We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“303 Pine Cove. We love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Cove of Sanibel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Cove of Sanibel
Save Saved
You added Pine Cove of Sanibel to your Saves list
2501 W Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 27 hotels in Sanibel Island
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“303 Pine Cove. We love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

What Fun! We loved this unit! The view is spectacular and the rooms are huge. We sat on the lanai every evening at sunset and looked over the dunes to the Gulf. It's secluded and private, but still near everything—shopping, restaurants, even Ding Darling. We’ll be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I liked the location of Pine Cove, less than 1/3 mile walk to the Bailey tract which is great for seeing wildlife, less than a mile to Bailey's market, Over Easy Café, etc. It's angled right on the beach so viewing the sunset is great. It's small, only 16 units, a very nice pool and hot tub with a covered decking area so you aren't constantly in the sun, very nice gas grills, and beautiful landscaping. Parking is covered. I wanted to like the unit (#303) but there was too much to overcome. I can't recommend staying in Pine Cove 303.

The pool and hot tub are in front of the unit, and the housing for the mechanics is just below the unit and we found it to be particularly noisy. You will have a not insignificant humming noise 24/7, and if you are sensitive to that kind of noise, it could be problematic. The noise gets more intense when the hot-tub is turned on and it drove me off the lanai at times. The pool maintenance guy comes most mornings between 6:30-6:45 and makes a fair amount of noise puttering with the mechanics, opening up the housing and providing all the wake up noise you may desire.

I was shocked with the lack of cleanliness of the unit itself. Basic housekeeping, such as cleaning the floors and the kitchen had been done, but there is a significant amount of "decorator items" that hadn't been cleaned in a very long time. The many silk foliage arrangements, bowls of smelly potpourri, and pillar candles were encrusted with dust and grime and soot. The baseboards, lampshades, tops of wall mounted hair dryers were likewise covered with an accumulation of dust. The wallpaper from the bathrooms had been removed and the rooms repainted, but the outlet covers and light switches were sticky from old wallpaper glue that hadn't been cleaned off. The dining room chairs are old white ultra suede and grimy and stained. A rotting lampshade in the living room put the final touches on the overall neglect of the place. Some of this may be the fault of the rental agency, but there is so much stuff in the unit that it would almost be impossible to keep clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We came back to Pine Cove because we found it to be exactly what we wanted last year, small, quiet, well maintained, amazing beach. This time we were in #303 and it was even better than the last time, found it a bit better maintained with no strange smells. The view of the beach is better being on the third floor. I found the reservation company very nice, easy to do business with and can't even begin to tell you how nice and caring the owner is!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We love Sanibel and especially love the accomodations at Pine Cove Unit #C. The unit is beautifully furnished with everything we need. You can sit on the bacony and watch the ocean. The location is a convenient walk to restaurants and shopping. We love to bike ride around the island, swim in the pool and ocean and just explore. Don't miss the Ding Darling Preserve! We can't wait to go back to Pine Cove at Sanibel!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Stayed in 102, only complaint is that the area rugs needed a cleaning,the wicker furniture had an odd smell to it and I think they had just sprayed for ants because there was a chemical type odor in the kitchen. As with most vacation condos there are things that would be better maintained if someone lived there but not in any way that would ruin a trip.
The view was beautiful, could see the pool and ocean from the balcony, restaurants just a quick drive away and the place was QUIET!!! I never sleep well away from home but I did here.
Stop at the Super Walmart or Publix in Fort Myers and get food for breakfast and lunch and then eat like a pig for dinner, there are more places to eat dinner, no fast food restaurants at all.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Cove of Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cove of Sanibel

Address: 2501 W Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Also Known As:
Pine Cove Of Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Cove of Sanibel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;