We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sandestin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The Grand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have stayed in virtually all properties at Sandestin Resort but in my opinion The Grand is the best. Easy access to beaces. Nice places to ride bikes or kayak. Golf is great here as well. Unique shops are located in the village. Grounds are well maintained and beautiful.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Jessika G,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandestin and choosing the Grand. We appreciate your business and your review of your stay. We are pleased to see you had a chance to take advantage of some of our many complimentary amenities...kayaks, bikes and so much more. The Grand has easy access to all we have to offer and is a central location on the property. So glad you enjoyed it! We look forward to your next stay.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    189
    111
    87
    65
See reviews for
315
166
10
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely no customer service and if you like cigarette smokes, please stay at the LUAU where smoking is encouraged by the staff around children at the pool. Waste of $800 and a three day stay. Management is unaware of how to operate a large resort. One housekeeping staff told us to take another elevator instead of making room or allowing the guest to proceed. Please if you want a family vacation stay away from LUAU

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Benjamin M,

Thank you for your most recent stay with us here at Sandestin. We were saddened to see you were not completely satisfied with your experience at Sandestin. Your experience is not the standard here at our resort, not is it acceptable. Please know we have contacted the owners association regarding your experience at the pool and the other noted encounters are being addressed. We are a family centered resort destination and we want everyone to come, play and enjoy all we have to offer and create memories to last a lifetime. We appreciate you choosing Sandestin and we do hope you will choose to visit us again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

First of all when we got there we had a personal hand written note welcoming us; room service was great. You would love waking up to the beautiful view of the white sandy beach. I was amazed as to the size of the well maintained grounds. Our unit was the perfect size for 6 people. My family was quite taken in the various activities and amentities it offered i.e. bikes, rock climbing & places to eat. The pool was basically right out side the door. Destins is the perfect place to come and I will surely stay here again. Something for everyone could be found.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor with a beach view, totally relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Gradine C,

Thank you so much for your review of Sandestin. We are so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and you accommodations. We strive to meet all of our guests needs and we are so pleased to see you had an amazing stay. We appreciate your business and we hope you will choose Sandestin again soon!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The rooms vary hugely by who owns them. We stayed in two different places during a business trip. All were in the Beach 1. The beach was pretty and the view was also but the units are dated and DO NOT warrant the HIGH prices. Customer service is really spotty. They charged some of us twice for rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This place has changed over the years. Not as nice as it once was. Pool area is restricted to people who rent condos from certain people. Beach chair rental has 3 different pricing plans depending on who you rent your condo from and all rentals are from inside the Sandestin property. The employees actually have a laminated card with a bunch of id's on it to try and determine what to charge people. I feel sorry for them. The property has a guard gate and you have to be a registered guest to enter. The beach access parking lot now has a gate and you cannot park there without the correct id card, as well as the aforementioned pool guard. No bathrooms either to use, again must have proper id and there are no other bathroom facilities to use.

Pool area was empty and looked dilapidated. Very sad. Used to come here as a kid and it was always packed out. Now its empty and the bar is empty. They have a person checking people's id to see if they are allowed to enter. What resort does not have a pool for all people staying on property to enjoy. Let people in to spend money on drinks and get some revenue going. I don't understand the mentality to keep people out and lose money.

I have been coming here for 32 years and it has seen better days and its time to move on to another area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
John H,

Thank you for choosing Sandestin on your most recent stay in our area. We appreciate your business and your comments regarding your experience. We do apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We have placed gates at the beach access to allow for more parking for our Sandestin registered guests. There are several Sandeston Owners Association on the resort that are open to all rental guests, whether you booked through Sandestin or a third-party. I apologize if these were not mentioned to you when you made your reservations. I would like to speak with you in more detail regarding your stay. Please contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com at your convenience. Again, we apologize you were not pleased with you stay and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've stayed at "The Grand" previously and enjoyed my stay. For the first time I stayed at "The Elation" portion of the resort. It was really lovely. A very short walk to the outdoor pool and a beautiful view of the water an golf course. Right next to the Villages at The Baytown Wharf where there are great fun activities for the family and some decent restaurants.
The cons: if you move your car after 5pm over the weekend or holiday you will never from a spot in or out of the parking garage. I had to "create" a parking spot. Lots of fun but lots of people over the Memorial Day weekend. Not cheap but may be worth the rate for the experience if you have the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Ewhitt,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our most recent stay with us at Sandestin. We appreciate your business and we are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay in Elation. We do realize we had an issue with the parking and we are actively working to alleviate this problem as soon as possible. We do hope you had a chance to enjoy the beach and our other complimentary amenities during your time with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We (family of 4 plus 2 grandparents) stayed at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort in the Village- Magnolia Bay unit 8618. Melissa Stone and Amelia were fantastic in assisting us with the perfect unit to accommodate our family. Great Customer Service from the moment we arrived.
The townhouse a 2 bd/ 2 1/2 ba was immaculate and featured modern appliances, granite countertops, marble flooring and high ceilings. It was decorated throughout with a slight nautical cottage vibe. The unit overlooked a golf course from the back patio. Our family loved the complimentary bikes and kayaks. They also have toddler and baby bike seats for a small additional fee which may it possible for us to take advantage of the bikes because we had our 2 toddlers with us. We were in walking distance from the village which offers tons of activities for the kids: playground, carousel, rock climbing wall, zip line.. Lots of speciality shops and restaurant. We never left the resort for anything. The perfect 4 day vacation. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Address: 9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Sandestin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sandestin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandestin Golf And Beach Hotel Sandestin
Sandestin Hotel And Beach
Sandestin Resort And Beach
Sandestin Golf Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.