We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Song of the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Song of the Sea to your Saves list
Song of the Sea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   863 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Marshall, IL.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very nice very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and i spent 7 days at Song of the Sea. The room was great, bed and pillows were outstanding. The grounds were well kept.The breakfast was good and plentiful.
i must say that Cheryl and Kristy were two of the very best and most friendly people i have ever met at any hotel, they went out of there way to make you feel like you were home. All in all we will stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    176
    48
    18
    16
See reviews for
61
386
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Spent 5 nights at Song of the Sea and can't say enough good things about our entire stay. The room was clean and comfortable with the most comfortable bed and pillows we've ever slept on. We had a 2nd floor room overlooking the pool, but had a view of the Gulf from our lanai. The continental breakfast was more than adequate and convenient. We would take the very short walk to the beach 1st thing in the morning, then throw a cover-up over our bathing suits and go to breakfast before heading back to the beach. The atmosphere was relaxed, friendly and comfortable. The staff was attentive and very friendly, but not intrusive. Many times we felt we were on our own private island. We enjoyed the pool and Jacuzzi almost as much as we enjoyed the Gulf. Would recommend the Song of the Sea to anyone that wants a relaxing, comfortable, convenient and affordable vacation.We know we'll be going back.

Room Tip: Second floor had beautiful views and we didn't have to worry about anyone walking by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is the perfect location if you are looking for a relaxing get-away either as a couple or a guys/girls weekend!! You are greeted by friendly staff, a clean and updated room, beautiful views, perfectly manicured property, a bottle of wine and the sound of the gulf waves. With free breakfast on the terrace, free parking and free bike rentals this little piece of paradise is definitely worth the nightly rate. Once you arrive you never have to drive again, all of the local restaurants, attractions and beaches are within a bike ride...and the island provides beautiful bike paths with rest areas and water fountains along the way. We absolutely LOVED our four day weekend at Song of the Sea on Sanibel Island and will be returning as soon as possible!!

Room Tip: In our opinion there is no bad room...with only 30 in-site...everyone is quiet and has a beautiful v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I booked 3 nights at the Song of the Sea and enjoyed our one day and night but had to come home due to the storm. We stayed in one of the beachfront boutique suites and it was lovely. The view was amazing and we always love having the convenience of a full kitchen. The day on the beach was windy but there was a gentleman coming by to make sure our beach umbrellas (a perk of the resort) were secure and the chairs were up to par. The night was noisy only due to the wind otherwise the parking lot was full but we did not hear any noise. We are generally chill people but the one thing that may not make everyone happy was the size of the bedroom in the suite. There was a wonderful king size bed but it filled the whole room and was difficult to get around! I think a queen size bed would have been a better fit. The front desk was very kind when we told them we needed to go home due to the storm and there was no issues with the bill. We were bummed we had to leave and look forward to our return. FYI if you like birds you will love the many species on the beach!

Room Tip: beachfront boutique suite is worth the bit of extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We picked the perfect spot. A lovely quaint hotel for our Birthday Weekend! The staff was Great! We had a 1st floor Pool view room. The pool was nice. and a short walk to the beach. They had a great selection at the continental breakfast every morning. We took a bike ride every day and explored the island. We can’t wait to plan our next trip. And we will be staying at the Song of the Sea. Thanks Cheryl and Staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Song of the Sea a charming, small hotel located right on the beach and it also has a lovely pool. The room was very comfortable and quiet. The staff--especially Cheryl at the front desk--was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included--a nice variety of waffles, bagels and muffins, fruit, cereals, juices and coffee--which you can enjoy at tables outdoors. The hotel also has free bikes that you can borrow but they are pretty old and rusty. However, we used them and we were able to get all around the island on them. Having free WiFi and a daily New York Times newspaper was great. We've visited Sanibel very often and usually we rent a condo on the beach for an entire week. This trip, we only could stay three nights and that's why we gave Song of the Sea a try. I would recommend it for a relaxing stay on beautiful Sanibel.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the building facing the Gulf on the second level. There is no elevator but the staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Song of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song of the Sea

Address: 863 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Song of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song of the Sea is a romantic Beachfront European style inn located on beautiful Sanibel Island. This intimate inn offers individualized personal service with picturesque views of the beach and the warm Gulf waters on the horizon. To welcome each guest, the Inn offers a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. The newly updated guestrooms and suites feature rich combinations of mahogany toned wood and wicker combined with fabrics in shades that mimic the sun-soaked sand just steps away. After a day in the sun, relax by watching the new 42" flat panel television or enjoy a glass of wine on the screened balcony. All of the accommodations feature demi-kitchens to create the perfect vacation home away from home. Greet each morning with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with make your own waffles, an assortment of breakfast breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in a beautiful setting on the Inn’s lanai. After breakfast, relax by the pool and spa or take a long bicycle tour of the island’s 23 miles of bike paths. The bicycles are compliments of Song of the Sea. Explore the natural beauty of Sanibel, with two thirds of the island a nature preserve, or find a special treasure in one of the shops on Periwinkle Drive. Whether you chose to relax or explore, Song of the Sea gives each guest the peaceful solitude to reconnect with nature and loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Song of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Song Of The Sea Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Song of the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.