We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wunderbar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollerbach Willow Tree Cafe

Hollerbach Willow Tree Cafe
205 E First St, Sanford, FL 32771
+1 407-321-2204
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 158 Restaurants in Sanford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Wunderbar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Surprisingly, located in Sanford, Florida, is one of the best German restaurants in the United
States. The owner is from Killburg, Germany and brought with him the true taste of Germany.
The food is exactly what you would expect and exceeds expectations. Check out their web site
for further information. I was very pleasantly surprised and you will be too. Prosit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    104
    28
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Windsor, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Forget going to Germany!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This place is amazing! Everytime I am in Sanford I have to visit Hollerbach. No matter what you choose to eat, you will love it. Even a big pretzel with a doppelbach bier is an excellent meal. Theo, the owner, is always walking around making sure everyone is enjoying the fare. You will not be disappointed except maybe for the long lines during peak dining hours!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A German Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

While waiting for the AutoTrain, I took advantage of the free suttle into Sanford. Someone pointed out the German restaurant, and being German, I had to try it. I was not disappointed. The food is authentic, hot and delicious. The day was beautiful, it was crowded and many people were sitting outside. I requested an outside seat and was quickly accommodated. The waitress took my order and had it on the table in no time flat. I would like to have visited on the weekend and experiened the fun others say takes place here. Definitely worth another stop.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This restaurant is really amazing. The food is authentic german, as well as the wait staff. On Fridays and Saturdays, there is a german band that performs with really interesting instruments (think Ricola commercials!). There is an older lady that gets the guests involved in funny sing along songs that will make you hop up and follow along with the hand gestures. Everything on the menu is delicious, including the drinks. A great selection of domestic and imported beers, and some fun mixed drinks. One of my favorites is the gummytini. It is a sweet martini with larger than the average gummy bears on a mixer/spear. Reservations are strongly recommended, especially on Friday, Saturday, or Sunday night, and/or with a large group. I went there on my birthday a couple of years ago with a group of 6, and the manager offered me a lemoncello shot on the house. We both did a shot at the same time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint John, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Third Try still average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I really wanted this visit to be better than the previous two visits. Many people say, "Oh, you're German you will like Willow Tree." Sadly, not particularly. The market/deli around the corner has some nice items. But as far as the meal, average uninspired food. The red cabbage could have apple, the potato salad could have bacon, egg, seasoning and pickle. The cucumber salad was just ...well, it did have cucumber in it. The waitress was friendly, kept the coffee cup full. I'm not sure if any of the waitresses speak German, the two I encountered did not. The selection of desert items was also lackluster and the waitress didn't seem enthused about any; which is a flag for me to skip desert. Went to the deli and had a rum ball.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollerbach Willow Tree Cafe also viewed

Sanford, Central Florida
Sanford, Central Florida
 

Been to Hollerbach Willow Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollerbach Willow Tree Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.