We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Sandestin
Newnan, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We just got back from a trip to this resort, staying in the Luau 1 hotel. We couldn't have been more pleased with all the amenities there. Our room, which was a king bed studio setup, had plenty of room for my husband and myself. Everything was very clean (which we're very particular about) and new. There was a small "kitchenette" that included a microwave, mini-fridge (although larger than most hotel's refrigerators), coffee maker, and a sink with plates/glasses/cutlery. The bathrooms were a good size and, even though our room was facing away from the beach, there was still a beautiful view of the bay.

The amenities of the resort were exceptional as well. We loved the pool, landscaping, and the short walk from our hotel to the beach (literally 2-3 minutes). We also took advantage of the free bicycle rentals, which we rode all over the resort's extensive walking paths. We also liked that there was a pedestrian tunnel under the main road so you didn't have to cross through busy traffic to get to the rest of the resort on the other side of the road. There was a cute "village" with specialty shops and restaurants on the resort that was fun to look around. Altogether a wonderful experience-we hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
luvanurse87,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Sandestin during your most recent visit to our area. We appreciate your business and we look forward to you visitng us again soon. We are pleased you enjoyed Luau and all it has to offer. Luau has our only saltwater pool on the resort and there are many great amenities at Luau, including the Tiki Bar and the Observation Deck. We have so much to do, see and offer here at Sandestin. Glad to see you had a chance to use our complimentary bike rentals and explore the resort. We look forward to you visiting us again soon!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    151
    94
    78
    55
See reviews for
273
129
5
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a two bed two bath Grand Sandestin condo. All was in top shape with comfortable amenities and lots of space. Wonderful dining options in the Baytowne Wharf area. Beautiful grounds with shuttle transportation. Tons to see and do. Beautiful beach a short shuttle ride away, or a nice walk, bike ride! Responsive and helpful front desk staff. My only wish is that I had more time there!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
DC Doctor,

Thank you so much for the great review of Sandestin. We are so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. The Village at Baytowne Wharf is a great place for the entire family...so much to do and see. We appreciate your business and we look forward to you visiting us again soon when you have time to explore our 2400 acres on bicylcle, by kayak or on foot! Come play and stay with us soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Rented a two bdrm attached townhome from the resort for an extended weekend with the family from 4/18 to 4/21. This was our fifth trip to the Sandestin resort in as many years, but our first with our 1 year old. I wanted a detached townhome but they make it so difficult to make this type of selection on the website and the person I spoke with over the phone had no clue. Hopefully management will read this and make adjustments for other travelers.

Our rental was right past the main gate. The rental was dated and everything was showing its age... to put it frankly it was dirty. The creme color carpets were now dark grey from wear and everything needed a good cleaning (especially the stained bdrm linens, bathrm towels, and tubs with previous renter hair). This was disappointing since we did not experience this in past stays (we always stayed at different places in the resort... I like the Luau condo best because it is new, clean, and right off the beach).

It was also disappointing since our child just started walking and we could not comfortably let him explore because there was dirt and dust everywhere and was afraid of what he would find to put in his mouth.

On the positive side, the townhouse was spacious and had all the appliances one would need or want to prepare a home cooked meal. There was a TV in every room and the wifi was fully operational. Not that we spent much time watching TV or using the computer.

Overall, I was disappointed in the accommodations; however, I did not want to give this resort anything less than four stars because I don't want to give the wrong impression of the resort as a whole. It truly is a wonderful place to vacation with the family. The grounds are picture perfect, the beach is always gorgeous (white sand, and crystal clear water), and there is so much to do (see website, I can't list them all).

Be aware that the Starbucks that used to be on property is no longer there. This was a huge bummer, but there is one at the outlet mall not five minutes away. If you get tired of the food at the Wharf we recently discovered two gems: Doughnut Holes and Tommy Bahamas Cafe within a 10 min drive from the resort. DH is a diner, long lines, delicious desserts. TB is a more upscale cafe but the food was delicious, best crab cake I've ever had.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
GeorgiaTech_Traveler,

Thank you so much for choosing and Sandestin. We appreciate your business and we thank you for sharing your experience. We were saddened to see of the condition of your accommodations. Please know this is unacceptable. Your review has been shared with the appropriate departments for action. We are so please to see you enjoyed the resort and all we have to offer. We have so much to do here at the resort...from bikes to kayaks to yolo boarding. The Village has so many activities for the children too. Please contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com as I would like more detail regarding your specific unit. Again, we apologize for your inconvenience and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I just got back from the Sandestin wine festival which is a must for any wine lover. 600 bottles of wine to try and I probably had 400 of them. That said, this property is huge with plenty to do. I might even say that it's too big. You don't have to leave to find entertainment, there is plenty for kids and adults to do on property. The restaurants are really good and not overly priced for this tourist destination. If I have to say anything bad it would be that it isn't ocean front. The rooms are nice with nice views but for those who want ocean front the main building isn't it. They do have trolly's to take you where you want to go but that might annoy some of you. This is a nice place for couples with the club nightlife and bands and this is a nice place for kids with the playgrounds and fishing and even a zip line. It's different so look close before booking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
wooster68,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Sandestin. So pleased to see you were here for the Sandestin Wine Festival. We had a great festival, great wines, food and so much more. We had top chefs and Paula Deen which were a great success and enjoyed by all. We look forward to you visiting us again soon and taking advantage of the many complimentary amenities we have to offer. Be sure to plan for next years Sandestin Wine Festival as well...sure to be bigger and better. Again, we appreciate your business and you choosing to stay and play with us at Sandestin.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This resort has many options to offer from stuidos to penthouse rentals . The grounds are very well kept and there are endless things to do . Fishing , biking , shopping , tennis, golfing , ziplines several swimming pools , a great beach and multiple restaurants. There is also large a marina .
The room we stayed in was very clean , the bed comfortable and the pillows just right. There was a microwave , refrigerator , dishes , glasses and silverware.
The staff was great extreemly helpful and polite.
I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor . I didnt like it because there was no privacy unless you kept the curtai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
bopinaround,

Thank you for your great review of Sandestin. We certainly appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next stay. We have so much to offer here among our 2400 acres...something for everyone of every age. From beach to bay there are bike trails, sidewalks, kayaks and more. We are so pleased to see you had such a great time and made great memories. We look forward to you sharing some time with us again soon. If I can be of assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed at the Luau property for spring break March 2013. Had an issue checking in and issue with the bedding 1st night, but were resolved the next day by the Manager (Beth) who went way above and beyond expectations ensuring our complete satisfaction. The property is absolutely beautiful, rooms are spacious and well equipped. The resort area is immaculate and the pool was awesome. Being spring break, it was amazingly quiet and so much better than the hustle/bustle of a hotel. Even though it was only in the 60s, we were still able to have a great time. Will be coming back next year and can't wait!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Maui2ndhome,

Thank you so much for the great review of Sandestin. We have so much to offer and we are so pleased to see that you and your family had a great time! So glad we got your immediate issues addressed and you were able to enjoy the remainder of your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us. In the meantime, if you need anything feel free to contact me. Again, we appreciate your business and look forward to you creating wonderful memories here at Sandestin for years to come.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just stayed in the Beachside II Condo complex #4272 (7th floor). Paid 289/ night for 1 bedroom condo. To say the condition of the condo was disappointing is putting it very mildly. Paying 150/night would have made it much more acceptable. Here goes:

One bedrooms have a pull out sofa so for the girls weekend me and my best friend go down and are going to take turns sleeping on the sofa bed, we pull it out and it was nothing but fabric over springs (I mean we all know sofa beds are uncomfortable but this thing was the most ridiculous excuse of a mattress you could possibly imagine, I wouldn't let me 220 lb dog sleep on this thing) so there goes that option.

The coffee maker the top to the water tank was broken the top the coffee pot was broken and when you brewed the coffee the burner wouldn't keep it warm.

The dishwasher drawer would fall open and I mean fall, again broken.

The kitchen was very dated.

The furniture looked like it was from rent a center.

The elevator button on our floor was broken (they had buttons on order and they would come in soon but a lot of good that did us while we were there)

We just had to laugh, it just became so pathetic.

And all of the above is tolerable if we weren't paying 289/night for this crap this is more tolerable at 150 at best. It was truly pathetic.

Of course these are individually owned and property management will use that an excuse blah blah blah, but truth is it is just poor management on their behalf. There needs to be standards they do not fall below and there needs to be a standard inspection of the condos if they want to maintain the price they are asking. We were extremely disappointed with the condition of the room for the price.

The one saving grace was the master bed truly was comfortable and the air condition was good. I will never stay at Sandestin resort again. The complex is so huge you really don't know what you are getting until you get there. Oh and by the way check in is extremely slow, so be prepared.

Room Tip: I would demand pictures of the actually complex they are putting you in. They will push back and if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Kristy J,

Thank you for your recent visit to Sandestin Golf & Beach Resort. We appreciate your business and we do hope you will choose to visit us again. We are saddened to see you were not satisfied with your accommodations. We have so many different types of unit to choose from and we are confident we have something that will be perfect for you. Please contact me directly at executiveoffice@sandestin.com when you are ready to visit us again. I will personally see you are placed in a unit that meets all of your needs and your expectations. We have so much to offer here among our 2400 acres and we want you to come and stay and play with us again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Sandestin Golf And Beach Hotel
Sandestin Golf And Beach Hotel Sandestin
Sandestin Hotel And Beach
Sandestin Resort And Beach
Sandestin Golf Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Florida
Address: 9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Sandestin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Sandestin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Amex, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.