We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If youre looking for snotty stuck up service this is the place for you!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rum Runners

Rum Runners
130 Fisherman's Cove, Sandestin Golf & Beach Resort, Baytowne Village, Sandestin, FL 12345
850-351-1817
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 17 Restaurants in Sandestin
Price range: $5 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Voted "Best in Casual Dining 2012 / 2013 by Destin Magazine's Readers Poll, The Village of Baytowne Wharf is alive with energy, festive events, uplifting music, delicious food and spirits. No where is that more true than at Rum Runners®, Sandestin’s premier dining and live entertainment venue. Live music fills the air seven nights a week as crowds sing along and dance with the unmatched performers here at Rum Runners. Our award winning lunch and dinner menus keep customers coming back year after year to enjoy our magical creations including specialties such as, freshly prepared seafood, steaks, chicken, pasta; burgers and other sandwiches; salads; and a variety of appetizers.Never miss the big sporting event at Rum Runners with full sports packages available and every big game being shown on the many TV’s that fill the facility both inside and outside. We offer seating inside on two floors and outside seating on 4 patios and decks – there is not another place like it. Great memories are made at Rum Runners. The great food, live interactive entertainment, and unmatched atmosphere are the main attractions at Rum Runners. Nightly, the dynamic entertainers perform a variety of hit songs from the 60′s, 70’s, 80’s, 90’s, 00's as well as today's hits and focus heavily on audience participation. It is very common to hear the crowd singing the chorus of a song while the entertainers lead them on. The wide variety of music, audience participation, high energy level, and sheer FUN make Rum Runners the place to be with family and friends when visiting the Village of Baytowne Wharf! Corporate Events, Social Events, Birthday and Bachelorette parties are welcomed and encouraged!
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
“If youre looking for snotty stuck up service this is the place for you!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Tonight my sister (23) and I (21) visited Baytown Wharf for the first time. We were very impressed with the surroundings until we teied to go to Rum Runners. The "bouncer" asked for our Ids and rudely made the comment to my sister that she only looked 13. He scanned over our ids for about five minutes with his light up pen before he fetched an ID book behind the desk. After asking for every form of identification in my wallet he refused our entry and threatened to take my ID. When I asked for a manger he said no because he has the right to refuse entry to anyone for any reason. POWER TRIP?! Glad they did not have the chance to earn my money and sure hope that they do not get yours!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt E, Owner at Rum Runners, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
I apologize for your experience at the entrance of Rum Runners. Your sister must be lucky to have such a youthful glow! As you can imagine, spring & summer break brings a multitude of younger guests that do in fact present us with a great number of fake ID's. No offence to you or your sister, but in order for us to comply with county & state laws and to insure a quality experience after 10pm for all guest over 21 years of age, we must carefully screen the ID's of all guests that appear under the age of 30. We need to take the side of caution with it comes to this issue. The doorman was just doing the job he is required to do and we are sorry if you do not agree that your ID's did not meet our criteria. In Baytowne Village at night, there are county uniformed officers that are happy to review your ID's to further verify their validity, if you so choose. If you passed their screening and we can verify it with them , we would have been delighted to allow you passage to party with us. Rating us low for Value, Atmosphere, Service, and Food when you did not even have an opportunity to come inside to experience any of it is an unfair assessment from you here on TripAdvisor.com .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    24
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dothan, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We decided to eat an early dinner around 5:30. It just so happened that we were seated fairly close to the stage and Wes was getting ready to entertain us. He played the guitar and played songs I never thought could be done on a guitar. My husband and I were totally impressed. Wes was REALLY good!!! The service was good and food was great. My husband and I split a fried platter and it was exactly enough for both of us. Highly recommend!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Had a great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Food was great, drinks were also delicious. However, drinks are pricey and prices weren't on the menu.

Entertainment was PHENOMENAL. We are already planning another night to go back this trip!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Place in the VIllage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I love Rum Runners. It is great for people watching, the drinks are strong, and the atmosphere is fun. It is my go to bar when I'm in Sandestin.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great dueling piano bar - but a great restaurant too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This place is so much fun between the dueling pianos and the guitar player. The Killer Colada is a must have for any Pina Colada lover, you will believe it is the best you have ever had. They did run out of a specific beer one night, and the taps were down too (a bit awkward for beer drinkers). The food is the surprise here. It is great. Have had several meals at Rum Runners and have not been disappointed in a single one, food is truly delicious and a great value.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rum Runners also viewed

Sandestin, Florida Panhandle
Sandestin, Florida Panhandle
 
Sandestin, Florida Panhandle
Sandestin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Rum Runners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rum Runners, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.