We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely terrible.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Palms Island Resort & Marina

Palms Island Resort & Marina
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Palms Island Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Palms Island Resort & Marina
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 N Palmetto Ave, Sanford, FL 32771   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sanford
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

First room wasn't made up. Poor mgr tried hard but pool was closed, telephone in room didn't work, no coffee machine in room, no hot water, tv doesn't work. We're leaving and going to the Holiday Inn Express. I should have read the other reviews first!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    0
    5
    18
See reviews for
Families
0
12
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

You would be better off sleeping in your car. This place seriously sucks!
We stayed in a "remolded" room. It was old, filthy and bug infested.
We were going to stay for two days but was waiting at the front door to the office at 0800. No one was there. We waited until 10:00 and still no one was there.
We left later that day and the woman got all huffy when I told her how long we waited for her. She just said that she was late. She said that we would get a refund on the night that we didn't stay when we mailed the key back. I mailed it back the next day and here it is 3 days later and no money refunded. There is no breakfast, as promised, there isn't even a coffee pot in your room. The room smelled of cat urine and the carpet felt greasy.
This is a flop house for crackheads. I still feel bug bites from sleeping there!
I can't say enough bad things about this dump. So, take my advice and do not stay here.
This filthy crack house should be closed down and the city of Sanford, as corrupt as it may be, should be ashamed to allow this place to be open.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

This hotel suffers from management and staff that DO NOT CARE. We had to replace bulbs to have light, share one towel set and share the rooms with bugs both dead & alive. Watched the cleaning staff neander the property, but never really clean anything! Too bad this ideal location is NOT worth the stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

This place is horrible, bugs in and outside the hotel. Curtains filled with dead spiders, electrical junction boxes exposed on the floor easily to catch fire (room 220). The day staff was horrible. No towels, no soap, no shampoo. The old man did not care about the service. He said "you can go home and I will not charge you". I beg you, not to stay at this place. They do not keep this hotel clean and it is disgusting. No wi-fi even in their lobby. You will walk through a wall of bugs in the parking lot near the 100-120's rooms. I have photos that I am sending to the owners of this facility

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Do not be fooled by the title.This is nothing but a cheap MOTEL
We booked in advance on line to be near the airport for our return journey to the UK. 3 nights to chill out after a great holiday in Florida
THEY PROUDLY BOAST!!!!!
A LOUNGE, they mean the chairs in reception
TEA & COFFEE machine. not in our room
HAIR DRYER not in our room
RESTAURANT.closed
PUB. closed
COMPLIMENTERY BREAKFAST no
COMPLIMENTERY NEWSPAPER. no
LAST RENOVATED 2006.you must be joking
SWIMMING POOL. yes but with debris and dirt in the bottom, oh dont forget the local ducks swimming in it.
PET FRIENDLY. thats great if you want to listen to dogs barking because they were locked in the room while owners were out
MUSIC AT THE POOL SIDE BAR. no customers just the bartender at 11 30 at night with one cd try sleeping with that blaring out after a long drive.When we complained theydid turn it down
DE LUXE ROOMS. only because it was next to the pool. Dirty doesnt come near, if you like cockroaches they have em . On our 1st full day we came back to our room after a day out 4.30pm wanting a nice shower and a chill out before going to eat. beds not made up wet, dirty towels still in the bath where we left them at 9am that morning, no remote for the TV, when receptionist brought it to us we were told "if it doesnt work ring me and I'll see what I can do.
24HOUR RECEPTION. We tried t check out at 9.15 am but the reception was closed with a paper stuck on the door saying "open at 9 am " we came back at 10 am after getting a breakfast and the guy on reception looked and appeared as if he had been on a bender the night before

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Over the last 2 years we have stayed here 4 times (x single nights ) as we are fond of historical sanford, and enjoy evenings there, but never again staying at this place. The place was adequate and cheap on our first visit, had coffee makers in room, and a basic breakfast, but has deteriorated rapidly since. First room had 3 large dead cockroach type insects in the room, and a dirty towel left at the back of the bathroom door, when the key eventually worked. 2nd room, as a replacement, had a very old fridge in which were 20+ tiny flies - dead, and late in the evening found another dead cockroach.
Our friends staying in an adjacent room had sparks and loud bangs from the air con in the middle of the night as it broke - a significant health and safety issue.
We were unable to make comment to the staff on the second issues as the door were locked to reception, and noone was around as we left prior to 9.00, so keys were left at the door.
I would not advise anyone to use this place unless desperate.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

There is a lot of lost potential at this location. Rooms marked as "non-smoking" reaked of smoke, unbearable. Mildew and mold in shower/tub. Office did not open til 9AM daily. Ducks were swimming in the motel pool at 7AM. Very unsanitary. No coffee and nowhere to get breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palms Island Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms Island Resort & Marina

Address: 530 N Palmetto Ave, Sanford, FL 32771
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Sanford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Palms Island Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Palms Island Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Island Resort And Marina
Palms Island Resort & Marina Hotel Sanford
Palms Hotel And Marina
Palms Hotel Sanford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palms Island Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.