We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're going to eat here, order the oysters.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ACME

ACME
9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy W, Sandestin, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 17 Restaurants in Sandestin
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: located at the Baytowne Wharf in Sandestin
Newnan, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If you're going to eat here, order the oysters.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This wasn't my first visit to this fine establishment, where the rock and roll echoing throughout the restaurant matches the rustic beach vibe. I visited here with a large gathering of my family, so I was able to try one of everything it seemed. The crab claws are great and so was the fish po boy I ordered, but the focus of every meal I have here as usual is the chargrilled oysters, which are the best in Destin- served with bread that allows you to soak up that buttery garlic left behind under the oysters that are not slimy at all like their raw counterpart. So. Ensure that you order AT LEAST one dozen of these oysters for an appetizer or meal, but know you'll be craving for more as soon as you put down that fork.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    43
    22
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A friend of mine eats here every summer so we went based on her recommendation. I was a little taken aback when we walked in. It was very kitschy. It looked like part carnival, part sports bar, and part 1980's pizza joint. We had a table of 8 and were so cramped with two four tops put together, I found myself putting one arm on the back of the chair next to me. Service was good, our waitress was helpful and efficient. I had the shrimp po boy (mind you, it's just the sandwich, sides are not included). My husband had the fried catfish. Both were just average tasting. I probably would not return based on my experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fun and entertaining place! Oyster diner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Must try the boo fries! We sat at the oyster bar. All food came out fast and hot. Price is reasonable. Staff is very friendly and exciting!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“good as usual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

every time we come to destin we always come here to get some chargrilled oysters. They are as good as the ones we get at ACME in NOLA. Although the ones we got this time were a little small they were still good. Guess we are just spoiled to our La oysters. The entrees we got were good also.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just like NawIns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Chargrilled Oyster!!!! I haven't figured out what else to order from this joint that's just as awesome so going back for a 2nd time tonight to enjoy the old reliable!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ACME also viewed

Sandestin, Florida Panhandle
Sandestin, Florida Panhandle
 
Sandestin, Florida Panhandle
Sandestin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to ACME? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACME, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.