We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, relaxing time on Sanibel Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Song of the Sea

Save Saved
You added Song of the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Song of the Sea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   863 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 28 hotels in Sanibel Island
A TripAdvisor Member
“A wonderful, relaxing time on Sanibel Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at Song of the Sea with my wife's parents and had a great time. Excellent, friendly service, especially from Cheryl, the Manager. Good free breakfast, free bikes, beautiful beach, warm pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    148
    42
    17
    12
See reviews for
48
327
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grove City, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I arrived late in the evening ,expecting a beautiful room with great view .what we got was none of the above.it was old and rundown.we were in room 4132 (dump) we had a king size bed in a queen size room no dresser in bedroom had to change in living room .my husband had to walk sideways along the wall to get in bed the so called safe didn't work.this was apart of honeymoon I would like to forget.the information in the room said you could smoke by pool the manager told us it was smoke free resort ,but we could smoke by laundry room or in parking lot away from building and that information in room was wrong.we will never go back. PLEASE PRINT THIS $300.00 a night never again, !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Everything was perfect. Great room, wonderful staff and love the breakfast. This was our most relaxing vacation ever. The Song of the Sea makes for a great base to explore Sanibel and Captiva Island. This was our long delayed 25th anniversay trip and was worth the wait. We kept wishing our daughter was with us because she would have made good use of the free bikes.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We returned to Song of the Sea for our 20th anniversary after first visiting there 5 years ago. We had a lovely room overlooking the sea and for two weeks found ourselves savoring every moment of the day and night only steps from an endless shell beach, a lovely pool area, a perfect outdoor breakfast patio, or quiet time reading on our screened porch overlooking the rolling waves and lovely palms.

How wonderful to greet every sunrise at ocean's edge then go to breakfast in a secluded courtyard and enjoy the friendly and attentive staff who came to know us by name and took good care of helping us get a fine breakfast and help plan our day. Perhaps, once outside, we spoke to other couples in that special cameraderie of travellers sharing the same experience....the intimacy of the Inn, only 30 rooms, lent itself to this experience here and at the pool area.

We did create a dinner spot in our room at the gentle round table and chairs, and ate some lovely meals by candlelight with the night sky and sounding waves echoing from our screened porch. Other nights we dined out and enjoyed great jazz and fine theater.

Perhaps best of all, we came and went from Song of the Sea as we would from our home. Off for a visit to Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge to see the wonderful birds or an afternoon by boat on Tarpon Bay or a lovely dinner at the Lighthouse Cafe or an endless sunny afternoon shelling and walking to the Sanibel Lighthouse and watching the diving pelicans and mother and baby dolphin by the fishing pier.

Homelike, a place of belonging and comfort at this tiny inn on this special Island that is so full of nature and enchantment....that was our experience at Song of the Sea...we hope to return again next January as our northern world turns cold and grey, to recapture the paradise we have found.

Room Tip: Always ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed for the first time at Song of the Sea in early January 2013, and found it to be perfect for my needs. I was vacationing alone for a few days and wanted solitude, comfort, and easy beach access. The east end location turned out to be ideal for beach walking, and I appreciated being away from the busier Periwinkle Way district. The room was modest and unpretentious but fully equipped - a decent bathroom with lots of counter space, a full refrig and small oven/stove, a microwave, a small sink for dishes... and the furnished screened porch facing the beautifully landscaped inner courtyard/pool area was delightful. The tile floor could have been a litle more scrupulously swept by housekeeping. The complimentary bottle of red wine my first night was lovely, as is their daily buffet breakfast spread. They have basic loaner bicycles available for free on the grounds, but I upgraded to a multispeed from Billy's Rentals and had a great time for two long days, covering the island from end to end and over to Captiva, and all through the Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge. Song of the Sea staff were exceptionally cordial and helpful. I had a wonderful time and would recommend it for those seeking a down-to-earth getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The grounds are well maintained and they have a great breakfast buffet. Our room was ocean front and we had a great view. The pool and hot tub area was very nice. The tile in the unit was sealed so it looked worn and dirty, but overall the unit was clean. The bathroom had been updated, but they hung the shower rod too high so the shower curtain hung outside of the tub. The king sized bed was situated in the room so that you had 10 inches between the end and the wall. The pull out couch needed to be replaced and was uncomfortable. We booked for a week but left after 2 nights because the bed was very hard. The staff was very understanding and apologetic, but they had no other beds to move us to. Overall this place was just above average, was slightly overpriced, but we would probably stay here again if the beds and sofa were replaced.

Room Tip: The pool king suites on the second floor are roomier
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in January and really did enjoy our stay. Below are the pros and cons of Song of the Sea
Pros
1. Great location. Easy access to the beach.
2. Very helpful and friendly staff.
3. Bike rental included. This is very handy and worked out great for seeing the island.
4. Overall quite atmosphere .
5. A decent breakfast is also included.

Cons
1. Rooms are a little dated. I would not consider it a luxury property.
2. No restaurant or pool side service. Although, you can use the sister property next door that does.
3. Not clearly marked as to where and how you check in.
4. It would be nice if no children were allowed. If you are going to advertise it for couples keep it that way. I love children but sometimes we all need a break from them.

We would definitely return to the area and while we would not be opposed to returning we may also check a few other places out to see if we are getting our moneys worth.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Song of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song of the Sea

Also Known As:
Song Of The Sea Hotel Sanibel Island
Song Of The Sea Hotel
Address: 863 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sanibel Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Song of the Sea 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song of the Sea is a romantic Beachfront European style inn located on beautiful Sanibel Island. This intimate inn offers individualized personal service with picturesque views of the beach and the warm Gulf waters on the horizon. To welcome each guest, the Inn offers a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. The newly updated guestrooms and suites feature rich combinations of mahogany toned wood and wicker combined with fabrics in shades that mimic the sun-soaked sand just steps away. After a day in the sun, relax by watching the new 42" flat panel television or enjoy a glass of wine on the screened balcony. All of the accommodations feature demi-kitchens to create the perfect vacation home away from home. Greet each morning with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with make your own waffles, an assortment of breakfast breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in a beautiful setting on the Inn’s lanai. After breakfast, relax by the pool and spa or take a long bicycle tour of the island’s 23 miles of bike paths. The bicycles are compliments of Song of the Sea. Explore the natural beauty of Sanibel, with two thirds of the island a nature preserve, or find a special treasure in one of the shops on Periwinkle Drive. Whether you chose to relax or explore, Song of the Sea gives each guest the peaceful solitude to reconnect with nature and loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Song of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Song of the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.