We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manatee Snorkling and boat cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fun 2 Dive Scuba, Snorkeling and Manatee Tours

Fun 2 Dive Scuba, Snorkeling and Manatee Tours
618 South Laurel, Sanford, FL 32771
+1 888-588-3483
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun 2 Dive / Capt Joe is a Professional Eco-tour guide service that has been guiding customers for the past 31 years. We also offers Scuba / Snorkeling tours and training through out Florida. For the certified scuba divers we dive wrecks, reefs, caverns and springs. For a true Florida Eco-Adventure and my favorite, our manatee snorkeling trip which is offered only as a full day tour, with a very small group up to 6 people. This is great for the whole family 3 years an up, is all-inclusive and the best thing is NO EXPERIENCE REQUIRED. Only Capt Joe runs this tour, and is a certified in-water guide and Instructor from several accredited agencies. Since we run this as a Eco-Tour Capt Joe is also a Florida Naturalist from the University of Florida / IFAS To a full scuba certification, and many specialty classes from top rated Instructors. Our shop / office is centrally located in Sanford Florida. To meet at the shop reservations are required, since we're the guides and do not hire outside help. The Sanford locates is where we conduct all scuba diver training, snorkeling and swimming lessons. Our trips, range from the Orlando area, Crystal River, and West Palm Beach. Depending on which tour you decide to take. We can meet you at the shop or at the boat, which is ever easier for you. Most of our trips are with in 1.5 hours of Orlando. Thanks for looking! Capt Joe
Useful Information: Activities for older children
INNERKIP
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Manatee Snorkling and boat cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Captain Joe was fantastic, we had a wonderful time swimming with the manatees. Captain Joe also took us for a boat ride following some dolphins in their natural environment. I would recommend Fun 2 dive 100%, we were never rushed and we probably saw 50 manatees.
If you are looking for an individual private tour with out the crowds of people this is definitely worth the money. Take advantage of Captain Joes pictures , they are great and very reasonably priced. Thanks Captain Joe from the Russell family

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    9
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Longwood, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The only tour to go on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My sister and I chartered a manatee eco-tour with Captain Joe of Fun2Dive. We liked the fact that they only do small groups, maximum of 6 people, and they only do one tour per day. Captain Joe told us about the rules and regulations regarding the manatees, and then we set off to find them. Before long, Captain Joe pulled up to the Three Sister's Spring location, and we were amazed at how many manatees were in the sanctuary outside the Three Sister's Spring! There must have been 50 manatees swimming and sleeping. We got into the water and Captain Joe guided us up into the Three Sister's Spring, where we saw another 30-35 manatees in clear water. Joe told us to be very quiet and respectful around the resting manatees. We noticed other groups making a lot of noise, and the manatees would just swim away from those people. We were able to stay as long as we liked, Captain Joe did not rush us like some of the other tour companies do. We stayed in the water for a good 2-3 hours, and Joe took some awesome pictures of us and the manatees, which we bought for a reasonable price. We were able to share our photos with the rest of our family when we got back home, and it was an experience we will never forget. Thank you Captain Joe!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Capt. Joe and Capt. Bill are the BEST !! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I booked a manatee tour with Fun2Dive the 2nd week of Dec. and it was well worth it. Both Capt. Joe and Capt. Bill were on our tour, and they were very informative on how to properly interact with the manatees. Passive observation is the best, and no touching!! We followed Capt. Joe's advise and we had a manatee cow and calf come over to us. They stayed with us for at least 40 minutes, with the calf coming right up to our faces and swimming around us!! The calf was so cute! :D . It was an experience I will never forget. Thanks Fun2Dive for a great time!!!!

Laura E.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Manatee is his spirit animal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I grew up in st. pete florida...so I know the florida tourist traps...joe is the real deal. He is passionate about sharing the manatee experience without harming or hurting the creatures...a rare breed (as you see when you get down there).

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We were the only ones on the boat so had Captain Joe's full attention, he was quite knowledgeable and gave lots of facts. My wife wasn't comfortable in the water so Joe swam with her and pulled her around in the water helping her to get close to the manatee, and letting me not have to do the work. The only down side was when we were looking at a manatee and another boat came by he acknowledged there was an animal there but said the visibility was bad then started kicking up the bottom so it looked bad, you could tell this bothered the manatee as it tried to move around. Once the people did join us he did make sure that the manatee did not get boxed in and when there were to many people around it he said it was time for us to move on. Beware, Joe loves to talk!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fun 2 Dive Scuba, Snorkeling and Manatee Tours also viewed

 
Sanford, Central Florida
Sanford, Central Florida
 

Been to Fun 2 Dive Scuba, Snorkeling and Manatee Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fun 2 Dive Scuba, Snorkeling and Manatee Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.