We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Bed Bugs!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sundial Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 28 hotels in Sanibel Island
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beware of Bed Bugs!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel for 4 days. On day two my wife notice red rashes on her skin. She reported this to the staff and asked them to change the bedding, which they did. But on day 3 my wife and I both woke up with many more rashes related to bed bugs. Thankfully we left that day. After we came back home we had to spend the next 24 hours sanitizing every piece of clothing and luggage.
Although the hotel is in a great location with reasonable prices, we will not be going back here again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Chachujazz;

Thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience you and your wife experienced during your recent stay. As it is our standard procedure, we had the condo inspected for bed bugs by a professional pest control company, their written report showed no evidence of any infestation. This area of Florida is known for non-see-um bugs, their bite causes red marks on one’s skin.

My team and I would love the opportunity to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us any time for assistance at 239-472-4151.

Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    89
    37
    31
    11
See reviews for
127
65
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom condo. Wonderful location. The beach was perfect. A patio on two levels. Should have brough our tennis rackets, courts were outside our door. The tiki bar by the pool served wonderful drinks. a very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Overlooking the water will give you a wonderful sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear derbywenz,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sundial, our team strives to deliver the best service in Sanibel. Our tennis courts will be renovated within the next couple months, a tennis program is in the works as well. We look forward to your next visit; remember to bring your tennis racquets.

My Best,

Luis Arellano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Missouri
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We hosted a destination wedding at Sundial on the weekend of November 3, 2012. Everything was perfect. The accommodations, staff, food, pool, and beach were wonderful. We had various rooms in buildings Q, L, I. and J and no one had any complaints. The resort is undergoing some renovations but they do an excellent job of not letting the work disrupt your stay. Mary Beth, the catering sales manager was superb. Throughout the planning of the wedding she answered all phone calls and emails quickly and professionally. She walked everyone through the rehearsal and was there the day of the wedding to see that everything was in place. She and the staff at the Sundial made this a fun and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear JC204_12

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sundial. We are glad to hear that your dream wedding was delivered to your satisfaction. We are so fortunate to have Mary Beth as part of our team, she is simply the best! We look forward to your future visits to Sundial.

Respectfully,

Luis Arellano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just returned. Older property. Good location and beach. Needs renovating and tennis courts are the worst I ever played on. Staff is friendly and breakfast was good. Their sister club, The Dunes, has good courts.

Room Tip: Do not go for the tennis. Ask for room near beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Iamlawyer2,

I am so sorry to hear that your stay was not a perfect one. Our team strives to deliver outstanding service in all areas of the resort. The good news is that we will be renovating the tennis courts, as well as the rest of the resort in the near future. Hopefully, you will afford us another opportunity to gain your loyalty for futures stays.

Respectfully,

Luis Arellano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarbush,Vermont
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Sundial Beach & Golf Resort on Sanibel has been purchased by a private equity group with ambitious plans to rejuvenate the 407-unit project. This happened in July 2012. We were guests in October 2012. A number of the guests rented condos at the resort. The condos are individually owned, some are managed by the resort, others by a management company. Therefore some are in much better condition than others. Our unit was in good shape physical shape, clean, nothing broken, attractive, the only downside was they locked off the washer and dryer, there were minimal kitchen supplies and we love to cook i.e.no cutting board,serving platters, coffee mugs. Other units were much better equipped. The management did not stock the unit with enough towels, dish detergent, soap, etc. One call to the front desk and this was all taken care of. The tiki bar at the pool is open and the food was excellent, pool was clean and had plenty of shade for those needing it, plenty of umbrellas and chairs for sitting on the beach, we loved the availability of bicycles and the 3 we used were in good shape. The bike paths on Sanibel are wonderful. The resort catered the rehearsal dinner and wedding, both meals were good, plenty of food and the service was excellent. The food was not gourmet fare but was very tasty. We would definitely go back, especially off season, the prices were reasonable for the local, accommodations and amenities. The younger set was able to stay late at their bar, no drinking and driving issues. The bride's mother was very pleased with the wedding planner and everything went well.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view, there are full and partial views, also ask for a well equipped unit if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis A, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear sugarbushvacations,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sundial, our team strives to deliver the best service in Sanibel. We have taken note of the items you mentioned in your review; please rest assured that we will address each and every one. We are glad to hear that you had an opportunity to go site seeing on one of our bicycles, truly there is no better way to enjoy Sanibel. We look forward to your next visit!

Respectfully,

Luis Arellano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have been staying here on and off for the past few years. Lately, we have stayed 4 consecutive years. Last year was fair at best due to construction near our condo, but they did compensate us for our troubles. This year, however, was great, and back to our expectation levels of the past.
We had a great Grand Beachfront Condo.
This was primarily due to Tiffani who took it upon herself to insure we had a great stay from beginning to end. I may add that Shirley was great as well.
The Sundial is under new management and we hope all the proposed changes will be positive and family oriented. My grandchildren always love the Sea Shell slide and we heard that is going to be replaced or
removed.
The Sundial is a great location for going to the ocean and spending time in or at the pool. It is located perfectly to get to the grocery store, shopping, or what ever you choose to do on the island.
Update the property, but don't change too much.
My only suggestion this time was that the housekeeping was a little erratic. We had to call for supplies on a few occassions, but we always had a quick response and it was resolved. The bikes are in need of some TLC as well.
We love the place and feel at home as soon as we arrive. I am hoping this does not change with the new management.
See you next year.

Room Tip: Ask if there is going to be and remodeling or construction taking place during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear gmp50,

Thank you very much on commenting on your stay and thank you for coming back for some many years. We are very happy to hear you had a great time again and that Tiffani and Sherly delivered outstanding service. Thank you for your feedback, we can assure you appropriate steps have been taken to improve our Service and amenities. We are planning different family-orientated updates and changes. We are truly looking forward to welcome you back next year.

Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime for further assistance at 239-472-4151.
Thank you

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a Gulf View room, and while only a partial view from Building B (Building A was undergoing renovations), the room was very nice and clean. I cannot give half stars, but I would go with 3.5 stars, versus 4. The staff was pleasant. The bikes offered at the reesort could use a service (flat tires, brakes that don't work, etc.) Our sheets and beach towels were all very clean, but all showed signs of wear and could stand to be replaced.

We went October 3-10th, which is apparently off-season in Sanibel, which made for amazing quiet days on the beaches, it also means that this is when the resort does all the renovations to prepare for high season. Each morning we smelled epoxy, paint, and heard compressors and generators as the workers ran their tools and painted Building A. I complained to the hotel about the noise, but by this point we were totally unpacked and settled in, and it was already Friday, so we decided not to move (so I can't really complain, because the resort manager, Louis, who was very nice, offered to move us, we just chose not to.) This is just a head's up to other off-season guests that you may want to be prepared for things to be under construction.

Room Tip: Building A, when it's finished being repaired, has an amazing full Gulf view and is away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina B, Front Office Supervisor at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Beth P,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We apologize once again for your inconvenience with the construction noise and smell going on at the Resort during your stay. Please be assured that the issues you have raised have been addressed and appropriate actions have been taken. We are planning on making some changes and updates as well. We are happy that you enjoyed your time on Sanibel Island and we do hope we will get the chance to welcome you back at Sundial.
Thank you again.

Should you have any questions or need assistance of any kind, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime at 239-472-4151.

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sundial Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island
Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel Island's most complete resort, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, is the centerpiece of this unique barrier island off the southwest coast of Florida. Sanibel is two-thirds nature preserve providing visitors with an experience of Florida the way it used to be. Sanibel Island is a natural playground where you can feel the white sand beach between your toes, take a refreshing swim in our blue-green waters of the Gulf of Mexico or one of Sundial's five pools and bike the miles of paved paths around the island. The Resort offers a wide array of activities for all ages including swimming in 5 heated pools, tennis courts, kayaks, bikes and an array of fun family activities by the pool. One- and two-bedroom Residences feature options for views and amenities and conveniences of home in a tranquil, tropical setting. These Residences offer a full kitchen with housewares, living/dining area, full baths and ample space that is ideal for couples or larger families. Best of all, Sanibel's pristine shell-dotted beaches are just steps away. The variety of dining venues are sure to please, offering indoor and outdoor dining options and delicious menu selection. Sea Breeze Café offers casual dining and local, fresh ingredients with a true Sanibel Island tropical flair. You’ll also enjoy the new poolside eatery, Turtle's Beach & Pool Bar, serving up delicious signature drinks and dishes. Waterview provides the perfect private dining and event space, with ample space and spectacular Gulf views out of the floor-to-ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.