction but it didn't really impact our stay. On the positive side the food was fantastic at the wedding and the wedding coordinator seemed great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Paymoto,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Sundial, the only full service condo hotel in Sanibel. We are sorry to hear that you found some of our recreations and Food & Beverage personnel not as hospitable as other team members around the resort.

Your valuable feedback is used during our daily shift meetings to improve services around the resort.
We saw pictures of the wedding and they looked magnificent.

We look forward to your next visit, please contact us for personal assistance, main phone number 239 472 1451, my extension is 6006.

My Best,

Luis Arellano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Service is horrible!
Bugs everywhere.
No soap shampoo or supplies supplied unless you call front desk.
Not enough towels supplied!

There was Smoking allowed had to close windows and could not enjoy outdoors!!
Room serviced not until 4pm.
Not a vacation unless you like to beg for service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Skanclarks,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for your inconvenience you and your family experienced during your recent stay. We have taken note of the items you mentioned in your review and addressed each and every one of them. Our team strives to deliver the best lodging option in Sanibel and exceed guest expectations.

All of our units are non-smoking, but for our guest convenience, we do allow smoking in many areas around the Resort. Currently we are updating our Resort, and truly hope we will get another opportunity to welcome you back at Sundial.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time for further assistance at 239-472-4151.
Once again, thank you for your feedback

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We booked a trip to Sanibel in late October. In December, 8 days before our trip, Expedia notified us that the Sundial had overbooked and bumped us. We have stayed here before and were looking forward to a return visit. Now, I will never stay at the Sundial again, and will be hesitant to book any hotels through Expedia. Expedia worked with us to find a new place. It was a struggle on the phone with them over a two day period, but, they came through and found us a great substitute, and, Expedia paid the extra fee for the new condo. Sundial is now at the bottom of my list for places to stay in Sanibel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear ititravel,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are deeply sorry for your experience. Sometimes an overbooking occurs due to circumstances beyond our control. We are happy that Expedia was able to find you a similar accommodation. Unfortunately Travel Agent Reservations do not provide us with your contact details; however we would love to take the opportunity to speak to you directly.

Please know that this is not our usual service level and accept our sincere apology.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back at the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa. Please do not hesitate to contact us at 239-472-4151!

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Have stayed at Sundial at least 15 times. Best feature is how close it is to the beach. The property is always well maintained but there was a problem last week during our stay. The swimming pool next to building E would be taken over by 200 crows. They would hang out in the trees around the pool. They would caw. They would drink water in the pool. They would go to the bathroom all over the place until they decided to leave.This happened 3 or 4 times a day for hours. We complained several times to the grounds crew. They said you need a permit. On Friday, they finally put some ineffective metalic strips around the middle of the palm trees. The crows made the pool unusable and the management was very slow to do anything( airhorn,pellet gun..) .Very bad black mark for this property

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear SuperAtomic,

Dear SuperAtomic,

Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear, that you have been with us for so many years and had enjoyed our beach location. The Crows usually pass by Florida at the end of the year and normally do not affect our Island. Sanibel Island is a sanctuary island with very strict wildlife protection, which gives us only limited possibilities in taking action.

We hope this ambience will not affect your returning to the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa.

Should you need further assistance of any kind, please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime.

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Sundial has recently changed hands and they are trying to fix things up. The plans that they have on display indicate a number of solid improvements but until they insure that all the units are up-to-date and clean, then a stay here will be either a hit or a miss. The units seem to be owned by individuals and then rented out. Our first one-bedroom unit was large and seemed clean but the only "modern" piece seemed to be the television. When we discovered ants on our countertop we were told that this is common at the time of year and we were in Florida. They came and sprayed but we were not comfortable staying there. We were moved to another one bedroom which was pretty dingy with some type of stain on the bedroom rug, however it did seem free of ants. There is construction going on so the main entrance was blocked off and there was construction noise throughout the day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear JESVancouver:

Thank you so much for your feedback, indeed it is an excitement time at our beautiful resort. When we are completed with the renovations, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa will be the best resort and the only one with meeting room facilities on Sanibel.

We are sorry to hear that the units you experienced were not acceptable, through a very detailed condo improvement plan, we are working with each individual owner to improve their units for the enjoyment of our valued guests. We expect to complete this project within 2013.

My team and I would love the opportunity to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us any time for assistance at 239-472-4151.

Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Have stayed at Sundial at least 15 times. Best feature is how close it is to the beach. The property is always well maintained but there was a problem last week during our stay. The swimming pool next to building E would be taken over by 200 crows. They would hang out in the trees around the pool. They would caw. They would drink water in the pool. They would go to the bathroom all over the place until they decided to leave.This happened 3 or 4 times a day for hours. We complained several times to the grounds crew. They said you need a permit. On Friday, they finally put some ineffective metalic strips around the middle of the palm trees. The crows made the pool unusable and the management was very slow to do anything( airhorn,pellet gun..) .Very bad black mark for this property

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundial Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel Island's most complete resort, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, is the centerpiece of this unique barrier island off the southwest coast of Florida. Sanibel is two-thirds nature preserve providing visitors with an experience of Florida the way it used to be. Sanibel Island is a natural playground where you can feel the white sand beach between your toes, take a refreshing swim in our blue-green waters of the Gulf of Mexico or one of Sundial's five pools and bike the miles of paved paths around the island. The Resort offers a wide array of activities for all ages including swimming in 5 heated pools, tennis courts, kayaks, bikes and an array of fun family activities by the pool. One- and two-bedroom Residences feature options for views and amenities and conveniences of home in a tranquil, tropical setting. These Residences offer a full kitchen with housewares, living/dining area, full baths and ample space that is ideal for couples or larger families. Best of all, Sanibel's pristine shell-dotted beaches are just steps away. The variety of dining venues are sure to please, offering indoor and outdoor dining options and delicious menu selection. Sea Breeze Café offers casual dining and local, fresh ingredients with a true Sanibel Island tropical flair. You’ll also enjoy the new poolside eatery, Turtle's Beach & Pool Bar, serving up delicious signature drinks and dishes. Waterview provides the perfect private dining and event space, with ample space and spectacular Gulf views out of the floor-to-ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.