We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Outdoor Dining in Sanford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Corner Cafe

The Corner Cafe
101 W 1st St # A, Ste A, Sanford, FL 32771
+1 407-322-3779
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Corner Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 167 Restaurants in Sanford
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: S. Park Ave
Description: The Corner Cafe` is located in Historic Downtown Sanford, Florida. At the intersection of 1st Street & Park Ave, this charming bistro specializes in unique and delicious fare at an affordable price. Grilled Sandwiches, Fresh-Beautiful Salads & Scratch Made Soups are served through lunch (M-Sat), while a handcrafted menu of Chicken, Beef, Pork & Shrimp are offered at dinner(Th-Sat). Delicious Smothies, a full seletion of Coffee Drnks, Freshly Brewed Tea, Ice Cold Beer and Califonia Wines are available every day & night!
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The Best Outdoor Dining in Sanford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We LOVE The Corner Cafe features the best in sidewalk dining and is pet friendly. We come here regularly for lunch on weekends with our dogs after a stop at Paw Park. Michael, the owner, and his entire staff are the friendliest staff in the area. Michael takes personal interest in getting to know his customers. The entire staff takes real pride in the food preparation and joy in taking care of their 2 legged and 4 legged customers. They make all their own food right down to the salad dressing yet happily grant any special menu requests or substitutions. We were pleasantly surprised with a linen table cloth and candles during our recent first-time stop for dinner and now find them to be the Most Elegant Sidewalk Dining in Sanford!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHAEL O, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words of praise! You are absolutely right about our 2 & 4 legged friends...my phone's photo albums are full of pics that feature both!! We also thank you for letting folks know about our delicious dinners. We are only open for supper Thursday, Friday & Saturday evenings, but we pour our heart and soul into them...Chef Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    20
    3
    6
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A nice surprise :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I'm glad we ventured into this little place. The owner/chef was right at the counter to greet us and introduce us to the menu. It's not often you get made-to-order food that is made from scratch AND tastes amazing, but this restaurant is just that! The more than reasonable prices quell your expectations until you taste the food. The flavor of every item we ordered (an Asian style pulled pork sandwich with cucumber/tomato/onion salad and a Greek grilled chicken salad with a cup of the celery vegetable soup) was amazing. There's a good reason there were no salt and pepper shakers on our table---You don't need them!!! Hometown restaurant with uptown food. I can't wait to go back. I recommend this restaurant to anyone that has a palate for anything a little different. Having lived in Washington, DC where you could get any kind of food and South Carolina where meat and barbecue is king---I honestly can say that Sanford, FL does not disappoint with The Corner Café!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHAEL O, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
We are delighted to have represented Historic Downtown Sanford so well. It is our heartfelt wish to help create a destination for all our wonderful Central Florida neighbors when they are looking for a "Get Away" that's not very far away! We can't wait to serve you again and don't forget to give a try for dinners on Thursday, Friday & Saturday nights!! Chef Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Vicki C”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I were there for lunch. He had the famous French onion soup with a greek salad and I had the tomato florentine soup with spiced Vietnamese Salad. Best soup I have ever eaten! I am also a private chef in the area and will definitely revisit. Staff is well trained and energetic! I love the fact that there were no salt and pepper shakers on the tables and, a tiny dessert cup was served complimentary. My only disappointment was that I did not get to taste the toast points!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHAEL O, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Hey Vicky...Thanks for the great review and let me treat you to some yummy toast points the next time you stop in!! BTW: You and I have the same "Favorite Soup", Chef Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida, United States
1 review
“The Corner Cafe - A Gem in Sanford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I have visited The Corner Cafe a few times since we moved to Sanford a few months ago. We were certainly more than surprised at the quality of food, very reasonable prices and thoughtful, concerned service. The Spanish-Roasted Chicken served with a choice of great homemade soups or a particularly unusual side salad (corn, chickpeas, for example) was a delight. The Italian Braised Beef was tender and moist; the Asian Bar-B-Que Pulled Pork was beautifully marinated in an exquisite sauce. A lunch pick of Corner Cafe's Signature French Onion Soup topped with melted Muenster Cheese and a half-portion (still a large portion) of Cobb Salad was comforting and delicious on a very rainy afternoon. Other wonderful offerings include Paninis and Grilled Sandwiches served with a side of soup Also featured (and I haven't yet had the opportunity to try) are Fruit and Coffee Smoothies and Scrumptious Desserts. And the folks at Corner Cafe are really friendly and make you feel right at home. Try it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHAEL O, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hey Arlene! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with everyone!! It was a pleasure to serve you and we can't wait to do so again :-) Chef Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a schedules appointment at the Sanford airport and knew we would be hungry after. My husband looked on a few sites and everyone was raving about this restaurant. We were so pleasantly surprised by the friendly staff and the delicious lunch we had. I had the pressed cuban and the mushroom soup while my husband tried the celery soup, pressed cuban and the beef and blue salad. With the combos, the sizes were just right, so you didn't feel like you were overeating. They surprised us with a little dessert, on the house. The chef owner is really nice and tries to remember your name while you are there. We loved it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHAEL O, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hey Gail...what a wonderful review! Thank you for your kind and insightful words, It was a pleasure to spend time with you and your hubby!! (I know I flubbed his name the first time, but I'll never forget it now) Stop in the next time you're in town and we'll take good care of you!! Chef Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corner Cafe also viewed

 
Sanford, Central Florida
 

Been to The Corner Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corner Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.