We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parrot Nest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Parrot Nest to your Saves list
Parrot Nest
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1237 Anhigna Lane, Sanibel Island, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Sanibel Island B&B and Inns
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Quiet and clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at the Parrot Nest for 3 days. The apartment was clean and well stocked with towels.
The sleep number bed was not our favorite. We never did get to meet the inkeepers.
The inn is at near lighthouse beach. Very nice and quiet area.
We both wished the inn had a pool. It would have felt good to jump in after a hot day at the beach.
Took a ride on the Sanibel Thriller. A lot of fun. Would do it again.

We liked our stay but I think next time we would enjoy a spot closer to the main restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, Manager at Parrot Nest, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Aloha from Sanibel,
Thank you for finding our accommodations clean and well stocked as we have equipped, cleaned and decorated each Suite with our own hands and hearts.
Sorry you did not enjoy your Sleep Number bed dressed in 800 thread count linens and piled with hypo allergenic feather down pillows and covered with all cotton quilt. Most guests find our beds a main reason to return year after year.
Also, as we now have two inns in our Sanibel family of inns, our guests of the Parrot Nest are welcome to come and swim at our sister inn, the Kona Kai of Sanibel, anytime the pool is open.
Perhaps the Kona Kai which is in the heart of the island would have been a better choice for you than the privacy, romance, seclusion and quiet offered by the Parrot Nest's location.

Mahalo for your thoughts, Brenda......parrot in charge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
42
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

We had a hugh appartment with kitchen in the room, terrace, barbecue. Brenda has styled the place with Love. It's pretty clean and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Parrot Nest was perfect for our getaway for wildlife and photography. The 1950s-style room was spacious and the private patio was sooooo relaxing! The setup got us into Sanibel Time (slow down!) 4 blocks to the beach, easy on foot. We walked over at low tide our last evening and took photos of all the animals, while picking up empty shells. Although the inn is not new, our room had an updated bath, kitchen, table & chairs for eating. Do take a look at the photos here of our room - it didn't exactly look like the one featured first for this inn. Decorating was basic, but that was just fine with us. If we return to Sanibel sometime, this will be the first inn I try for lodging.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We wanted a getaway where we could kick back and do what we please - biking, beachwalking, a little cooking, some nice dining adventures- being in nature and away from crowds. We were delighted to speak with Lenny and Brenda and they suggested the Parrot Nest. We rented the Doll House cottage for a week in early February. We had a great little kitchen and nice patio area where we had our breakfast and our afternoon happy-hours.There was even a little mini putt! Brenda, the manager is so helpful, friendly and customer focused and did we say fun! We had an osprey couple in the Norfolk Pine outside our cottage so it was a real treat learning more about its habits- imagine right in our back yard! We could walk to the beach with our chairs which were provided and of course the ice cream right up the road made the holiday complete. We loved being on the east end of Sanibel- quieter and we could bike the "backway" to the shops on Periwinkle for supplies or lunch.
A great spot for a laid back vacation!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

The Parrot Nest is a lovely little inn on the quiet end of Sanibel. We have been coming back to the Parrot now for six years and look forward to returning again next Febraury. Brenda, the manager, truly does treat her guests as family and is the exclamation mark on our very pleasant experience. RWG Kalamazoo

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gahanna, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

My partner and I were at the Parrot Nest in February 2012. We had a totally lovely stay. Brenda treated us like family and made us feel so welcome. She gave us some great restaurant suggestions, and there was a book in the room that lists all or most of the restaurants on Sanibel and Captiva. The Parrot Nest is in what seems to be a very quiet area. You do have a 5 minute walk to get to the beach, but its a lovely walk and the private patio area was very nice to sit outside and enjoy the lovely weather. A very nice touch is that Brenda has beach chairs and beach towels available at all times for your use. Having beach towels on hand means you have one less bulky thing to pack! Is the Parrot Nest fancy? No. Is it clean? Yes. We would absolutely stay there again next time we come to Sanibel. If you are looking for a quiet getaway, this is the place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

These comfortable and well decorated rooms make a nice trip top Sanibel even better.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parrot Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Nest

Address: 1237 Anhigna Lane, Sanibel Island, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Parrot Nest 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parrot Nest is a small inn with only six suites on over an acre of lush tropical land on the quiet east end of the island, near the lighthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Parrot Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Nest Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parrot Nest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.