We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and close to the airport with free shuttle starting at 5 a.m.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3401 S. Orlando Drive, (US17-92), Sanford, FL 32773-5607 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Sanford / Lake Mary Area)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sanford
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
“Nice and close to the airport with free shuttle starting at 5 a.m.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed there for one night before flying home....room was pleasant, bed comfortable. Was very happy that we were able to have a continental breakfast before boarding on the free airport shuttle at 5 a.m. Staff was very friendly, would definitely stay there again if we have an early flight out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikesh S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    81
    49
    26
    20
See reviews for
103
72
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

1st room had bugs they moved us to a room on the 1st floor with ceiling tiles missing because of a plumbing issue opening the door to the room the smell of vomit. After a long day of traveling and catching an early flight go to turn on the water no water the plumbing to the room had been turned off. We jumped in the car and headed for the hilton garden. I would never stay at a best western again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikesh S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
I apologize for the issue you experienced during you time at the hotel, as you stated we had a major pipe break that caused a lot of issues, which is the reason for the smell. We have had someone in to mitigate the issues. I do apologize for the issues, and hope you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Only hotel within the Orlando Disney area available for Aeroplan reward redemption. About 40 minutes from the attractions, hotel amenites very basic. Old air conditioner, old furniture and room decor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikesh S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for your review, i apologize that you didn't like the decor, we just put in new carpet, drapes, art, new bathrooms, hallway carpet, lobby, etc in June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Grove, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel looks up to date. We were able to check in early. The room had a little musty smell which might have been because it was a jacuzzi room (Room 221). The hall didn't have the musty smell. The Jacuzzi didn't work, and the maintenance guy seemed very upset that he couldn't get it fixed for us while we were there. It was still nice to soak in a giant tub of hot water even without the bubbles. The bed was really comfy! We took a nice long afternoon nap. Our evening was disrupted by a drunk lady down the hall who had somehow broken a water line in her room and then made a huge scene in the hall about the whole thing. This was followed by a few hours of listening to the carpet cleaner sucking up all the water from the hall. On the plus side, the desk clerk cut our rate in half for the commotion. And hot breakfast was ready early, so I got my waffle before my early flight out. Yay! And their coffee doesn't leave a nasty after taste like some hotel coffees. That's important to me since I'm a coffee junkee.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikesh S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
I am so sorry for the Pipe break and all the issues it caused during your stay, i will you will be back again and we will have lots of coffee waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a below average hotel. The owner needs to invest in new mattresses. The springs were broken and it made it difficult to stay on the bed. We found some type of bug in the room. I'm not sure what it was. The owner has attempted to face lift the hotel but didn't invest the money in a good nights sleep. The front desk in friendly and helpful but jeans are not appropriate for a first appearance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikesh S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
I am so sorry about the mattress, i have contacted Serta to have them replay the one in the room, we just updated all the mattress last year. I am sorry for the palmetto bug in the room, Truly Nolan has come and check the room. I am happy to hear that the front desk was friendly and helpful, and i hope you will give us a try again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for one night prior to flying out of SFB. The room was clean for the most part. Hangers in closest were very dusty, and shower curtain smelled mildly of mildew. The beds were not very comfortable. And the walls were very thin. It's very close to the airport, and the staff were nice enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikesh S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your review, i appreciate all the feedback, and will make sure we address all your concerns. I hope you will come back an visit us on your next tip so we can show you the improvements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had our ups and downs with this property. We found it a bit musty smelling, and while the humidity was high, some ventilation and febreeze would go long way. We also had trouble parking our car as the lot was full from people who leave their cars there while they travel from the nearby airport. Not so good if you're a current guest. Having said that the room was clean, although on the small side, and the complimentary breakfast was appreciated. We did opt to stay elsewhere on the way back however.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikesh S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your review, i am sorry about the humidity in the air, and the parking lot being full. I hope you will give us a another chance to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel

Address: 3401 S. Orlando Drive, (US17-92), Sanford, FL 32773-5607 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Sanford / Lake Mary Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Sanford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 4 and is an easy drive from Orlando. You may feel like touring attractions like Disney World® and Universal Studios® Orlando or there is other nearby family fun, including the Central Florida Zoo, Marina and Daytona International Speedway®. Guest who stay at our hotel have perks like an airport shuttle (shuttle hours 5:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.), Internet access and a delicious hot breakfast every morning. So retreat to the sunshine state and experience the best of central Florida with a name you can trust and at a price you can afford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sanford / Lake Mary Area Hotel Sanford
Holiday Inn Sanford
Sanford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sanford Airport/Lake Mary Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.