We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Song of the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Song of the Sea to your Saves list
Song of the Sea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   863 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Was very relaxing, and the front desk was very helpful and friendly. We were not expecting so many kids as the reviews had said this was more for adults, but we still enjoyed our stay. I wish the units had a broom so as to try to keep the sand out.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor king, It was not worth the extra money, could just barely see the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    184
    49
    19
    16
See reviews for
65
401
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were stalwart guests of Capitva's South Seas Plantation, until along came Charley and then Wilma; wiping out the place we loved to spend our anniversary. We were offered Song of the Sea, and we decided to never go back to South Seas. We've stayed 7 years in a row. It's our getaway place. No kids. No teens. No craziness. Just a quiet, pretty, well maintained place that has everything you want nearby...just not there.

Room Tip: gulf facing suites are dandy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was our 4th time staying at Song of the Sea, so that says we like it there. We like the location on the island, the intimacy of the hotel (not a big establishment), the bikes which we use to get around because we don't always rent a car, the beach with the loungers and sun umbrellas. We stayed at a time when we received a $100 credit to use at the restaurant next door (the hotels are affiliated). It's just peaceful there, everyone is nice and the other guests are quiet, mostly couples (middle aged, like us!) We like the free NYTimes that we can read in the outside patio breakfast area (reminds me of Europe). The pool and hot tub were very clean and quiet too. The only thing to make mention of, the hotel is working on this issue, are the tile floors in the rooms. The grout appears dirty, we had them do a deep tile cleaning of our floors the day we arrived. They were very quick to address our concern. We do hope the hotel management gets going on the floors very soon. Go anyway though it's not awful, just needs to be done very soon. Remember it's the beach. Go and relax!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights for our anniversary in early November. We are in our late 30s. The hotel was very inline with the Trip Adviosr comments and met our expectations. Older property and very well maintained. Front desk was very helpful with local suggestions. The quant setting of only 30 rooms was a primary factor in our decision. The free breakfast was great. More than a typical continental offered by most. Free beach chairs/umbrellas are great benefits to a hotel "on the beach". The free bycylces were very helpful. I would definitely recommend a replacement schedule of a couple bikes per year with new ones that have speeds (gears).

We had a second floor oceanfront suite. Great view! Would suggest a pricing differential from first floor since it doesn't have the full view. Bathrooms are remodeled inclusive of granite counters. Kitchenette is older. However still looks nice, but could benefit with granite counters and new cabinets. The louvered blinds on the slider were annoying. If you open the slider door, you must close the blinds on the other half of door, which prevents the premium view of the Gulf. The tile floor showed alot of scarring particuarly with some stains from a prior rug. These are just minor suggestions for improvement. Very happen with our choice. Would stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

When we drove up we were kind of wondering if we booked a good place. It looked a bit old and well worn, but it just got better the minute we checked in. We were several hours early and went in to ask if we could leave the car there until it was time for check-in. Francky (yes, that is how it was spelled) said our room was ready and we could go ahead and unload. When we opened the door and stepped in we were greeted with a complimentary bottle of wine. The place is not new, but it is fixed up very nice. I thought of the movie Casa Blanca when I saw the shuttered windows. Each room has a little screened in patio with several chairs. Off our patio was an exit out to the pool and to the beach...the beach was about 200 yards away. There are great paved bike trails on Sanibel and the motel provided free bicycles to use. The breakfast treats were good and there was a nice outside area of tables at which to sit and enjoy you meal. If we stay in Sanibel again it will be at Song of the Sea.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at Song of the Seas for 4 days over Thanksgiving. The staff was helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the complimentary beach lounge chairs and umbrellas. We stayed in one of the Oceanfront Boutique Suites on the 2nd floor (Chelsea suite ... room 4137, I believe). The king sized bed had a good matress and comfortable sleeping. 2nd floor is highly recommended if you want ocean views. The view from the first floor oceanfront suites are blocked by the natural brush. The room was quaint, clean; but not upscale. What stood out for us was the peacefulness of the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor oceanfront room for ocean views. 1st floor cannot see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Simply stylish. Cozy comfortable community on the most beautiful shell beaches.
Location is wonderful. Easy walk to the beach for elderly. Umbrellas and beach chairs available ..dolphin boat cruise is a must!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#16 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#21 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#18 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 997 reviews
4.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#19 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 745 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song of the Sea

Address: 863 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Song of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song of the Sea is a romantic Beachfront European style inn located on beautiful Sanibel Island. This intimate inn offers individualized personal service with picturesque views of the beach and the warm Gulf waters on the horizon. To welcome each guest, the Inn offers a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. The newly updated guestrooms and suites feature rich combinations of mahogany toned wood and wicker combined with fabrics in shades that mimic the sun-soaked sand just steps away. After a day in the sun, relax by watching the new 42" flat panel television or enjoy a glass of wine on the screened balcony. All of the accommodations feature demi-kitchens to create the perfect vacation home away from home. Greet each morning with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with make your own waffles, an assortment of breakfast breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in a beautiful setting on the Inn’s lanai. After breakfast, relax by the pool and spa or take a long bicycle tour of the island’s 23 miles of bike paths. The bicycles are compliments of Song of the Sea. Explore the natural beauty of Sanibel, with two thirds of the island a nature preserve, or find a special treasure in one of the shops on Periwinkle Drive. Whether you chose to relax or explore, Song of the Sea gives each guest the peaceful solitude to reconnect with nature and loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TravelClick so you can book your Song of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Song Of The Sea Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Song of the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.