We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Six Times” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Song of the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Song of the Sea to your Saves list
Song of the Sea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   863 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Mass.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Six Times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Changed hands last year slightly disappointed, VERY limited items to work with in kitchen and not each one has the same stuff. More families this year crammed into one unit, unruly kids, loud parents. Also with room price comes a free breakfast, but we noticed people came from other hotel ( they own that one also), for breakfast which was not free at their hotel, so it's not a perk if they eat my breakfast and there is not enough food for patrons at song of the sea. We will keep track of changes on website for next year.

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    182
    49
    19
    16
See reviews for
62
399
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here last weekend. Paid extra for a second floor ocean front King suite. What a nightmare !! Totally deceived by the pictures on the website of the room and the layout. The picture we saw on the website is not the room we got. The bed is not in the main room with a water view as pictured. It is stuffed in a claustrophobic box farthest away from the view I paid a premium for. The view itself is half obstructed because of the poorly designed wood sliding doors. Had to move the couch to the middle of the room to get half a view ! Room also came with free half eaten dirt pretzels behind the couch ! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY ON THIS MUSTY OUTDATED NIGHTMARE OF THE SEA !!!

Room Tip: Your best bet is to choose a room anywhere but here !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We just stayed in the ocean front building on the 2nd floor. It is not what is pictured here in the website. There is no ocean view unless you are on the lanai. the oceanfront rooms in the building closest to the beach have bedrooms in the parking lot side of the building, not the ocean front. Sitting on the couch you cannot even see the view. I will never stay here again. The staff even stated that they have spoken to corporate about updating their photos and they agree that the site is misleading. We ended up pulling the couch up to the front of the lanai and sleeping on the pull out coach and leaving the doors open the entire time and thus got our ocean view bedroom. Also, we did not have pool towels in our room . We called to ask for them and they never arrived.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the building that is close to the ocean. We were told that the views pictured here o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Well furnished, beautiful, big rooms with kitchen. Very clean. Beach towels, bikes, deck chairs at beach all included. Very good breakfast. Easy to find, close to lighthouse. Beautiful garden, nice pool, however rather deep for small children. Quiet rooms, comfortable beds. Only minus point is that room service is rather slow. Wenn we arrived at 4.30 pm the room was not prepared yet and once it was done only at 5 pm. Lobby closes at 5 pm. Nice porch with moskito net. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 7 days and wish we could've stayed longer. The location was perfect, staff was wonderful, our cleaning lady was so friendly, smiled and spoke every time we saw her. Breakfast was really good and bikes were a treat!!! We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at Song of the Sea for 4 nights and will return again. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The property is small and older but well maintained. Beds were comfy. Breakfast was good. Loved being able to sign out bikes and the beach was beautiful. Bottle of wine a nice touch. Can't wait to return.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We went to Sanibel Island for a wedding. We had never been there before so didn't know where to book or what to expect. The Song of the Sea was wonderful. Nicely furnished, wonderful kitchen in room and right across the road from the beach! Woke up every morning and sat in our screened in porch facing the ocean. Would definitely recommend this place to others!

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#14 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 919 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#21 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#18 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
4.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#19 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song of the Sea

Address: 863 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Song of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song of the Sea is a romantic Beachfront European style inn located on beautiful Sanibel Island. This intimate inn offers individualized personal service with picturesque views of the beach and the warm Gulf waters on the horizon. To welcome each guest, the Inn offers a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. The newly updated guestrooms and suites feature rich combinations of mahogany toned wood and wicker combined with fabrics in shades that mimic the sun-soaked sand just steps away. After a day in the sun, relax by watching the new 42" flat panel television or enjoy a glass of wine on the screened balcony. All of the accommodations feature demi-kitchens to create the perfect vacation home away from home. Greet each morning with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with make your own waffles, an assortment of breakfast breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in a beautiful setting on the Inn’s lanai. After breakfast, relax by the pool and spa or take a long bicycle tour of the island’s 23 miles of bike paths. The bicycles are compliments of Song of the Sea. Explore the natural beauty of Sanibel, with two thirds of the island a nature preserve, or find a special treasure in one of the shops on Periwinkle Drive. Whether you chose to relax or explore, Song of the Sea gives each guest the peaceful solitude to reconnect with nature and loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Song of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Song Of The Sea Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Song of the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.